$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
73 reviews
Couple Getaway

Went to Riu Palace for the week with my girlfriend and it was an incredible stay. The resort was... See full review

  • Aces10
  • Mar 16, 2014
riu bavaro

they had my room wrong when I got there but fixed it clean and comfortable rooms the help will bend... See full review

  • curly robson
  • Feb 4, 2014
RIU Hotels & Resorts brings you a totally new Palace resort on the beautiful destination of Punta Cana. The Riu Palace Bavaro Hotel on beautiful Arena Gorda Beach is located just 30 kilometers from Punta Cana International Airport. Right on the beach of Arena Gorda, Riu Palace Bavaro (all inclusive 24) is the new Riu Hotel in Punta Cana, you can enjoy this resort and Riu Service quality, the comfort of a Palace, beaches and sun of this wonderful Caribbean destination. Riu Palace Bavaro has 610 rooms, 4 restaurants and 4 bars. Facilities 4 Swimming pool, 2 of them with adjoining Jacuzzi and swim-up bar; children's swimming pool and miniclub; spa & beauty salon; fitness center, sauna and jacuzzi; 4 conference rooms, complimentary sun loungers, towels and parasols by the pool area.Guest have 90 minutes a day of Free WiFi-connection in the lobby, the property also has WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at an additional charge.

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Superior
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreenTV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Grand Terrace
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed,living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Big terrace.
Suite Jacuzzi
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV,radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.
Villa Junior Suite Pool View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with pool view. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser,coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Junior Suite Jacuzzi Superior
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flatscreen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi. Free wifi service availabe in room.
Villa Suite Jacuzzi Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet,double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi and ocean front view. Free wifi service availabe in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7203 -68.4556
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Punta Cana Beach

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
All meals and snacks, unlimited domestic and imported alcoholic beverages, cocktails & soft drinks. Exchange privilieges: enjoy all facilities at Riu Palace Macao, Riu Bambu, Riu Palace Punta Cana and Riu Naiboa (theme dinners restaurants excluded). Room service 24 hours. Entrance to the Casino at Riu Palace Macao (drinks not included), Pacha Disco at the Caribbean Street (entrance included, drinks not included), daily activities program for children from 4 to 12 years old, children's swimming pool & playground, daily activities program for adults, swimming, jacuzzi, spa sauna, fitness center, one free scuba diving introductory lesson in pool, aerobics, kayaking, etc. At the caribbean street at an additional cost: internet access, car rental, spa services, medical, staff on-site an on call 24 hours, billiards, arcade games, boutique.

Dining

Cubano Lobby Bar
Lobby Bar
Lounge Bar
Lounge Bar with Terrace
La Plaza Bar
Bar
Sports Bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Buffet Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte with previous reservations needed.
Krystal Restaurant
A la carte with previous reservations needed.
Italian Restaurant
A la carte & Buffet style with previous reservations needed.
Japanese Restaurant
A la carte with previous reservations needed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
NINAB
NY
Mar 26, 2012

Great Experience

Our experience at the RIU Palace Bavaro was perfect from start to finish. Would recommend it to everyone!! Nicer then any of the other hotels that we saw when we picked up other tourists for excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try the Reef Explorer Excursion with VIP travel service great experience for the price and it includes a massage :)

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Herndon VA
Mar 19, 2012

Great Week

Everything you could want at your fingertips! Pleasant staff and beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
cossack
n.y.
Mar 1, 2012

family trip

food, excellent, food presentation similar to cruise ship--restaurants good-staff very helpful-smiling-always responding w/ friendly buenos dias-ola!--/entertainment staff @ pool very, very good--helped people participate w/o being pushy--very few children were @ the hotel but the staff accomodated them with shows-plays etc.--our grand kids were very happy-a 5 yr. old & a 6 yr. old-which made us happy--would return -thia was 1st visit to d.rep--

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
mdk3
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Feb 10, 2012

HORRIBLE - DO NOT STAY HERE

Our stay at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro was absolutely less than pleasant; it was horrible. The people here are scam artists and disrespectful. This was our honeymoon trip and we were treated like scum. Our third day there, we had a 'run in' with the front desk. We had simply asked to exchange some money, and in response we were told that we are stupid and uneducated. When it was brought to the manager’s attention, specifically Neils Alossery, he accused us of being liars and defended the staff members who were clearly in the wrong. He then shooed us out of his office as we were told to 'be gone.' We have never been treated with such disrespect. Needless to say, we immediately returned to our room, packed our bags, moved to another hotel for the night, and got the next flight home in the morning; cutting our honeymoon trip 4 days short. We unfortunately missed out on the dolphin excursion & stingray excursion we had planned for the following 2 days. Another issue with staff and the front desk was the phone. We had to call numerous times before we'd get an answer and sometimes just had to give up. When we did reach someone, we did not receive what we'd asked for - a simple requests for new batteries for the safe & more bottled water. I am thankful we did not have an emergency in our room; their lack of attentiveness to the phone and their customers was horrible. We stayed in the VIP area. The pool water was freezing, it was 80 degrees out and the water was still not bearable. The pool boys in that area were very friendly and attentive, and we tipped them well for that. The food at the restaurants, particularly the Italian restaurant (which didn't even hardly serve Italian food) was disgusting. The meat was undercooked and not even edible. We left as soon as the main course arrived and went to the buffet. The buffet was surprisingly not too bad, there was a large variety of fresh food at every meal and every day they offered something different. I will give this place credit for that. The rooms felt very clean but were only mediocre in the "VIP" area; they look like a typical hotel room. We had higher expectations given they call it a 'villa with a private Jacuzzi.' The Jacuzzi was a bathtub on a cement porch open for everyone to see you as they walked by. It was also impossible to get the water warm enough to sit in. It was far from anything "VIP" we did not receive anything more than the people staying in a regular room other than a different colored wristband. The only difference was a private pool with cement chairs in the pool and a swim up bar that was hardly occupied. Nothing special. This entire experience completely turned us off to the Dominican Republic. We had the option of staying the rest of our trip at another hotel but we felt this place, as a whole, was not worth spending another dime on. We will never be returning to Punta Cana or the Dominican Republic, for that matter. We were disgusted in the way we were treated and will never be staying at another Riu, no matter where we are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
lucien
New York, NY, USA
Feb 6, 2012

