$265 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
87 reviews
Fantastic get away

This vacation was great we really enjoyed it and the staff was fabulous !! See full review

  • CMACE
  • Nov 16, 2014
5 star

This resort truly defines 5 stars. From the staff to the hotel itself, I would definitely return. See full review

  • Chetez
  • Jul 22, 2014
RIU Hotels & Resorts brings you a totally new Palace resort on the beautiful destination of Punta Cana. The Riu Palace Bavaro Hotel on beautiful Arena Gorda Beach is located just 30 kilometers from Punta Cana International Airport. Right on the beach of Arena Gorda, Riu Palace Bavaro (all inclusive 24) is the new Riu Hotel in Punta Cana, you can enjoy this resort and Riu Service quality, the comfort of a Palace, beaches and sun of this wonderful Caribbean destination. Riu Palace Bavaro has 610 rooms, 4 restaurants and 4 bars. Facilities 4 Swimming pool, 2 of them with adjoining Jacuzzi and swim-up bar; children's swimming pool and miniclub; spa & beauty salon; fitness center, sauna and jacuzzi; 4 conference rooms, complimentary sun loungers, towels and parasols by the pool area.Guest have 90 minutes a day of Free WiFi-connection in the lobby, the property also has WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at an additional charge.

Hotel Map

18.7203 -68.4556
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Punta Cana Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Superior
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreenTV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Grand Terrace
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed,living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Big terrace.
Suite Jacuzzi
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV,radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.
Villa Junior Suite Pool View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with pool view. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser,coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Junior Suite Jacuzzi Superior
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Suite Jacuzzi Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet,double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi and ocean front view. Free wifi service availabe in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
All meals and snacks, unlimited domestic and imported alcoholic beverages, cocktails & soft drinks. Exchange privilieges: enjoy all facilities at Riu Palace Macao, Riu Bambu, Riu Palace Punta Cana and Riu Naiboa (theme dinners restaurants excluded). Room service 24 hours. Entrance to the Casino at Riu Palace Macao (drinks not included), Pacha Disco at the Caribbean Street (entrance included, drinks not included), daily activities program for children from 4 to 12 years old, children's swimming pool & playground, daily activities program for adults, swimming, jacuzzi, spa sauna, fitness center, one free scuba diving introductory lesson in pool, aerobics, kayaking, etc. At the caribbean street at an additional cost: internet access, car rental, spa services, medical, staff on-site an on call 24 hours, billiards, arcade games, boutique.

Dining

Cubano Lobby Bar
Lobby Bar
Lounge Bar
Lounge Bar with Terrace
La Plaza Bar
Bar
Sports Bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte with previous reservations needed.
Krystal Restaurant
A la carte with previous reservations needed.
Italian Restaurant
A la carte & Buffet style with previous reservations needed.
Japanese Restaurant
A la carte with previous reservations needed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGFB
Business
Texas
Aug 9, 2013

Stress Free Vacation!

We had an amazing time! Our trip was 5 days/4nights. We arrived on Wed. and left on a Sun. From start to finish, we were treated wonderfully! Candidly, I was hesitant to book after reading the mixed reviews; however, I am so glad we did. We truly did not experience what some other travelers noted. I am sure each experience is different. During our experience, not ONE person hovered or made comments as a way of hinting at a tip. We did tip some of the resort staff because they had gone above and beyond – but other than that there was never an awkward moment regarding tips. It was the opposite! However, I would like to gently remind folks that the DR is a third world country that is full of people with financial stress. I realize the resort experience isn’t cheap but I encourage some understanding as to why some of the staff might do things in hopes of tips. As to the buffet comments – not every dish is delicious so when you first go you may just want to start by taking small portions to taste. Some of the most basic things are not good at all but some dishes were really good. I would say it just requires a little bit of patience and some willingness to take risk. On the other hand, the specialty restaurants were FABULOUS!!! As soon as you can, make your reservation. Definitely worth it! Also, take advantage of the special events. We are not ones to enjoy that kind of thing but one of our favorite moments was during one of the events! They set up a dance area on the beach while a chef cooked/served Paella and Sangria! It was truly a movie moment. We were in heaven. The staff is so respectful and aware of your needs that we were left alone to enjoy the moment with each other rather than being pulled on the dance floor. They quickly realized our vibe so we were able to eat, drink and dance on our terms. Pure greatness! We highly recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Punta Cana. The beach was gorgeous, the staff was friendly/funny/ kind and the amenities allowed a for a stress free vacation. I hope this helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RotCiv
Business
Fort Collins, Colorado
Dec 27, 2013

RIU Palace Bavaro - A Must Go!

