$405 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
87 reviews
Fantastic get away

This vacation was great we really enjoyed it and the staff was fabulous !! See full review

  • CMACE
  • Nov 16, 2014
5 star

This resort truly defines 5 stars. From the staff to the hotel itself, I would definitely return. See full review

  • Chetez
  • Jul 22, 2014
RIU Hotels & Resorts brings you a totally new Palace resort on the beautiful destination of Punta Cana. The Riu Palace Bavaro Hotel on beautiful Arena Gorda Beach is located just 30 kilometers from Punta Cana International Airport. Right on the beach of Arena Gorda, Riu Palace Bavaro (all inclusive 24) is the new Riu Hotel in Punta Cana, you can enjoy this resort and Riu Service quality, the comfort of a Palace, beaches and sun of this wonderful Caribbean destination. Riu Palace Bavaro has 610 rooms, 4 restaurants and 4 bars. Facilities 4 Swimming pool, 2 of them with adjoining Jacuzzi and swim-up bar; children's swimming pool and miniclub; spa & beauty salon; fitness center, sauna and jacuzzi; 4 conference rooms, complimentary sun loungers, towels and parasols by the pool area.Guest have 90 minutes a day of Free WiFi-connection in the lobby, the property also has WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at an additional charge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Superior
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreenTV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Grand Terrace
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed,living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Big terrace.
Suite Jacuzzi
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV,radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.
Villa Junior Suite Pool View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with pool view. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser,coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Junior Suite Jacuzzi Superior
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Suite Jacuzzi Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet,double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi and ocean front view. Free wifi service availabe in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
All meals and snacks, unlimited domestic and imported alcoholic beverages, cocktails & soft drinks. Exchange privilieges: enjoy all facilities at Riu Palace Macao, Riu Bambu, Riu Palace Punta Cana and Riu Naiboa (theme dinners restaurants excluded). Room service 24 hours. Entrance to the Casino at Riu Palace Macao (drinks not included), Pacha Disco at the Caribbean Street (entrance included, drinks not included), daily activities program for children from 4 to 12 years old, children's swimming pool & playground, daily activities program for adults, swimming, jacuzzi, spa sauna, fitness center, one free scuba diving introductory lesson in pool, aerobics, kayaking, etc. At the caribbean street at an additional cost: internet access, car rental, spa services, medical, staff on-site an on call 24 hours, billiards, arcade games, boutique.

Dining

Cubano Lobby Bar
Lobby Bar
Lounge Bar
Lounge Bar with Terrace
La Plaza Bar
Bar
Sports Bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte with previous reservations needed.
Krystal Restaurant
A la carte with previous reservations needed.
Italian Restaurant
A la carte & Buffet style with previous reservations needed.
Japanese Restaurant
A la carte with previous reservations needed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler1265
Business
CT
Jan 27, 2012

Worst Vacation to-date

When we arrived we found out our jacuzzi room was double booked and we had to get another room. We did get a complimentary stay, which at the time we were pleased. The room we got had a showerhead that was leaking loudly we couldnt sleep (water torture) and a toilet that wouldnt flush. I called 8 times in 2 days and no one came until the 3rd day to acknowledge us. We were told it would take time to fix and we had to move rooms. For our inconvenience we got a beach front jacuzzi room - come to find out this jacuzzi and fridge were broke! The room was also infested with mosquitos! When trying to go to bed we were bitten from head to toe! We killed 11 in 1 hour! Finally another room was open. THis room was almost perfect....we were directly above the dining hall and heard EVERYTHING from 5am till 11pm! Very hard to sleep at night The restaurants were always booked - we only made it to 1 restaurant at 9pm. Get there early to book! But you can only book 3 days in advance. We had to eat at the buffet all 6 other nights. The entertainment was not as good as other places I have seen. I think the hotel needs time to get the bugs out since they opened. Im sure in time it will be better! Be aware of people on the beach giving "free boat rides". They took my fiancee on a 2 hr boat ride and dropped him off acrosss town at another resort to get a time share! He had to get a cab ride back on someone else's money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mdk3
Business
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Feb 10, 2012

