$337 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cocoa Travels
Business
Niantic, CT
Feb 2, 2014

Do book this for the food.

I just returned from the P resort after being there a week. The hotel is gorgeous, the grounds are nearly immaculate. The staff is warm and welcoming and available to help you. Most speak enough English to understand you or they bring you to someone who does. DON'T fall for the staff telling you that you are getting a VIP package because you booked through Orb**z. Booking through Orb**z didn't get me VIP anything.... They identify you by who you booked through so they can assign someone to sell you the timeshare the next day. Don't think you will skirt them by not being at your room when they knock, they stop you at breakfast... Yes, I got snagged. I DID not buy or listen to the presentation. Once I told him firmly I had no intention of buying or listening he left me alone. I felt bad, but hey..I was on vacation. The restaurants are good, a limited on menu items but you can always find something. The buffet is ok. Some things were constant, everyday. A lot of things required so much pepper to give it flavor and to also offset the salt. I was bloated like a tick by the end of the week. Drink a lot of bottled water to flush yourself out. It will also help with the Dominican diarrhea most get. At dinner they had a small room that had bread items in it, in the morning there were donuts and muffins. NOTHING stays fresh out in the open air so it is all stale, don't bother. One night while entering the buffet I saw extra large shrimp, halved lobsters and huge Alaskan king crab legs displayed all steamed. I thought I hit the lotto. I tried all of it,. The best was the king crab legs. The lobster and the shrimp were very mushy and pasty in most of what I had. I didn't go back for seconds on that. It is very hard to even get a true salad if that is all you really want. There is no dressing per se. You can do olive oil and vinegar but you will find NO other choices. There are slices of meats and some cheeses which were good. Drinks were good, no complaints. I would give the beaches a 10. The water was clear and so warm, even in January. Surf can get rough so leave the glasses back at the towel, we lost a $400 pair. As far as excursions go stay away from the buggy excursion. They looked like four wheeled dune buggies that went to some falls and for a ride to the beach with a couple of other stops. These "buggies" were such pieces of junk and we would ride an average of ten minutes before they would have us somewhere where a local was trying to peddle something. The cave swim was for 30 seconds. You got there and waited in a long line down steep stairs to have them let you jump in the crystal clear cool water in the cave and then told you to get out and said, "next..." What a disappointment. We waited for the others while the locals peddled people stuff. We visited a real Dominican school, they lack simple supplies such as paper and pens, chalk, pencils. I always bring some down there when I go. There is also a "donations" jar. Some left money. I still think I would return to DR but in my opinion there are so many other places to visit I have not been I think I may try Costa Rica or just go back to Mexico at some point. If you have not been to DR do go, the beaches are better than Mexico at least on the Yucatan peninsula near Cancun/Riviera Maya area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book near the pool/buffets. Book in The Reserve, the food is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berta S
Business
Fargo, ND
Jan 10, 2014

Paradisus is Paradise

This was our second visit to Paradisus in two years. We had the most wonderful vacation. There were 6 of us and we all agree, there is no reason to go anywhere else. We spoke with others who were on their first visit ever. They had been to several other resorts in other countries and said Paradisus was far superior. I think the landscaping of the resort is one thing that sets the resort apart from others. It is the little extra touches that make such a beautiful difference. I would never go back to Cancun when we can come here. The beach is the best along the strip. We walked several miles a day along the beach line. The staff is great Juan and Julio in the Casino bar were the favorites. We were excited to see Juan because he was working there 2 years ago. We will be back again to enjoy another week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We never left the resort. The food at the resort was good. The beef is way better than we have in the states.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maceman
Business
Berlin, Ct.
Dec 29, 2013

Wedding Trip.

