$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron Grycko
Couples
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 13, 2013

Good adult trip

The Riu resort was a little too large for my tastes. The guests were very quiet and subdued during our time there. We would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRamon
Family
New York, NY
Sep 2, 2013

Last minute vacation

We found the location to be a little further away than we thought, but we found the place to be very nice... the lobby was huge and we were given attention right away.. no need to wait. We did arrive ahead of time, since check out was at 3pm.. but according to my email check in was at 12pm. So we did have to wait around until 2pm. The food was pretty good, did not wow us... the Italian restaurant was good though. The pools were great but there seemed to be only one pool we could use.. The drinks were weak but that's to be expected. The resort is also huge, so there is a lot of walking around. The entertainment was actually good during the day, they were fun ! But at night, it seemed to be a bit lacking... there were only two things a kids show, and a regular show and then some live music. I was expecting more. The beach was beautiful! No complaints at all! Over all, we had a great time we were just expecting more for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGFB
Couples
Texas
Aug 9, 2013

Stress Free Vacation!

We had an amazing time! Our trip was 5 days/4nights. We arrived on Wed. and left on a Sun. From start to finish, we were treated wonderfully! Candidly, I was hesitant to book after reading the mixed reviews; however, I am so glad we did. We truly did not experience what some other travelers noted. I am sure each experience is different. During our experience, not ONE person hovered or made comments as a way of hinting at a tip. We did tip some of the resort staff because they had gone above and beyond – but other than that there was never an awkward moment regarding tips. It was the opposite! However, I would like to gently remind folks that the DR is a third world country that is full of people with financial stress. I realize the resort experience isn’t cheap but I encourage some understanding as to why some of the staff might do things in hopes of tips. As to the buffet comments – not every dish is delicious so when you first go you may just want to start by taking small portions to taste. Some of the most basic things are not good at all but some dishes were really good. I would say it just requires a little bit of patience and some willingness to take risk. On the other hand, the specialty restaurants were FABULOUS!!! As soon as you can, make your reservation. Definitely worth it! Also, take advantage of the special events. We are not ones to enjoy that kind of thing but one of our favorite moments was during one of the events! They set up a dance area on the beach while a chef cooked/served Paella and Sangria! It was truly a movie moment. We were in heaven. The staff is so respectful and aware of your needs that we were left alone to enjoy the moment with each other rather than being pulled on the dance floor. They quickly realized our vibe so we were able to eat, drink and dance on our terms. Pure greatness! We highly recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Punta Cana. The beach was gorgeous, the staff was friendly/funny/ kind and the amenities allowed a for a stress free vacation. I hope this helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The four m
Family
Nj
Jul 27, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

Was a good time the whole family enjoyed the hotel food was really good for all inclusive the staff were friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerhog
Family
North Carolina
Jul 15, 2013

Great Hotel

It was an amazing trip and the workers their treated you like royalty. Food was good. The resort was super nice. Definitely going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make Reservations in Morning

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank R nyc
Couples
New york
Jun 18, 2013

Great vacation

The entire staff treats you very well and always go out of their way to make sure your stay is as best as possible...the rooms are nice and the food is great. Nightly shows are always entertaining... Great hotel for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

A few extra dollars can go a long way. Always buy any outside attractions from a good rep in the hotel lobby. Someone will always try to give you a cheaper price..but the service and experience may not be as good. Ask the front desk clerk who are the best reps to go with.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May and Mis
Couples
Birmingham, Alabama
Jun 7, 2013

Great place! Watch the vendors.

Loved the Riu, loved the staff, loved Punta Cana. Didn't love the CD I bought for $15 that was blank. Only negative, so not much to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from AZ
Couples
Queen Creek, AZ
May 27, 2013

Best of the five RIU Resorts in Punta Cana

The RIU Palace Bavaro is a nice hotel. I was disappointed to see the low quality floor tile used throughout the hotel and in the rooms. The grout is very dirty and they used the cheapest gray ceramic tile you could find anywhere. Very disappointing for their high end resort. Rooms are nicely appointed yet seem to lack color and have a bit of a sterile feeling, they have the same tile issues and seem to be older than they are due to poor material choices and upkeep. The room has cracks in the walls, the paint on the majority of the exterior is already in disrepair and looks like they painted it before the stucco cured. The food was okay but not as good as the RIU Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Overall it's the nicest RIU in the location. Excellent beach. Smaller restaurants and limited options. Limited nightly entertainment was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Huge Riu fan
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 20, 2013

Much needed getaway

Great place. The food is good but doesn't have too much seasoning. The floors/tile around the property get very slippery when wet. The staff is amazing...we were able to change rooms per our request when we had trouble sleeping due to noisy neighbors. The property is clean and well kept. The selection of liquor for drinks is great and the drinks are made well. The activities and shows offered are enough to keep you occupied. And the beach is beautiful and relaxing. It is pricey. However, I definitely will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Specialk211
Couples
Atlanta, Ga
May 16, 2013

Ruin Palace Bavarois

The room had a musty smell which caused me a sinus infection by the time I arrived home. The staff is attentive but in respect to receiving a tip, if you don't give one it is hard to get good service. The pools closed at 6pm, which is early. The floor was only cleaned twice itch a 6 day stay. The advertisement stated that, staying here you would be able to venture into the other 4Riu hotels, which was denied when we tried to. I have stayed at the Riu in the Bahamas, which were excellent, this did not even come close. The food was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants are okay and you can make up to 3 reservation at one time. The Italian was the best.

Back to menu Return to top