$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinki
South Dakota
Dec 18, 2012

Great time in DR!

We stayed at the Riu bavaro palace for a week and loved it. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We needed to change rooms to a closer one since I had just had surgery and couldn't walk that far and they moved us with no problems. Decor is very pleasing. Beach is beautiful. Shows are ok to watch have seen better in Riviera but they work hard to put on a performance. Only negative thing was wind every day except one during our stay, think that is a norm for them. The food was excellent all the time, two buffets and the specialty restaurants. We only ate at the Japanese one it was just ok. The drinks were good also and the bartenders especially down at the pool were very generous with the alcohol. Didn't go to the disco but heard from others it was sketchy , outside people can go there to and they charge you for the drinks. If you like to sight-see there is not much to do there, a few excursions to an island and zip-lining, not much for shopping they took us to a high end mall Palma villa which we did not want to go to, we wanted an authentic shopping village which we found later after hiring a taxi to get back to hotel because they left us there and we didn't want to wait hours to be picked back up. There are shops lined down a street by the hotel probably best prices of anywhere. Don't go to shops on the beach unless you like to be hounded relentlessly, we are used to bartering down in Cancun riviera but these guys are awful to deal with I was ready to leave immediately. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask taxi to take you to old shopping area not Palma villa which is modern new york type of stores.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn born Navy girl
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2014

I will be back for sure

My trip started off rough. The first day after a long flight i arrived at the resort and was informed at check in that they overbooked the hotel. As you cam imagine i was ticked offf. After a lot of back and fourth they put me in a xab to the resort next door (Macao). The staff and room was pretty good but not what i paid for. The next day i packed ip and went back next door by cab. The hotel gave me a better view which i was pleased with. The food was great, the staff was friendly and warm, the pool and beach location was awesome. Overall we had a great trip. They lost a star for overbooking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book travel online or with a agent to the hotel. A can ride was 40 dollars.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hey Rambo
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 27, 2014

Was everything that was advertised

Hotel and ocean were everything that you see in the photos. Weather is fantastic. Food was pretty good, make sure to get to Buffett when it opens for fresh food. Remember to bring pants or you will not be able to get into the 5 star resteraunts,which are very good. Luckily for me the bell hop at the front desk got me a pair of hotel staff pants to wear. Most staff, not all, do not speak much English and will pretty much ignore you after saying a couple words. The room was great, but we did see 1 cockroach run across the floor on the last night of our stay. The villas are a must for couples. You will get a private adult only pool and swim up bar. May not be able to get hot water for shower or jaqussi tub at night. The main pool is overly crowded and has lots of children. If you smell sewage at certain parts of the resort, it is because they are watering the grass with sewage water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Price everything at your hotel gift shop before shopping. Most local shops will actually try to charge you more than the gift shop.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Not impressed

My fiancé and I were considering getting married here next year. THAT'S NOT HAPPENING HERE... The food was mediocre at best, the jacuzzi suite had two jacuzzi's in them that don't work and the staff were jerks with few exceptions. I don't ask for much, just what I pay for... I don't believe I received my money's worth..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chetez
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2014

5 star

This resort truly defines 5 stars. From the staff to the hotel itself, I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JLP17
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 11, 2014

Decline in quality and poor management...

The quality of the room and room sevice has declined compared to our stay last year in July. The minibar was not functioning nor did it get stocked up. There were no bottles of water in the room or in the dining areas. To get one, you had to go to the front desk. No welcome drinks. Maid came in to room without being authorized twice at odd hours of the evening. It did not leave me feeling secure and I had to ask the supervisor to not let anyone come into the room without someone being in there. 15 hangers were scattered on the bed without request. The maid had left them in error. We notified the front desk and they never came to pick them up. I had to put it in front of the door outside. The ACs are not working properly. The quality of food has declined- same menu everyday. No bacon, mangu, shrimps, lobster, etc. The day there was bacon it was extremely undercooked. I spoke with the manager and conveyed the inconveniences I experienced. He gave me the runaround and did not seem interested in what I had to say. It's unfortunate because the staff is friendly but management does not cater to guests. Will not return or recommend to anyone. There are other better resorts in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Floridatravel2014
Business
Florida
Jun 7, 2014

DO NOT GO FOR THE FOOD

OK! so this may sound like a contradictory review but I will do my best to describe my experience and hopefully provide you with some assistance in your decision. The hotel it self is not bad--- nice beach, pools, clean overall, modern looking, blah blah blah. The food was really bad... This was my 3rd time staying at an ALL inclusive and trust me by no means was I expecting a five star meal, but I must say that it was closer to horrible than it was to average! Whatever you do .... DO NOT go there for the food!!!!!!!!! We actually had to go to the Hard Rock the last night we were there because we wanted a decent meal! The staff is hit and miss... We either had extremely nice and polite workers or you had HORRIBLE employees that were not helpful or nice at ALL. It sometimes felt like they were doing us a favor by re filling our cups with water! The rooms are ok nice and modern looking. IF YOU DO NOT TIP YOU WILL MOST LIKELY NOT GET MUCH OF A SERVICE---this is understandable though, they don't make a lot of money and were ok with that. The one thing that I will say was AMAZINNNNGGGG and extremely well put together was the ENTERTAINMENT Their entertainment staff works night and day and puts on the best SHOWS ever! Unbelievably hard working genuinely nice people. Would I go back???? may be>>>> This is why I said this review would be contradictory! I just would not go back for the food! THE ONLY THING GOOD TO EAT ARE THEIR NACHOS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

AMAZING ENTERTAINMENT!!! THE BEST I"VE YET SEEN at an all inclusive!

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inka28
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 3, 2014

Beautiful

Everything was great. Clean sheets. Entertainment was exceptional. Service was well mannered and professional. Would definitely recommend and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riu Traveler
Business
Ohio
Jun 2, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

Beach was perfect. Pool was very nice. Only one type of beer and no light beer. Rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Private transfer is the way to go.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigdave1331
Business
Maine
May 27, 2014

This is not the first RIU that we've stayed in, but it may be our last.

Pro's Nice beach and pools. The resort is in safe location that is 25 minutes away from the airport. The staff over all were pleasant and did what they could to accommodate you. Con's The food and the entertainment staff were horrible. I requested 2 extra pillows and blankets. In order for that to happen, I had to place different request. The reason for this request was, because of the bed was very hard. The "stocked refrigerator gets restocked every two days. That's fine except for the fact that they only supply you with four Pepsis to be spilt between two people. I personally drink two or more a day. I had to place three request in order to get the refrigerator restocked. This resort if very large. Unless you book a ocean view room, plan on walking a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The entertainment staff and nightly shows are a joke. Unless you want to watch the entertainment staff perform their stupid dance over and over again, you may want to make other plans.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marceloc2
Business
Boston
May 7, 2014

Higly Recommended

Great experience, great food, crew, cleanness. I would come back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top