excellent food, mediocre accomodation

Modern design with tacky raspberry-yellow colors, excellent beach, very attentive and professional staff, excellent food (daily seafood of all kinds from shrimp to lobsters, different meats, fish, salads), local and good international drinks, barmen are very proficient and can mix excellent drinks. The resort is new. If you are not bothered by poor landscaping and boring entertainment, that is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
traveler1265
CT
Jan 27, 2012

Worst Vacation to-date

When we arrived we found out our jacuzzi room was double booked and we had to get another room. We did get a complimentary stay, which at the time we were pleased. The room we got had a showerhead that was leaking loudly we couldnt sleep (water torture) and a toilet that wouldnt flush. I called 8 times in 2 days and no one came until the 3rd day to acknowledge us. We were told it would take time to fix and we had to move rooms. For our inconvenience we got a beach front jacuzzi room - come to find out this jacuzzi and fridge were broke! The room was also infested with mosquitos! When trying to go to bed we were bitten from head to toe! We killed 11 in 1 hour! Finally another room was open. THis room was almost perfect....we were directly above the dining hall and heard EVERYTHING from 5am till 11pm! Very hard to sleep at night The restaurants were always booked - we only made it to 1 restaurant at 9pm. Get there early to book! But you can only book 3 days in advance. We had to eat at the buffet all 6 other nights. The entertainment was not as good as other places I have seen. I think the hotel needs time to get the bugs out since they opened. Im sure in time it will be better! Be aware of people on the beach giving "free boat rides". They took my fiancee on a 2 hr boat ride and dropped him off acrosss town at another resort to get a time share! He had to get a cab ride back on someone else's money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Sloan Dear
Michigan, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good Place

RIU's do a good job, the stafff is very friendly and always helpfull, however we had NO PROBLEMS, we did hear of another couple getting there room double booked, but it was taking care of, I did not care for the 2 twin beds pushed together to make our " king bed" but the rooms were new and nice, my only complaint was honestly the food, it was 4/5 rating, maybe it was because we were there for 6 days, you just get sick of eating, breakfast and lunch were always good 5/5, but dinner, I was sick of the food, and lacked interests the more nights we were there, im confortable with eating most foods, they could of provided more options, I woke up early and made resturant reservations, so you snooze you lose! we had no problems and ate at 3 of the 4, the resturant food was great, each food experience for the most part had excellant service, troubles only came when some staff members spoke no english,that was fustrating but we got by fine, the best part was the bars, lots of drinks, and they will make whatever you want with how much you want,very good, the pools we found 3,were all very clean and nice,and service poolside was good, beach was nice, shows were good each night (they try), the main lobby smells nasty,almost moldy or musty, no other part of the hotel was that that, you had acess to the other RIUs, one had a casino,its no vegas,but it was cute, shops were on the resort expensive but walk down the beach, and there is a ton of shops for cheap, we made transportation through online when we booked,the same guy is in charge of the excursions and any info you need and he was there everyday, that was very helpful, the excursions were awsome,it is scary to leave the resort,but there pretty organized, I would never go off the resort alone, it is scary,no traffic signals,people drive crazy! overall I would go back if I had too, Id only stay at the new one (riu palace bavaro) though,be/c the others are junky compared to them, nice trip,nice hotel, decent food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shops on the resorts are very expensive, walk down the beach to the right, its about a 10 min walk and you will see a ton of cheap shops (on the beach) you can barter at with the people, they even let us take the cigers back to the room without any money be/c they knew we would come back

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Lyly
Lake Orion, MI
Jan 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel

We loved that the hotel was brand new and the rooms were excellent. The only downside was there wasn't too much in terms of lively entertainment on the hotel grounds. Also, no food available after 10p.m. especially if you want something to eat after you've had a few drinks. The room service menu selection was awful. They might as well not even offer room service. But overall, we had a very relaxing time. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Frequent RIU Fans
richmond, va
Jan 15, 2012

New RIU Palace in Punta Cana

We are frequent Caribbean RIU Palace Customers and found this new look quite different. The old wood classical motif is gone and replaced by a modern straight line design. The lobby is a bit much but the room becomes comfortable once you spend a few days. The bath is part of the room but the shower is very large and we just never wanted to leave it. The in-room jetted tub is fun and was filled with bubbles and rose petals our last evening. Nice touch. Food was the typical RIU Palace restaurants but they were a bit more flexible in timing of reservations and service. Entertainment was very good. Veronica stands out and makes every day fun. She is a professional and talented. Ocean - wonderful. No more to say there. Just perfect. 24 hour sports bar very nice. need to pay for pool tables and games but still lots of fun. Late nights, early morning, bottles of Presidente and great coffee and cappuciono. Service and atmosphere of fun are in general excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
razzle1
New York
Dec 31, 2011

christmas 2011

This was a beautiful well kept hotel with a wonderful friendly staff. There was plenty of room at the pool and on the beach with more than enough lounge chairs for all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top