$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chyta
Business
Arlington Hts, Il
Sep 26, 2010

perfect vacations

[...]For the first night we got two double beds instead of one king size. Every thing other was great. The beach was wonderfull, staff very polite and shows very funny.So we really enjoy this vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20'scouple
Business
New Jersey
Sep 21, 2010

Overall good

This was our honeymoon. Neither of us had traveled to the Dominican but based on great reviews from family and friends we decided to try it out. The hotel was nice, clean, friendly staff. The only things we didn't like was that there were a lot of younger children running around and it could be very hard to relax with them there. Don't get me wrong I love children, but our particular experience was with very rowdy ones. Also, although there were some activities at night, we felt as if it was geared towards an older crowd. Being in our 20's, at times we felt out of place. The time at the hotel was very relaxing, the food was pretty decent overall(krystal was our favorite restaurant), and we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn,ny
Sep 18, 2010

smeeeeeeeeeeellllllllly

The hotel is permeated by a foul smell. It is a cross between rotting dampness and smelly feet and it is everywhere. It is in the rooms the linens, the furniture, etc. The reception staff is very condescending as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to the hotel bahia gran principe right next door!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 14, 2010

great looking hotel and decent food

The hotel wait for the restaurants were great but that is all. The bar service was poor and a bit rude not to mention housekeeping was ok at best (dirty linens when we arrived and kept dirty towels in the room). The food for an all inclusive was better then normal and yes the drinks are free. The night entertainment is something out of a spanish comedy show rather then the true entertaining i think it is meant to be. For the price, the hotel is worth staying at but they do need to improve on service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not try to exchange back money, they take a -14 peso exchange rate which is very high.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 10, 2010

Enjoyable and entertaining with some iss

This is definetely the best looking hotel in the area. Our room was spacious yet we did have a deluxe room with a jacuzzi and have heard the opposite about all other rooms. The wait staff is friendly and helpful and the food is excellant for a all inclusive. The major complaints are: housekeeping is not good and the free internet they say they have rarely works. The first night we got here we found our sheets were dirty as well as the robes. When asking for them to be changed, the housekeeper came but brought towels and when trying to explain we needed new sheets, she could not speak english and jsut left. The elevators stop working once a day as well as the power has gone out every other dady (no storms or any reason). The free internet rarely works and always goes out in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the shows are entertianing but sometimes feel like you are in a bad spanish 1960's game show.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProfeNYC
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Fabulous, fun, great staff!!

The resort's beach was beautiful and the water was blue and clean. The resort itself was breathtaking, our room was spacious, clean and had great decor. The entertainment staff was excellent, bartenders, and wait staff friendly and always aimed to please. They were extremely helpful & attentive. My boyfriend and I had a great time. Great culture!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Negotiate!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Aug 25, 2010

Don't go there!!!!

We were booked to stay at the Palace Punta Cana, but missed our last flight out of Miami due to plane trouble. When we called the hotel that night to inform them that we would be arriving the next day, I was placed on hold five times because the staff did not want to (or could not) speak English. I finally reached someone that told me that the reservation staff would not be available until 8 AM the next day. As we were about to board the plane to DR the next day, we were informed that the hotel had given our room (a full suite) away. In a moment of panic, we allowed [...] to book us at the Palace Macao with another suite. The Palace Macao is an old hotel and much smaller than the other Palace. After dealing with rude staff at the front desk, it took another four hours for them to give us the room key. The room was smelly, above the expected slightly mildew smell associated with humid environments. The air conditioning did not work for the first three days. When it did start to work, hardly anything came out of the vents and was accompanied by a horrid noise. The bathroom was small and the Jacuzzi tub was old and creepy. The staircase leading up to the Jacuzzi was old and rusty. The beds were so incredibly hard and uncomfortable that the floor was a better option. All of that could be overlooked if the rest of the resort was nice, but it was not. There is no swim up bar and all of the other bars are not air conditioned and the lounge smelled strongly of smoke and vomit (not an exaggeration!). The wait staff was undermanned and it took a very long time just to get a glass of water at dinner. The pool had one waiter and getting his attention was impossible. The food was terrible. We ate at the Krystal restaurant one night and the food was gross, the buns were stale and served with margarine. We have eaten at the same restaurant in Puerto Vallarta and it was amazing, this was awful compared to that. And to top it all off, there were sand fleas or something that was causing small red, itchy bumps all over my body. Overall it was such a horrible experience that we asked for a refund and took the first flight out of the Dominican that we could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go somewhere else!!! The Riu Palace in Och Rios and Puerto Vallarta are absolutly beautiful! The staff lived to serve you, the food was great as well as everything else! However, the next time we vacation we will be looking for places that claim to have comfortable beds, good food and a pool/pool bar that will stay open late! (Riu closes their pools at 6pm)

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony Cheicon
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 17, 2010

What a fake 5 star hotel

Very very bad food !!! is comparable to any ordinary 3 star hotel, stinky pillows were asked to change from 3 pm and we could get new pillows around 11:30 pm after 8 calls to frontdesk, personnel rude and not firendly at all, supposed to offer premium drinks (12 years scotch was expected as in other 5 stars hotel that I have been before) the best that you could find in a bar is red label scotch. I have been around 10 hotels in Pta Cana from 3 star to 5 star this is the WORST hotel that claims to be a 5 star hotel, been optimistic could reach to a 3 star clasification. If you can do something to punish this people you should do it, I would expect my money back if were possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rum Drinker
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 16, 2010

Very nice vacation

The pool was dirty, the front desk staff were unhelpful and the a/c didn't work well in the room. the food made us sick. But the location, general vibe and other staff made this hotel good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ing. Sandino
Business
Santo Domingo, Republica Dominicana
Aug 10, 2010

Excellence... So Relaxing !

I was great... Classy !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top