$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy22
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Beautiful resorts, fantastic time

Wonderful time spend in relaxed atmosphere! Staff unbelievable happy, helpful and trying their hardest to make your stay a pleasant one. Property is just drop dead gorgeous, very well maintained It REALLY is a palace, you feel like being home. Beach is amazing. Entertainment was creative and very sweet! Special dinner reservations were hard to book. Some of the restaurants had overcooked food but by the amount of people they covered, it is still amazing what they pulled off! Drinks were fantastic, not watered down! Overall incredible fantastic time! We left with the feeling, we love the Dominicans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeki
Business
Illinois, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Wonderful Vacation

My sister and I stayed at the RIU Palace Punta Cana for a total of 4 days, 5 nights. In retrospect, I wish I would have stayed longer. The hotel was really beautiful. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were always cleaned by the time we went to get ready for dinner, as we would leave the do not disturb sign up while we got ready to go to the pool for the day, and the housekeeping staff would typically be cleaning nearby rooms at that time. When we left for the pool we would just switch the sign for one that said to please tidy the room and it was always cleaned by 4/5 (when we returned from the beach/pool). We realized that the best way to make reservations for the restaurants was to do it early in the morning and for a day in advance. Not ideal, but it worked just fine because we actually really enjoyed Don Manuel, where you did not need a reservation. We tried both the Japanese and gourmet restaurants. Both were great, however, we both agreed that the gourmet one was better. My suggestions for this trip would be: 1. Make reservations early in the morning because if you wait until 11, the restaurants will most likely be booked for that evening. 2. If you prefer to lay out by the pool (which we did), try to get there early for the good spots. We did not lay on the beach because it tended to be windy, and because the pool is right next to the beach it just seemed like a good central location to send the day. The pool staff is very good about taking drink orders and regular intervals as well. Finally, my only complaint, which my sister experienced, was when she went to go get a manicure and pedicure. The cost of both was $60, which is not terrible, but for what she got, it certainly was too much. The nail polish on both the manicure and pedicure way applied unevenly and her manicure chipped later that evening. The next day, it was essentially gone. All in all, this was an amazing trip to a wonderful place with wonderful people. I really enjoyed myself and found it very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You are able to make reservations for the hotels 4 restaurants between, I believe, 7:30 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. at the Italian restaurant. My suggestion would be to get there early to make the reservation because the restaurants are small and do tend to fill up quickly.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reisefreund
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Dec 26, 2011

perfect family vacation

This was our second year that we came to the Riu Palace for our family vacation. The fact that we went for the second time speaks for itself. Once again, the service was excellent and everyone tried to make our vacation as smooth as possible. If you are looking for an absolutely relaxing, Carribean vacation in a place that is on the most picturesque beach in the Carribean at an outstanding value I could not think of a better place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breanna K
Business
Nebraska, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Honeymoon

We stayed here for our honeymoon and really liked it. The beach was amazing at the hotel. We walked down the beach to see all the other resorts beaches and were not impressed. All the other resorts had really small, shaded beaches. However, at the RIU Punta Cana the beach area was huge in comparison to all the others, and there was plenty of areas to lay in the sun without being shaded by a bunch of trees. The food overall was also very good and we had the best waiter (Wanny) every night we went down for dinner. At the check-in desk there was a variety of different people. Some of them were really helpful and nice others were rude. Overall, the hotel was amazing though and I would most definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superlatives
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 23, 2011

Best of Riu

Excellent service from the staff. Room smelled musty but I guess that's part of the package when you are in a humid and hot country. Cappuccinos and Orange Caribe were the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Hard Rock which is a short drive and looked around. The Casino was awesome there and discotheque played all the latest dance music.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daveh Cowboah
Business
Southern NJ
Dec 19, 2011

Great Place

I'll start by saying this place was pretty inexpensive. The staff was incredibly helpful. Everyone spoke enough English to get by, most were proficient, and all of the main employees like the people working the front desk, the bus drivers, etc... were fluent. The food was mediocre at the buffet. It was the same food every single day, and although a lot of it like the desserts looked amazing, they were tasteless. All the cereal was stale, the fish was tasty, but overall I was not impressed with the food. I am a 20 year old and even I got sick of the food by the end of the 5 days. Breakfast diner quality, lunch was just enough to keep me content, but dinner (Granted you wake up before 10 AM) and made a reservation was pretty tasty! Their premier restaurants require a reservation, but they fill up fast or you will be back at the buffet. The pools were good, the beach was awesome. The hot tub was warm not hot though. Also people try to sell you things left and right. The only thing I found that worked was to get on the defensive and get a bit of an attitude to get them to knock it off. They are very assertive! IMPORTANT TO NOTE! I chose this place because I wanted to snorkel so bad!!!! The water activities like snorkeling and scuba diving ARE NOT included. Scuba diving is about 200$ per person (Not too bad) but snorkeling is 85 bucks per person. That was upsetting because I chose this resort because I love to snorkel, and the water was great. All in all, the hotel was great, vendors, and water activity guys could have been better. For the money, you can't beat this place. I had a great time and would totally go again. P.S. throw the bartenders 1$ every time you get a drink, everyone works their butts off and your drinks will get better and stronger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wake up and make reservations, the buffet food gets old fast. They say the reservations close at 11 am but they fill up quickly, around 10 am.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punkie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Husband's Birthday Getaway

We had a wondeful time. I will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations at the resturants the day of or next day of arrival. Can make reservations for each day being spent at the resort at the same time.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gobble0401
Business
Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Wonderful resort

Great resort! Beautiful beaches. Lots to do. Kids club was not geared toward the over 8 crowd. Recommend this and the Riu palace las Americas in cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelso
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
Nov 21, 2011

Three stars at best

The room was musty - almost as if it hadn't been used in a while. Meals were ordinary - a far cry from our last visit there. The beach, pool, cocktail lounge and terrace area were fine. The place seems tired and the staff acts bored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not set your dinner expectations too high; breakfasts were the exception (4-5 stars). They have trouble cooking hot dogs for lunch. Dinners were unexciting. No theme nights.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ted From Orlando
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Will not go back

The hotel is nice, the food is ok. My main complaint is you are isolated to the hotel grounds. It is very costly to take cabs and there is nothing in walking distance of the hotel. No one explained y\to us how the dinner reservation system worked, we were given a map of the hotel complex but it was a verry dark copy and no explanation of numbered locations. Specifically I was not happy wth COCO Tours, our transportation company, they scheduled us to arrange our transportation tio the airport and did not show up. The rep was only available one day, but we were told they would be available every day. Air travel from Orlando is miserable, since you have no direct flights to DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top