HORRIBLE - DO NOT STAY HERE

Our stay at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro was absolutely less than pleasant; it was horrible. The people here are scam artists and disrespectful. This was our honeymoon trip and we were treated like scum. Our third day there, we had a 'run in' with the front desk. We had simply asked to exchange some money, and in response we were told that we are stupid and uneducated. When it was brought to the manager’s attention, specifically Neils Alossery, he accused us of being liars and defended the staff members who were clearly in the wrong. He then shooed us out of his office as we were told to 'be gone.' We have never been treated with such disrespect. Needless to say, we immediately returned to our room, packed our bags, moved to another hotel for the night, and got the next flight home in the morning; cutting our honeymoon trip 4 days short. We unfortunately missed out on the dolphin excursion & stingray excursion we had planned for the following 2 days. Another issue with staff and the front desk was the phone. We had to call numerous times before we'd get an answer and sometimes just had to give up. When we did reach someone, we did not receive what we'd asked for - a simple requests for new batteries for the safe & more bottled water. I am thankful we did not have an emergency in our room; their lack of attentiveness to the phone and their customers was horrible. We stayed in the VIP area. The pool water was freezing, it was 80 degrees out and the water was still not bearable. The pool boys in that area were very friendly and attentive, and we tipped them well for that. The food at the restaurants, particularly the Italian restaurant (which didn't even hardly serve Italian food) was disgusting. The meat was undercooked and not even edible. We left as soon as the main course arrived and went to the buffet. The buffet was surprisingly not too bad, there was a large variety of fresh food at every meal and every day they offered something different. I will give this place credit for that. The rooms felt very clean but were only mediocre in the "VIP" area; they look like a typical hotel room. We had higher expectations given they call it a 'villa with a private Jacuzzi.' The Jacuzzi was a bathtub on a cement porch open for everyone to see you as they walked by. It was also impossible to get the water warm enough to sit in. It was far from anything "VIP" we did not receive anything more than the people staying in a regular room other than a different colored wristband. The only difference was a private pool with cement chairs in the pool and a swim up bar that was hardly occupied. Nothing special. This entire experience completely turned us off to the Dominican Republic. We had the option of staying the rest of our trip at another hotel but we felt this place, as a whole, was not worth spending another dime on. We will never be returning to Punta Cana or the Dominican Republic, for that matter. We were disgusted in the way we were treated and will never be staying at another Riu, no matter where we are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LONNORT
Business
ANNAPOLIS,MD
Nov 27, 2012

great food bad water GREAT PLACE TO HAVE A DESTINATION WEDDING

MY DAUGHTER HAD HER WEDDING THERE AND THAT WAS A VERY BEAUTIFUL THING. Do not drink the water in any form unless it is in a bottle. The staff is friendly but not well trained. The head clerk at the front desk is especially well trained the others are not. They are nice in a more of a fake sort of way. The rooms are average the beds are not as good as they could be. Some mold smells in the rooms but not too bad. The resort can smell like a sewer some times but it is not any different from any resort in this type of country. The public resort is very nice and the food is good. Be careful of the food that has been out too long. They only serve hot milk for the coffee. no cream or half/half. Most of the staff cannot speak English only Spanish. If you do not speak Spanish you might have to look for someone who can translate for you. I would not go back to DR for the resorts. They are nice but the country seems unstable and un-policed. I would not want to be outside the resort areas at night. Nor would I walk around the city. It is rough. DO NOT GO SWIM WITH THE DOLPHINS. IT IS A REAL RIP OFF. YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO SWIM WITH THEM. THEY ARE PENNED OUT IN THE OCEAN IN A CRUEL SORT OF WAY. THE SNORKELING IS OK BUT A DRINKING ADVENTURE MORE SO. THE BEACH PARTY THEY TAKE YOU TO IS NOT A BEACH PARTY BUT A SWIM IN A COVE WITH SEAWEED AND VERY UNCOMFORTABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

stay at the resort unless you are on an excursion ' DO NOT DO SWIM WITH THE DOLPHINS. YOU WONT BE ABLE TO SWIM WITH THEM. THEY ARE PENNED IN THE OPEN OCEAN IN VERY SMALL ENCLOSURES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Floridatravel2014
Business
Florida
Jun 7, 2014