My daughter picked this resort for her wedding. The wedding itself was very nice, and the staff was great. Coming down from the Northeast in December and missing two snowstorms was worth the price! The staff at the resort were very attentive. The problem we ran into was making reservations at the seven restaurants on the grounds. It was difficult getting seatings. The food was fair at best. Not very accommodating in this area. Great place to have a few drinks and lay in the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is standard resort food. Nothing to get excited about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whelmed
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 27, 2013

A bit of a let down

When booking All-Inclusive vacations, I expect a hassle free vacation. We opted with the Reserve section for the access to the extra pool, dedicated beach section, and 2 additional restaurants. We had a 3/5 time, but we probably wouldn't go back. I imagine shelling out the extra for the Royal package would have solved many of the annoyances we faced. For the price, I wish we had gone back to Ocho Rios or the Mayan Rivera. We did an excursion with dune buggies and zip lining that was good but pricey. Cons: Bigger language barrier than I expected. This was worst on the phone and less with bartenders, concierges, and waiters. Make sure you clarify everything someone tells you, especially when leaving the property. The shuttles are not always clearly labelled, and it's not unheard of to get on the wrong bus because the drivers aren't always careful. The dinner reservation process was archaic. The reservation hotline opens at 9AM. Call early! (why there's isn't a computer/TV/phone app process by now, i don't know). You are lucky if 1) the language barrier isn't prohibitive, 2) you are on hold for less than 5 min, or 3) you actually get the restaurant and/or time you want (and we only had 2 people). Thankfully we stayed in The Reserve, and the concierge was able to navigate the telephone process, but it still took constant reminding and pestering to avoid eating at the same restaurant each night. If you are on your own, get the name of the person confirming the reservation. Even if you have a concierge, I suggest you take a picture of your confirmed times/locations for evidence as the check-in at the restaurants isn't exactly smooth either. I imagine the Royal package would help with this issue, as there is additional priority and a private butler who probably wouldn't take "No" from the guy on the other end of the line. Beach and Pool access: Reserve your chairs EARLY with a towel and a "personal item" like a bottle of water, old t-shirt, tanning lotion, ect. They go quickly, meaning they get reserved and sit empty most of the day. I think the concierge can help with a formal reservation of a cabana at the beach or the pool, but we didn't bother looking into it, rather we (like others did to us - even when gone for 15 min to grab some food) became bold and reclaimed chairs from idle towels. Buffet food seemed to be left over from prior meals, was usually cold, and looked better than it tasted The "trolly" - a couple of long golf carts that ride around to different stops around the property. These come around usually less than every 10 min, but while you wait, you will see 3-5 empty smaller golf carts that won't stop to give you a ride. Expect to go to the bar yourself when at the pool/beach. Once in a blue moon they would send a waiter around, but they were slow when they did. Cashing out at the small/basic casino was pretty slow. PROs: Beautiful grounds throughout the resort. The weather in December was heavenly. When the forecast called for rain (like it did everyday), that meant it would rain for 5 min. Night time shows were better than I've seen at comparable resorts Safe Mole - as in guacamole - best restaurant we found Alcohol selection with attentive bartenders. The best night time bar was the North Ave bar at the main lobby. Rooms were large Family friendly (plenty of kids around-I saw they had a kid zone with a pool and daycare activities) Bell hops at the Reserve were fantastic. They were prompt, insisted on carrying suitcases up/down 1-2 flights of stairs, helped hail down the right bus if you take an excursion, and they NEVER do that awkward pause looking for a tip (nor did anyone else).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandraLV
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 17, 2013

***AMAZING!!!****

This beauty is just paradise . Me and my fiancé went for seven days and we had a blast. We stayed in the luxury junior suite and it was just perfect for us. The room was spacious and just enough for us. Very clean as well. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. They take of the property like no other. Our room was 2 min away from the beach which was just perfect. The restaurants are amazing. We ate at almost every single one of them. Alexandra from the VIP services arranged a romantic dinner for us in La Palapa and it was six courses. It was more than enough. We also had to try Passions, very classy upscale and just wonderful. We had a nine course dinner a bottle of wine and I can not express enough of how good everything was. Service is top notch. Charles from Passions was so amazing and his service deserves a raise!!!! Service in this entire place was beyond wonderful. I work in a hotel industry and I know what good service is, and they definitely got it. I do not understand what you people are complaining about! Your on vacation, relax and enjoy ur self! Leonardo, Alexandra, Ramirez, just to name a few people made our stay even more perfect. We will definitely be back here !!!! LOVE LOVE THE PARADISUS!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Passions, $45 per person, but they serve a tasting menu. It will not disappoint!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2 plus a baby
Business
New York
Dec 14, 2013

