$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweety10
LA, california
Aug 21, 2012

Great

Everything was amazing! Food was great, lots of selections. Service is top notch! Everybody was super nice. Property is gorgeous, well maintained. Only downside is the beach is basically unswimable. Lots of seaweed. I dont think its the hotels… fault, its just nature. Hotel tries to clean it up all day long but still comes back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good shpping place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DR Neveragain
Business
NYC
May 11, 2011

Just an Average place..

Went to this hotel with 7 of my best buds to cut loose and hang out. The place had zero night life. The hotel staff was nice but the entertainment was non-existent. The poolside entertainment was even worse and the music never changed. Sadly all three RIU's are the same. And don't bother hitting the Casino in the Macao because it's a sad excuse for a Casino and full of scam artist trying to rip everyone off. I REPEAT do not hit the casino unless you want to get ripped off. When you ask about clubs they send you to Pacha which is outside the Macao and not part of the all-inclusive. This place is nasty and frequented by hookers looking to lure in unsuspecting travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajera super frecuente
Business
Guatemala
Apr 25, 2011

Best beach i´ve ever been!!!!

This wasn´t our first time at a RIU hotel, so we kind of expected the overall experience. By far, the staff at RIU Palace Punta Cana is the BEST, specially [...]at the reception and [...] at the main restaurant. The beach is awesome. Compared to other RIU, the food quality and variaty wasn´t that good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don´t miss Krystal restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prince edward Island
Mar 17, 2011

Great Vacation Location

We really enjoyed the experience of the RIU PALACE. For us it was a vacation to relax and enjoy the, sun, sand, good food and company. All of which we were able to do very enjoyably. We will recommend the RIU to our friends and intend to make it a destiantion again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 13, 2011

Rui Palace Punta cana

Wonder ful trip hope to go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the dinner buffets are much better than the restaraunts that you have to make reservations for. Stick with the buffets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJCAV
Business
Albuquerque NM
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic Vacation

Very friendly staff, everyone went out of their way to say hello and if there was anything that we needed. The grounds were kept perfectly clean and groomed. Plenty of things to do or just sit and relax. We have stayed at many other all inclusive chains and RIU is one of the best. Top food and liquor, did not skimp on the amount of either. The only down side is that you had to get up early to book the sit down dinners but the buffet was wonderful. So get up early to book reservations or you could just eat at the buffet. They changed some of the main food each day for the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to get up early to book the dinner reservation each day or just eat the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Mar 1, 2011

Riu Palace - Punta Cana

This is the third RIU property we have visited, all Riu Palaces (Cabo and Playa before this one). After fantastic visits to other properties, we were very disappointed in this location. Key personnel did not have an adequate grasp of English, which made communication more difficult. Staff in general were unfriendly compared to other Rius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the Tripps
Business
Sims, NC
Feb 16, 2011

Great winter getaway

What a beautiful beach and resort. This was our 3rd Riu Palace resort and it lived up to our expectation. The staff were great although they spoke little English. Entertainment staff the best yet! We never left the resort as we had everything we needed. A short ride from the airport. We felt very safe at the resort. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Remember to make reservations for the theme restaurants early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the Tripps
Business
Sims, NC
Feb 16, 2011

Great winter getaway

What a beautiful beach and resort. This was our 3rd Riu Palace resort and it lived up to our expectation. The staff were great although they spoke little English. Entertainment staff the best yet! We never left the resort as we had everything we needed. A short ride from the airport. We felt very safe at the resort. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Remember to make reservations for the theme restaurants early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 3, 2011

Our annual Christmas holiday vacation

The trip was over all waiting constantly for something. At the airport, we had previously ordered the van through [...]and had to wait almost an entire hour before we left for our hotel (we had three stops before ours). We had to wait in line for dinner reservations each day (getting up at 6:30 to make sure we didn't have to eat the buffet food). We had to wait for a lounge chair near the pool, all were taken by 7:00 in the morning (even though in the description of the hotel they do not allow this). So we had to go to the beach and drag a chair to the pool area. You are only allowed one very small towel per person which I might add were very old and worn. I felt this hotel was extremely stingy with food and towels. The air temperature was beautiful but the sun was only out for two days of our stay (overcast the rest of the time). Also, it is winter and the winds are very strong all day long. Hence the red flag was up every day and from morning to evening the water was for surfing rather than swimming or snorkeling. We have traveled extensively, Mexico and the Carribean and this was a place we will not return to, especially the RIU palace Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Need to get up very early and wait in line to make reservations for dinner each day. My husband got up at 6:30 and was in line by 6:45, usually first, and we got our first choice (reservations are opened at 8 a.m., so it's a long time to wait in line just for a dinner reservation). However, the food was excellent for dinner especially at the Italian, Crystal, and Japanese restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Dec 20, 2010

An average place

It was a cloudy vacation with too much rain. We took two trips which were very enjoyable, boogie buggies and a trip into the hills. I feel that the hotel is not being maintained, a lot of small things that needed attention. It was not a palace to be paid extra for. Lesser RIU hotels are much better. It was a real disappointment. The food was very good because of the various restaurants. We would have liked to travel more but it was discouraged and the language barrier was too great. It was more like a 3 star not a 5 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took two short trips. One was the boogie buggies driving through mud after a lot of rain and a trip through the hills with stops. It was interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top