DO NOT GO FOR THE FOOD

OK! so this may sound like a contradictory review but I will do my best to describe my experience and hopefully provide you with some assistance in your decision. The hotel it self is not bad--- nice beach, pools, clean overall, modern looking, blah blah blah. The food was really bad... This was my 3rd time staying at an ALL inclusive and trust me by no means was I expecting a five star meal, but I must say that it was closer to horrible than it was to average! Whatever you do .... DO NOT go there for the food!!!!!!!!! We actually had to go to the Hard Rock the last night we were there because we wanted a decent meal! The staff is hit and miss... We either had extremely nice and polite workers or you had HORRIBLE employees that were not helpful or nice at ALL. It sometimes felt like they were doing us a favor by re filling our cups with water! The rooms are ok nice and modern looking. IF YOU DO NOT TIP YOU WILL MOST LIKELY NOT GET MUCH OF A SERVICE---this is understandable though, they don't make a lot of money and were ok with that. The one thing that I will say was AMAZINNNNGGGG and extremely well put together was the ENTERTAINMENT Their entertainment staff works night and day and puts on the best SHOWS ever! Unbelievably hard working genuinely nice people. Would I go back???? may be>>>> This is why I said this review would be contradictory! I just would not go back for the food! THE ONLY THING GOOD TO EAT ARE THEIR NACHOS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

AMAZING ENTERTAINMENT!!! THE BEST I"VE YET SEEN at an all inclusive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JLP17
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 11, 2014

Decline in quality and poor management...

The quality of the room and room sevice has declined compared to our stay last year in July. The minibar was not functioning nor did it get stocked up. There were no bottles of water in the room or in the dining areas. To get one, you had to go to the front desk. No welcome drinks. Maid came in to room without being authorized twice at odd hours of the evening. It did not leave me feeling secure and I had to ask the supervisor to not let anyone come into the room without someone being in there. 15 hangers were scattered on the bed without request. The maid had left them in error. We notified the front desk and they never came to pick them up. I had to put it in front of the door outside. The ACs are not working properly. The quality of food has declined- same menu everyday. No bacon, mangu, shrimps, lobster, etc. The day there was bacon it was extremely undercooked. I spoke with the manager and conveyed the inconveniences I experienced. He gave me the runaround and did not seem interested in what I had to say. It's unfortunate because the staff is friendly but management does not cater to guests. Will not return or recommend to anyone. There are other better resorts in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Not impressed

My fiancé and I were considering getting married here next year. THAT'S NOT HAPPENING HERE... The food was mediocre at best, the jacuzzi suite had two jacuzzi's in them that don't work and the staff were jerks with few exceptions. I don't ask for much, just what I pay for... I don't believe I received my money's worth..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SamfromCT
Business
Connecticut, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Good hotel for now

It looks good for now as it is brand new, not sure how it will turn out one year from now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guy from Queens
Business
Queens NY
May 21, 2012

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

The room was good clean and new. beach was very good ,walk toward your left very quiet beach. food was ok, the bar tenders are terrible and the drinks they make are no good, they do not know how to mix drinks, they just pour alcohol on top. The beer is only good when it is very cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germantown TN
Jul 29, 2012

Great place for relaxation

Beautiful property-perfect size-gorgeous rooms. Great food though fine dining needs to improve selections. You can do as much or as little as possible in this nicely designed place. The nightly entertainment was fun and kept everyone involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colombian turist
Business
Medellin, Colombia
Jun 20, 2012

Not what i expected

It was really bad to get to Punta Cana and realize that the hotel didnt have airport pickup, specially when its located 40 minutes away...thats another USD 40. We werent able to make a reservation in the special restaurants because they were all full and the next day were closed (sunday). The food and drinks were really good, but one night before we left someone stole USD 150 from my girlfriend purse that was in the room...that should not happen in a 5 star hotel, and the hotel did not care at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the hotel...the bus is almost the same price but it stops a lot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top