$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria del Mar
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Sep 11, 2009

What is the definition of a non smoking

I had requested a non smoking room due to asthma and severe allergies. The hotel's idea of a non smoking room was using tons of Fabrees until you can not breath. We had to open the windows to let the room aired out. The manegement told us that the hotel does not have non smoking rooms. Additionally it took about four hours for us to get a room; most rooms had the same strong mold smell and the air condition did not work well. I email Orbitz and recieved no response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Although the hotel claims five restaurants only a couple are open any given night, so go early for reservations or better yet stick to the buffet.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 23, 2009

Honeymoon Stay

We were here for a honeymoon stay for 10 days. The food and service was remarkable. The beach is very nice. We have an ocean view with a jacuzzi on the 2nd level. (you need to request this at check-in and ask them very nicely). The room service was OK at best. WARNING: Do not use their phone for outgoing calls, they will charge you like crazy when you check out. I used last then 1 hr of outgoing call, total cost US $20 phone card + $32 for the phone itself. That is plain robbery, it costs about a dollar per minute to call back US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Always remember to negotiate including tours from the hotel.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLJ
Business
MA
Aug 22, 2009

Beautiful Resort

The thing about Punta Cana is there isn't much to see. It is a very poor place. Most people stick to the resorts because you don't want to go wandering off into town. This isn't a bad thing as long as there are things to do at the resort. The Riu Palace Punta Cana is beautiful and the staff is great. During the day you can sit by the pool, swim up to the bar,head down to the beach, or take part in daily activities( pool games, darts, volleyball, horseshoes, etc. There are also non-motorized water sports included as well, but the catch is you need to schedule these each day. They can fill up quickly. Once the evening hits there is less to do. The pool closes at 7. There is a show from 9:45-10:30, and that's about it. The Disco(Pacha) is down the road by the Riu Macao, not here at the Riu Palace. Then there is the so called Casino. At the resort this is actually a off the sports bar comprimising of about 10 slot machines and a roulette table. There is a Casino at the Riu Macao. but there is not much to see there either about 30 machines maybe 3 tables. So nightly entertainment is lacking. There needs to be more to do in the resort itself. As for food. There is the buffet that runs breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Good food but you'll be sick of it by day 3 because it is the same everyday. There are about 5 restaurants you can have dinner at but they are not all open each night and once again you have to make reservations daily. First seating at 6:30 second at 9. Reservations have to be made by 9am because they fill up quickly and then your stuck at the buffet for the same meal you ate the day before. There is also 24 hour room service, but this list is small: veggie or club sandwich, nachos, a plate of fruit, salad, or chocolate cake. I would stick the to salads because the sandwiches are filled with well bread. The snack-bar is also open 24-7. They have nachos, burgers, hot dogs, ham sandwiches and fruit available in one cooler throughout the day. The drinks are pretty good. There is a selection of resort drinks, but you can find a bartendor or two that can make a few other things. Coffee is great. There are machines that dispense Nescafe coffee(expresso, latte, etc) - very good. All in all the resort is a really nice place to be. They just need to spruce up the night life and change up the buffet a little and the place will be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you walk along the beach to the right toward the other resorts you will eventually find a market on the beach where all sorts of things are for sale. Its a good place to bargain for souvenirs.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pursehag
Business
Sam Francisco Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Great Beach

they had great service, great food. but the room was musty smelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trekbiker62
Business
Lititz, PA
Aug 13, 2009

A Great Vacation

A wonderful vacation spot. A truly international clientel adds to the enjoyment. The beach is beautiful and the hotel grounds are spectacular. The only problem is an ineffective air conditioning system. August in the Dominican Republic is hot and humid (go figure). The room airconditioning is marginal at best. The rooms feel damp and the smell of mold and mildew can be overwhelming. The restaurants were not air conditioned (or mininimally air conditioned). Aside from air conditioning problems, the place is great. A beautiful resort in a beautiful location with a friendly helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring US Dollars!! Most vendors will not take credit cards and will only accept dollars. I assumed there would be an accessible ATM on the property. The RIU complex is huge with mulltiple hotels, yet I was unable to use an ATM card to get cash.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Don't Waste Your Money

I stayed at the Riu Palace in Punta Cana because my friend was getting married on the resort. It honestly was the worst vacation I have ever had. From the day I got there I had severe stomach issues (without even drinking the local water) from the drinks and food from the resort. The restaurants and food were much less than spectacular for the resort as well. I asked for a first floor room (and brought a doctors note with me due to physical limitations) and was given a 2nd floor room. Half the time the maid forgot to leave me fresh towels after cleaning the room and I had to call to the front desk to have them delievered. At one point my room safe broke and would not open. It took 2 hours to have someone sent to try and fix it. The pool area was dirty most of the time with the other vacationers leaving their cigarette butts and trash around and in the pool. On the beach, the resort allows the locals to come and try to sell you packages for parasailing, scuba diving, etc. and it becomes quite annoying if you're trying to relax. Many of my friends who have been to Punta Cana have said that they never experienced that on their resorts beach area. It is a very beautiful island and the beaches are wonderful. However if you are looking around for resorts to stay at on the island, I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CROnCRO
Business
Apex, NC
Jul 30, 2009

Beautiful resort with great staff

This was our honeymoon trip. It was amazing. The grounds and gardens were kept up, the pool area, and beach were beautiful as well. We went in the middle of July so it was pretty humid there. The only complaint I have, if I even have one, is that our room wouldn't be cleaned until almost 3 or 4 in the afternoon. But we were at the pool, or beach most of the time anyway, so it's a very minor complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Itailian restaurant. The other 4 are worth the wait.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Augustine , Florida
Jul 29, 2009

first all inclusive vacation, great week

This was our first all inclusive resort vacation. It worked out great, once we got past the initial language barrier. We took a tour through the country side which was more of a tourist trap then a tour, so I would not do that again. The resort itself was perfect, less the poor A/C in the room, it was very well managed with superior servive. We spent most of our day on the beach (preferred the beach over the pool) and the evenings in the square enjoying the shows with a drink in each hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jul 20, 2009

Riu Palace - NOT ALL SAID TO BEEEEEE

Overall my experience with great, because we made it happen with the people we meet at the resort. The experience with the staff is extremely hard when you don't speak their's and they don't speak your language. Wash cloths were NOT provided, the A/C did not work 5 out of 7 days and the restaurants you have to go in person between 8:00/10:30 to make reservations for dinner. Can not make over telephone. Food was not all that good for a 5 star hotel. Again, overall we did enjoy, but will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make it your own

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kapolei. HI
Jul 9, 2009

Relaxing but not Fantastic

This was my 3rd RIU experience (Agadir, Morrocco and Ocho Rio, Jamaica). Though this hotel was much larger and more attractive than the others, it did not have the "relax we got it" feel that the others did. The atitude of the staff in Punta Cana made me feel as if I owed them something all the time. As if asking for a drink was a bother to them. I dont want to seem totally negative, overall the vacation was ok, but it simply did not compare to the prior experience. I probably wont return to this location due to the smoking, language barrier with staff and overall staff attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top