$251 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ysmelda M.
Business
Bronx
Mar 10, 2015

Awesome family trip

One of our top vacation spots with our friends thus far! Below are more details in the various categories. Rooms: We had a swim up suite and it was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LENA FISHKA
Business
NEW YORK
Jan 18, 2014

VERY GOOD RESORT, MINOR ISSUES

THIS IS A VERY GOOD RESORT. WE WERE VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE HOTEL, ROOMS, FOOD AND SERVICE. HOWEVER, MINOR SUGGESTIONS - HAVING MORE BATHROOMS ON THE GROUNDS AND CLOSER TO THE BEACH AND POOL / BAR AREA WOULD BE NICE; PLEASE REPLACE THESE HORRIBLE PILLOWS; PLEASE INSTALL A STAIRCASE OR AN ELEVATOR SHAFT IN THE WING OF THE MAIN RESTAURANT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viaje
Business
Gloucester, MA
Jan 20, 2014

RIU Palace Bavaro January 2014

Going to a resort like this is not an adventure, however, if you are looking for R & R, you can't beat it. The food was much better than some of the other resorts, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was super, staff friendly, and everything was very clean. Gorgeous weather and miles and miles of beach to walk on made it a super break from a cold and snowy winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jay36
Business
new jersey
Feb 1, 2014

awesome family vacation

The hotel lobby was impressive and overall the rooms were nice. The grounds were very well maintained and pools were nice. The service was good and there was no expectation of a tip as I had read in some reviews. Language was a small issue since not every staff member speaks english - however staff was making good effort to understand and explain things. A small tip can go a long way to get attention and good service. They were encouraging people to join for the events during the day and after dinner. Food choice was impressive but living in newyork area spoils you and expectations go up. One could get bored with food before the week is over. The 4 restaurants besides the buffet are decent enough but nothing to write about. Booking opens at 8 AM an d can be done for 3 nights in advance. If you get a room around the entertainment area and have kids, it is better to switch to a different wing since the loud music won't stop till mid night. Don't expect lot of quality booze. You can find Jack Daniels in the lobby bar and Stoli vodka in the sports bar. Rest all liquor is mostly local and it tastes fine with cocktails. The only beer offered is Presidente - its like a pilsner. The beach is nice but bavaro is not the calm waters of Caribbean - the Atlantic makes it choppy - so if you have young kids it is better to be watchful. the excursion to saona island is a must do - the catamaran ride and speed boats are lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

you can bargain for excursions and get 1/2 off for kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss beach escape
Business
New York
Feb 12, 2014

Winter Escape

Wonderful winter escape to beautiful white sand beaches and blue water! The RIU Bavaro provides a friendly staff. We were upgraded to VIP at no additional cost. Although the food was average and it took a couple of days for the room refrigerator to get cold, the trip was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Molly Super Team
Business
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2014

Great getaway, lousy smells

My girlfriend and I traveled to the Dominican Republic for a winter getaway. Overall, we were happy with our stay at RIU Palace Bavaro. The staff was accommodating. We checked in an hour early and our room was ready. However, we were greeted with a bizarre sewage/sulfur odor in the hallway. Thankfully, it dissipated quickly and I only smelled it a couple times. The room had a colorful open concept design. The balcony was a big plus and was overlooking a peaceful sandy lounge area. The WiFi was slow, but it was nice to disconnect from the world for a few days. The weather was amazing!! Blue water and beautiful palm tree laden beaches. Plenty of lounge chairs. The food was good. We enjoyed the selection at the Montecristo Buffet. The grouper was our favorite fish. Our favorite speciality restaurant was Krystal. Overall, we had a good time and the weather was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe1 from New York
Business
new york
Mar 26, 2014

Good relaxing vocation

Hotel is perfect. Food excellent, everything is fresh and just prepared. it is good hotel for any age. Bar services are very good. Staff is very polite and friendly. The only, on the evening entertainment programs, some members of staff behaved somewhat importunately and tactless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent RIU Fans
Business
richmond, va
Jan 15, 2012

New RIU Palace in Punta Cana

We are frequent Caribbean RIU Palace Customers and found this new look quite different. The old wood classical motif is gone and replaced by a modern straight line design. The lobby is a bit much but the room becomes comfortable once you spend a few days. The bath is part of the room but the shower is very large and we just never wanted to leave it. The in-room jetted tub is fun and was filled with bubbles and rose petals our last evening. Nice touch. Food was the typical RIU Palace restaurants but they were a bit more flexible in timing of reservations and service. Entertainment was very good. Veronica stands out and makes every day fun. She is a professional and talented. Ocean - wonderful. No more to say there. Just perfect. 24 hour sports bar very nice. need to pay for pool tables and games but still lots of fun. Late nights, early morning, bottles of Presidente and great coffee and cappuciono. Service and atmosphere of fun are in general excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyly
Business
Lake Orion, MI
Jan 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel

We loved that the hotel was brand new and the rooms were excellent. The only downside was there wasn't too much in terms of lively entertainment on the hotel grounds. Also, no food available after 10p.m. especially if you want something to eat after you've had a few drinks. The room service menu selection was awful. They might as well not even offer room service. But overall, we had a very relaxing time. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sloan Dear
Business
Michigan, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good Place

RIU's do a good job, the stafff is very friendly and always helpfull, however we had NO PROBLEMS, we did hear of another couple getting there room double booked, but it was taking care of, I did not care for the 2 twin beds pushed together to make our " king bed" but the rooms were new and nice, my only complaint was honestly the food, it was 4/5 rating, maybe it was because we were there for 6 days, you just get sick of eating, breakfast and lunch were always good 5/5, but dinner, I was sick of the food, and lacked interests the more nights we were there, im confortable with eating most foods, they could of provided more options, I woke up early and made resturant reservations, so you snooze you lose! we had no problems and ate at 3 of the 4, the resturant food was great, each food experience for the most part had excellant service, troubles only came when some staff members spoke no english,that was fustrating but we got by fine, the best part was the bars, lots of drinks, and they will make whatever you want with how much you want,very good, the pools we found 3,were all very clean and nice,and service poolside was good, beach was nice, shows were good each night (they try), the main lobby smells nasty,almost moldy or musty, no other part of the hotel was that that, you had acess to the other RIUs, one had a casino,its no vegas,but it was cute, shops were on the resort expensive but walk down the beach, and there is a ton of shops for cheap, we made transportation through online when we booked,the same guy is in charge of the excursions and any info you need and he was there everyday, that was very helpful, the excursions were awsome,it is scary to leave the resort,but there pretty organized, I would never go off the resort alone, it is scary,no traffic signals,people drive crazy! overall I would go back if I had too, Id only stay at the new one (riu palace bavaro) though,be/c the others are junky compared to them, nice trip,nice hotel, decent food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shops on the resorts are very expensive, walk down the beach to the right, its about a 10 min walk and you will see a ton of cheap shops (on the beach) you can barter at with the people, they even let us take the cigers back to the room without any money be/c they knew we would come back

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top