$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gera13
Business
New York
Oct 11, 2014

The worst place to go !

I was in Punta Cana many times and this was the worst experience! Most unprofessional staff !They do not care and not even trying to be helpful! Food is so bad I can not even describe , I do not really care about food but there are nothing to eat in buffet at all!! Restaurants poor quality as well!!! Very small beach and dirty even in you come in AM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The only ok thing is Casino , but as well even manager there is out of his mind! They put the music so loud and when few people asked them to lower the music , the reply was ... " our manager likes it".. Crazy place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marbur1943
Business
Colorado
Sep 28, 2014

Great Value just lock up anything of value.

This would have been a perfect trip if Girlfriend didn't get $300 stolen by the maid who turned down the bed while we were at dinner. She forgot to put her purse in the safe but it was in the bottom of her bag which meant she went through our bags when she was in our room. This was a great time of the year to go because there were not very many children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat in the buffet every night then do not book any morning tours. You can only book the fine dinning restaurants from 10 am to 12 pm and since we were gone at that time we had to eat in the buffets almost every night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Class Nomad
Business
Chicago
Sep 21, 2014

Go Go Go!!!

AMAZING! If you are looking for classic accommodations with stellar service this is the resort for you!! We are a finicky couple and the resort eclipsed our expectations. This trip was for relaxation and boy did we ever have some fun! We stayed at the resort the entire week, no excursions necessary. The food was delicious with many many selections to choose from. We don't have a complaint about the food, not one. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed. I do suggest packing a small fan for the bathroom as there isn't an air conditioning vent in the bathroom, I did and was so glad for it. Every night we enjoyed a great show ~ We were in awe over the talent and performances. Worth staying up for! Beyond all the compliments I can give about this resort I cannot say enough about the fantastic staff. They are the best in service and personality. We had a great time which was only enhanced by the staff. FIVE STAR without question!! We will definitely return to this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the shows start at 10 PM. Get your table by 920 no reservations needed. The shows are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cozz.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 13, 2014

Nice Resort But Would Not Go Back !!

The resort was beautiful (it truly was a Palace) !!! The beach was perfect !!! The bed was as hard as a ROCK ( if you have any kind of back issues forget it) !! The food was below average at best ( worst room service food I have ever had & the menu was very, very limited ) !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pavanreddy
Business
mountain view, california
Sep 7, 2014

awesome place

Had a get time staying at this hotel. This was our third RIU hotel stay. I think this has all amenities for a really relaxing vacation. I would have liked to have a better WiFi at this location. Unrelated to the stay but the WiFi was very slow. Waiters are really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samilou
Business
Washinghon
Sep 7, 2014

Great escape destination

Perfect setting, scenery, beach, palm trees, white soft sand. Very friendly staff, alweays there to help you out and answer your needs. Good animation and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
All friendly
Business
New Jersey
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, but rooms not clean

Perfectly located resort, but the rooms were not clean at all. We saw bed bug spots inside the room on curtain and outside the room on the walls too. When we complained, they applied with bug spray and the smell would not go away for our entire stay. The staff was very nice every where... But I wish they could keep rooms cleaner and free from bed bugs..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good shows every night.. Get inside the hall sooner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epepe
Business
Jersey shore
Aug 20, 2014

Great Resort

We had a great time. The only con would be the lack of night life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Lack of night fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJae
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 12, 2014

Great staff, good stay

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Punta Cana for his birthday. We absolutely loved it! The staff was great, the food was good, & the pool and beach was awesome! We'd definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Simon Mansion Restaurant and Club Oro inside Hard Rock Casino was really nice! Great night out!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Th34d3v1l5
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 4, 2014

Go for the beach, the pool, and the drinks.

Let me start by saying I had an amazing time there. I'm also a realist. When I shopped around I was looking for the most bang for my buck and I got it. My point is that I got a long stay for a relatively good price. Whenever you get the most bang for your buck then you are going to sacrifice. I can confirm that the rooms have a musty odor and I even saw a small amount of black mold. I did not waste my time trying to get a new room because of the lack of success from previous posters. That being said I didn't come here to stay in my room. We left the room at 9am and would return periodically throughout the day for small amounts of time then we were right back out until it was time for bed. The food was Ok. The buffet was hit or miss and you had to get creative. The theme restaurants were mostly good. Two of them (luigis and the steakhouse) we did not like at all. Two of them (the bodega and gourmet) were the best on the resort and we thoroughly enjoyed. The Japanese fell somewhere in between all of them. The great thing is that you can make reservations for for three nights in a row only having to return every 3 days in the morning to make reservations in in the morning. Other resorts have been to you must do this every day and it gets competitive which kind of defeats the purpose of vacation. The entertainment crew was excellent. You could join them in many different activities or you could just be left alone to enjoy the sun. They had things going on from 9am until midnight. I try not to be an arrogant American however, I honestly expected them to speak better English even though I had read posts here saying otherwise. This is true. This is a Spanish speaking country and from my experience most guests were also not native English speakers. There were many from other Spanish speaking countries as well as many German speaking people and every other language around. A rough understanding of Spanish would help but is not completely necessary as most employees have at minimum a rough understanding of the English language. You can get by with no understanding of the language but as I already mentioned it couldn't hurt. Long story short, you aren't paying top dollar so don't expect top quality. There are 3 other Riu resorts on the property. We briefly walked through them and this one appeared to be nicest. This was my first time to the Dominican Republic so I can not compare it to other Dominican resorts. I have been to Mexico and Paradise Island in the Bahamas. The Mexican resort was more expensive so it would not be fair to compare. In the Bahamas I went to a similarly priced resort(also a Riu) and got a cleaner room with similar food and better English. I wouldn't say it was better just different. To close this rant if you want to drink and play in in the beautiful Dominican sun all while not having to reach for your wallet even though the food won't be like home then you will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that the WiFi is much better than mentioned in previous posts. Refrain from purchasing a global roaming plan use the WiFi to make all of your calls and send all of your text messages via an app(ie; talktaphone)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top