We enjoyed our time at the RIU Palace Bavaro: great place, excelent food variaties, superb service and professional staff. Room comfort could have been better, was not good having two twin beds 'together' to make it a king size bed. This RIU hotel did not have drinks service at the beach like the RIU in Cancun. Not certain what is RIU standard on this. Will have been great enrolling the RIU Class program BEFORE going into any of the RIU hotels. Evening etertainment for the kids were good despite of being repetitive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

IF you are travelling with kids, please ensure you bring everything you need (diapers, ibuprofen, wipes, etc..) it cost 2x purchasing any of these in the hotel or local stores being Punta Cana a tourist area.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inka28
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 3, 2014

Beautiful

Everything was great. Clean sheets. Entertainment was exceptional. Service was well mannered and professional. Would definitely recommend and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chetez
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2014

5 star

This resort truly defines 5 stars. From the staff to the hotel itself, I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CMACE
Business
NC
Nov 16, 2014

Fantastic get away

This vacation was great we really enjoyed it and the staff was fabulous !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LENA FISHKA
Business
NEW YORK
Jan 18, 2014

VERY GOOD RESORT, MINOR ISSUES

THIS IS A VERY GOOD RESORT. WE WERE VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE HOTEL, ROOMS, FOOD AND SERVICE. HOWEVER, MINOR SUGGESTIONS - HAVING MORE BATHROOMS ON THE GROUNDS AND CLOSER TO THE BEACH AND POOL / BAR AREA WOULD BE NICE; PLEASE REPLACE THESE HORRIBLE PILLOWS; PLEASE INSTALL A STAIRCASE OR AN ELEVATOR SHAFT IN THE WING OF THE MAIN RESTAURANT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viaje
Business
Gloucester, MA
Jan 20, 2014

RIU Palace Bavaro January 2014

Going to a resort like this is not an adventure, however, if you are looking for R & R, you can't beat it. The food was much better than some of the other resorts, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was super, staff friendly, and everything was very clean. Gorgeous weather and miles and miles of beach to walk on made it a super break from a cold and snowy winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jay36
Business
new jersey
Feb 1, 2014

awesome family vacation

The hotel lobby was impressive and overall the rooms were nice. The grounds were very well maintained and pools were nice. The service was good and there was no expectation of a tip as I had read in some reviews. Language was a small issue since not every staff member speaks english - however staff was making good effort to understand and explain things. A small tip can go a long way to get attention and good service. They were encouraging people to join for the events during the day and after dinner. Food choice was impressive but living in newyork area spoils you and expectations go up. One could get bored with food before the week is over. The 4 restaurants besides the buffet are decent enough but nothing to write about. Booking opens at 8 AM an d can be done for 3 nights in advance. If you get a room around the entertainment area and have kids, it is better to switch to a different wing since the loud music won't stop till mid night. Don't expect lot of quality booze. You can find Jack Daniels in the lobby bar and Stoli vodka in the sports bar. Rest all liquor is mostly local and it tastes fine with cocktails. The only beer offered is Presidente - its like a pilsner. The beach is nice but bavaro is not the calm waters of Caribbean - the Atlantic makes it choppy - so if you have young kids it is better to be watchful. the excursion to saona island is a must do - the catamaran ride and speed boats are lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

you can bargain for excursions and get 1/2 off for kids.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss beach escape
Business
New York
Feb 12, 2014

Winter Escape

Wonderful winter escape to beautiful white sand beaches and blue water! The RIU Bavaro provides a friendly staff. We were upgraded to VIP at no additional cost. Although the food was average and it took a couple of days for the room refrigerator to get cold, the trip was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Molly Super Team
Business
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2014

Great getaway, lousy smells

My girlfriend and I traveled to the Dominican Republic for a winter getaway. Overall, we were happy with our stay at RIU Palace Bavaro. The staff was accommodating. We checked in an hour early and our room was ready. However, we were greeted with a bizarre sewage/sulfur odor in the hallway. Thankfully, it dissipated quickly and I only smelled it a couple times. The room had a colorful open concept design. The balcony was a big plus and was overlooking a peaceful sandy lounge area. The WiFi was slow, but it was nice to disconnect from the world for a few days. The weather was amazing!! Blue water and beautiful palm tree laden beaches. Plenty of lounge chairs. The food was good. We enjoyed the selection at the Montecristo Buffet. The grouper was our favorite fish. Our favorite speciality restaurant was Krystal. Overall, we had a good time and the weather was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top