RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muscogee
Fairburn, GA
Feb 19, 2013

MY SUNNY GETAWAY!

The hotel is full of staff members that are pleasant and ready to assist in any issue or service that may arise. I would recommend the RIU Bavaro in Punta Cana to any company or family on vacation. One side note is the sister RIu hotels you may use to do lunch and other activities you just cannot use the RIU Macao because it is COUPLES ONLY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jrzygrl
Business
Northeast PA
Aug 15, 2014

Wonderful Family Vacation

We had a wonderful time. Everything was very clean, the staff was very friendly, there was plenty of food and there were many activities if you wanted to participate. The entertainment guys - Sexy Coco, Sexy Bobo and Little Miguel were a blast! As a family, we enjoyed the Cafe every evening after dinner. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. They really made you feel welcome. The restaurant, cafe and bar staff were also very nice, friendly and helpful. No problem with mosquitoes while on the resort grounds. The only thing I would have improved on was the amount of equipment in the gym. They need more cardio equipment and more variation of free weights. 8 and 11 lbs weights just doesn't work for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

3 tips: If you go to the nightly shows, get there early for a good seat. If you leave the resort for an excursion, use insect repellent before you leave the resort. The seaweed can be annoying...more of it during high tide, less with low tide. Bring hydrocortisone cream as the seaweed can give you a little rash if you handle it too much (my son played with it a little too much)

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn born Navy girl
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2014

I will be back for sure

My trip started off rough. The first day after a long flight i arrived at the resort and was informed at check in that they overbooked the hotel. As you cam imagine i was ticked offf. After a lot of back and fourth they put me in a xab to the resort next door (Macao). The staff and room was pretty good but not what i paid for. The next day i packed ip and went back next door by cab. The hotel gave me a better view which i was pleased with. The food was great, the staff was friendly and warm, the pool and beach location was awesome. Overall we had a great trip. They lost a star for overbooking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book travel online or with a agent to the hotel. A can ride was 40 dollars.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hey Rambo
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 27, 2014

Was everything that was advertised

Hotel and ocean were everything that you see in the photos. Weather is fantastic. Food was pretty good, make sure to get to Buffett when it opens for fresh food. Remember to bring pants or you will not be able to get into the 5 star resteraunts,which are very good. Luckily for me the bell hop at the front desk got me a pair of hotel staff pants to wear. Most staff, not all, do not speak much English and will pretty much ignore you after saying a couple words. The room was great, but we did see 1 cockroach run across the floor on the last night of our stay. The villas are a must for couples. You will get a private adult only pool and swim up bar. May not be able to get hot water for shower or jaqussi tub at night. The main pool is overly crowded and has lots of children. If you smell sewage at certain parts of the resort, it is because they are watering the grass with sewage water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Price everything at your hotel gift shop before shopping. Most local shops will actually try to charge you more than the gift shop.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Not impressed

My fiancé and I were considering getting married here next year. THAT'S NOT HAPPENING HERE... The food was mediocre at best, the jacuzzi suite had two jacuzzi's in them that don't work and the staff were jerks with few exceptions. I don't ask for much, just what I pay for... I don't believe I received my money's worth..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chetez
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2014

5 star

This resort truly defines 5 stars. From the staff to the hotel itself, I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sauce
Business
RIU Palce Bavaro, Punta Cana DR
Jul 12, 2014

5 night stay

Went with 2 other couples. Had a great time. Hotel was clean, staff was excellent, and location was great. Food could have been a little better. Ocean was choppy and had seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tip the staff.

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JLP17
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 11, 2014

Decline in quality and poor management...

The quality of the room and room sevice has declined compared to our stay last year in July. The minibar was not functioning nor did it get stocked up. There were no bottles of water in the room or in the dining areas. To get one, you had to go to the front desk. No welcome drinks. Maid came in to room without being authorized twice at odd hours of the evening. It did not leave me feeling secure and I had to ask the supervisor to not let anyone come into the room without someone being in there. 15 hangers were scattered on the bed without request. The maid had left them in error. We notified the front desk and they never came to pick them up. I had to put it in front of the door outside. The ACs are not working properly. The quality of food has declined- same menu everyday. No bacon, mangu, shrimps, lobster, etc. The day there was bacon it was extremely undercooked. I spoke with the manager and conveyed the inconveniences I experienced. He gave me the runaround and did not seem interested in what I had to say. It's unfortunate because the staff is friendly but management does not cater to guests. Will not return or recommend to anyone. There are other better resorts in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Floridatravel2014
Business
Florida
Jun 7, 2014

DO NOT GO FOR THE FOOD

OK! so this may sound like a contradictory review but I will do my best to describe my experience and hopefully provide you with some assistance in your decision. The hotel it self is not bad--- nice beach, pools, clean overall, modern looking, blah blah blah. The food was really bad... This was my 3rd time staying at an ALL inclusive and trust me by no means was I expecting a five star meal, but I must say that it was closer to horrible than it was to average! Whatever you do .... DO NOT go there for the food!!!!!!!!! We actually had to go to the Hard Rock the last night we were there because we wanted a decent meal! The staff is hit and miss... We either had extremely nice and polite workers or you had HORRIBLE employees that were not helpful or nice at ALL. It sometimes felt like they were doing us a favor by re filling our cups with water! The rooms are ok nice and modern looking. IF YOU DO NOT TIP YOU WILL MOST LIKELY NOT GET MUCH OF A SERVICE---this is understandable though, they don't make a lot of money and were ok with that. The one thing that I will say was AMAZINNNNGGGG and extremely well put together was the ENTERTAINMENT Their entertainment staff works night and day and puts on the best SHOWS ever! Unbelievably hard working genuinely nice people. Would I go back???? may be>>>> This is why I said this review would be contradictory! I just would not go back for the food! THE ONLY THING GOOD TO EAT ARE THEIR NACHOS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

AMAZING ENTERTAINMENT!!! THE BEST I"VE YET SEEN at an all inclusive!

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inka28
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 3, 2014

Beautiful

Everything was great. Clean sheets. Entertainment was exceptional. Service was well mannered and professional. Would definitely recommend and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Bavaro -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riu Traveler
Business
Ohio
Jun 2, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

Beach was perfect. Pool was very nice. Only one type of beer and no light beer. Rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Private transfer is the way to go.

Back to menu Return to top