Excellent Value

We had a great time at Paradisus. We spent 3 nights at the regular resort and 4 nights at the Reserve. The main part of the resort was built in 1994, but has been renovated since. Standard suites are not bad, basically large cruise ship rooms. The Reserve was built in 2011 and it shows. The rooms are modern and have many details that make you feel at home. We used $400 from the $1500 promotional package to upgrade. Cost to upgrade is $60 / person / night, so for $80 net we purchased an amazing experience. The Reserve is not as close to the beach as the rest of the resort, but it's only a 7 minute walk away. All the grounds are immaculate, so you always feel like you are walking through a garden in paradise. Had no issues with the food (just don't drink the water from the sink!). The restaurants are very good, even for foodies. On the way to the airport we passed a couple of other resorts and felt that Paradisus has a much more luxurious feel. Great price, great experience. P.S We came with a 5 month old and found the experience to be very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aimless traveler
Business
The District
Nov 30, 2013

10th wedding anniversary getaway

We wanted a nice 4 stars all-inclusive resort for our 10th anniversary wedding during Thanksgiving week. We gambled with the end of the hurricane season and it paid off. The weather was perfect, the sand and water was pristine as well. We got the room upgraded to VIP because we stayed more than 4 nights, it was a great upgrade and worth it to stay longer. Ours was 7 days and 6 nights. The room (it is more an apartment with living room and private backyard with canopy) is very close to the beach, 1 min walk, and near all restaurants and bars as well. The mattress is so plush and we always looking forward to spend the night everyday. The bathroom and shower is so huge, it holds 2 person with 2 showers on both end, very neat. The room is very clean everyday, sometime they did not refill the bar but that's ok... We are drinking too much during the day and evening... The food is something I must admit it need more work, especially for breakfast and lunch buffets. The dinner a la carte are very nice, large selection of wines (not inclusive but we got $50 voucher...), cheapest California Cabaret Sauvignon is $29.00 but perfect. The wine average is $50.00 Not bad considering. The beach chairs are very nice, well maintained, some are a little worn. We used 'mattress' chair everyday but we had to wake up 7AM to reserve it. Remote from everything, nothing to visit around except tours... We did not bother with the guided expeditions, all we wanted is to chill out on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnnie E
Business
New York
Nov 26, 2013

Awesome

Great experience can't wait to go back. It open my eyes to awhole new experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My heart punta Cana
Business
Riverside, California
Nov 14, 2013

Loved every minute of it!!!

This hotel was amazing!! The grounds are gorgeous, the beautiful beach was less than 1 min from our room, & the food was great. The staff really caters to your every need. They go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable & enjoying your stay. All inclusive is the way to go!! We ordered room service., Had great dinners (especially an entertaining one at the Bana)., The nightly shows & live bands with dancing was so much fun!, We also went sailing at the resort. ALL THIS without paying any additional fees. Would highly recommend it!! Had a blast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caribean Travelers
Business
New York
Nov 11, 2013

Agrivating Vacation

Paid for Royal Service and received second class service... Butler was horrible and never around. Air Conditioning in rooms did not work so they gave us a fan and the TV did not work, rooms were damp from humidity, Filed complaints everyday, they promised to take care of issues but nothing was done to satisfy our request. In comparison to Mexico, Bahamas, Aruba, St. Martin, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Florida Keys we found this vacation to be bottom of the list. On a positive note, the beach and pool was nice and the service at these locations was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top