$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Dec 20, 2010

An average place

It was a cloudy vacation with too much rain. We took two trips which were very enjoyable, boogie buggies and a trip into the hills. I feel that the hotel is not being maintained, a lot of small things that needed attention. It was not a palace to be paid extra for. Lesser RIU hotels are much better. It was a real disappointment. The food was very good because of the various restaurants. We would have liked to travel more but it was discouraged and the language barrier was too great. It was more like a 3 star not a 5 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took two short trips. One was the boogie buggies driving through mud after a lot of rain and a trip through the hills with stops. It was interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ken and Mary A.
Business
North Caldwell, NJ
Nov 30, 2010

HEAVEN ON EARTH!

The Riu Palace is exactly that...from the gorgeous palace-like exterior to the tiled interior. The fountains, pools and swim-up bar are beautiful. The palm trees on the beach offer the best of both worlds. You will not find friendlier or more accommodating staff anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The main restaurant is the 'best bet for your money' (even though you don't actually pay extra for anything after you pay for your trip). The specialty restaurants require an 8am sign up each day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Great!! Great!! Great!!

The hotel staff was great, food was great. Everything was absolutly perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I suggest pre-ordering a shuttle to the hotel as taxis are VERY expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2010

Average at Best

I was very disappointed with thee rooms. We had to switch in the middle of our stay and both rooms were very damp with a horrible odor. We had ALOT of tiny bugs in the 1st room. Each time, we were not given blankets, and we had to request extra towels that didn't arrive for an entire day. In short, the house keeping was sub par. The food, drinks, and staff were great. But as a wekly traveler, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Work with Prieto travel online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marine Corps Couple
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 4, 2010

WONDERFUL

Absolutely loved the RIU PALACE. The price was great, the food was great, the drinks were great, the people and staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The complex is absolutely gorgeous. My husband and I are planning our next trip to Costa Rica and we plan on staying at the RIU there as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chyta
Business
Arlington Hts, Il
Sep 26, 2010

perfect vacations

[...]For the first night we got two double beds instead of one king size. Every thing other was great. The beach was wonderfull, staff very polite and shows very funny.So we really enjoy this vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20'scouple
Business
New Jersey
Sep 21, 2010

Overall good

This was our honeymoon. Neither of us had traveled to the Dominican but based on great reviews from family and friends we decided to try it out. The hotel was nice, clean, friendly staff. The only things we didn't like was that there were a lot of younger children running around and it could be very hard to relax with them there. Don't get me wrong I love children, but our particular experience was with very rowdy ones. Also, although there were some activities at night, we felt as if it was geared towards an older crowd. Being in our 20's, at times we felt out of place. The time at the hotel was very relaxing, the food was pretty decent overall(krystal was our favorite restaurant), and we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quinn
Business
brooklyn, ny
Sep 18, 2010

stinky!

there is a smell that permeates the entire hotel that is a cross between rotted dampness and smelly feet.there are water bugs and roaches in the rooms,dining hall. the reception staff is very condescending.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to move to bahia gran principe right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn,ny
Sep 18, 2010

smeeeeeeeeeeellllllllly

The hotel is permeated by a foul smell. It is a cross between rotting dampness and smelly feet and it is everywhere. It is in the rooms the linens, the furniture, etc. The reception staff is very condescending as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to the hotel bahia gran principe right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 14, 2010

great looking hotel and decent food

The hotel wait for the restaurants were great but that is all. The bar service was poor and a bit rude not to mention housekeeping was ok at best (dirty linens when we arrived and kept dirty towels in the room). The food for an all inclusive was better then normal and yes the drinks are free. The night entertainment is something out of a spanish comedy show rather then the true entertaining i think it is meant to be. For the price, the hotel is worth staying at but they do need to improve on service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not try to exchange back money, they take a -14 peso exchange rate which is very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top