$442 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas de Bavaro, Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmps
Business
Punta Cana
Dec 2, 2012

overpriced but beautiful location

The room was nice but not amazing. We did not like the food at all - cafeteria food at best. The staff was nice but not speedy. The beach was beautiful. They did a good job keeping in clean. It was a nice vacation but the value of the trip did not come close to the cost. We overpaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hollywood man
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Jan 21, 2013

Not what I Expected

The hotel was beautiful and the staff very helpful. However, they had internet problems throughout the hotel area and I did not have access in my room the two days I was there. They kept telling me that it would be resolved and that they would call me but the call never came and in the end they told me that it could not be fixed at the moment. Very disappointed because I really needed to use the internet and I know that others guests were in the same situation. Another weakness about this resort is the quality of the food. The food was average and nothing to talk about. With this type of service, I'm not sure it is worth what one is paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dfowl
Business
Durham, NC
Feb 18, 2013

Romantic getaway

The resort itself and amenities were great - as we had hoped. Food was reasonable for what you would expect at an all-inclusive resort. The biggest issue was our check-in, we had booked a 4 night package. When we attempted to check-in - they first "offered" us an "upgrade" to their lower-rated sister resort w/ "royal service" for 2 nights, followed by a transfer back to the main resort w/ the "royal service" for the final 2 nights. When I explained we were not interested and just preferred the package we booked at the better resort - they then tried to explain they didn't have enough rooms to accomodate us and we HAD to stay at the other resort for the first 2 nights (they made multiple excuses to include the snow-storm in the northeast which had been an entire week prior). After some drama, debate, and posturing - they finally "agreed" to make a room available to us for all four nights...but it definitely started the trip out on the wrong foot. Had it not been for this occurence - we probably would have rated the experience higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
demetree
Business
Puerto Rico
Nov 25, 2010

Paradisus Palma Real Resort

The service and the food were not as good as expected considering its price. We hated their constant efforts to sell us their time share and excursions. Our first room was dirty and the air conditioner was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Aug 11, 2010

pretty place

the place was very clean. nice pools, bars, and music at night. very hard to get a reservation in a restaurant. they sad it was all booked,you go there it's 85% empty. got there on time still waited 45min, and noone in rest. food in rest. average. Food in hibachi give the 4 of us bad stomache . Buffet average.Don't go offsight, uwon't feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Feb 28, 2011

Paradisus Palma Real

Hotels physical plant is lovely and well maintained. Food is average, not enough local fare, buffet is the same every day. Service is poor and inconsistent. While the reception area is very helpful, in the other parts of the hotel I found that while the staff was very nice and helpful they did not seem to understand what is required of service that you would expect from a 4 diamond resort. Others were quite rude and impatient. Our reservations for dinner were often incorrect resulting in the family having to wait a long time for dinner. At one of the restaruants that was for club members, dinner took a very long time to prepare despite the fact that the restaruant was empty. Overall I feel the hotel needs to improve its dining experience for all. There were often not enough towels for guests There was constant pressure to buy the vacation club which would have been a good deal if the service were impeccable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would say the food was just average

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zung
Business
Toronto, ON
Nov 25, 2010

Watch out for your Belongigngs!

We chose this resort because our freinds were getting married. Esthetically, it is a beautiful hotel. The Food was slightly above average for Punta Cana but still could use some improvment and a WHOLE lot less salt!. The beach was great but the sea was terrible. Rough and filled with weed. It is possible that Storm Tomas and the timing was the reason for this. The one thing I should mention is be careful with your belongings! My sun glasses were stolen from right next to me. I had left them next to the V-Ball area and everyone playing was sure they were stolen by an employee. I was pretty sure too. When confronting the employee, he just put on a water works drama theatre scene. I didn't buy it. We all knew he took it but there was nothing I can prove. Our previous Carribean experience was Riu in Aruba. Hands down, Aruba is much much better. Weather, food and water. No comparison. Night life was minimal but a good trip nevertheless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your meds if you have blood pressure issues. The sodium in the food is super high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Dec 2, 2010

Tropical Vacation

The hotel, which is right on the beach, is large, spacious, modern, tropical and beautiful. We relaxed on the beach and near the pool almost the whole time. Night entertainment was great and the restaurants were classy. Though there were some good points there were also some pitfalls. We were a bit disappointed about being reminded by the employees that they work by commission and were often persuaded to attend a meeting regarding the hotel (timeshare purposes). The pool was too cold to enjoy and if you wanted to use the jacuzzi/hot tub you had to pay for a spa treatment. There are areas (pool, beach lounging, restaurants) in the hotel that is exclusively for certain guests (Royal Guest) which could make you feel left out. We paid for an Ocean View room and found out that the rooms have a "Partial View" which was barely seen through the palm trees. There were times while relaxing on the beach an Excursion Salesman will come up to us and try to sale us on one of the trips which was distracting. If you are looking for an all inclusive trip this resort is one of the best spots in D.R. but I have to say I have been to better ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends Wedding guest
Business
NY
Oct 26, 2009

good

We went on this vacation because we were attending a wedding. The resort is beautiful!!! The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are beautiful! The drinks were great. The staff tried very hard but was not knowledgable about their own hotel. I would ask the same question to 3 people and get 3 different answers. They are just very laid back. The pool could use some minor repairs- tiles falling off. The food was my biggest complaint. It was not very good. I hvae been to other all inclusive resorts, and this was one of the poorest food choices. The restaurants were empty with 2 tables full at each seating (this is off season), so when you sat down the atmosphere was poor. You feld like you were where no-one else wanted to be. They would only allow 2 tables at a time. Crazy!!! Room service was really good. Very friendly and decent food. Shows at night were okay. The circus show was great, but others were fairly boring. Not much night life at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf and Spa Resort - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 2, 2010

Semi-OK Getaway

The hotel was very scenic and beautiful. The main complaint I have about the trip was the quality of the food and drinks as well as the quality of the excursions. The Chocolate Mudlsides, Pina Coladas, and Strawberry Daiquiris all gave us some good diarrhea during this trip. My wife finally got her colon cleaned unintentionally and I felt a little uneasy after every mudslide so we changed it up to wine. The wines offerred were so-so. I have had better wine in the states and this is cheap under $15 a bottle wine I am talking about. They must have $5 wine because that is what it tasted like. During our visit there were various restaurants available - Bana (Tempayaki / Pan-Asian sections), Vento (Upscale Italian / Seafood), Passion (Romantic Style So-So Food), Naos Lunch Buffet, and Gabi Beach (Supposedly Prime Steaks, Seafood). The best restaurant was undoubtedly Bana where the tempayaki style cooking was very entertaining as well as delicious. The pan-asian section of the restaurant was OK food and the sushi side of the restaurant we did not try because it did not offer many sushi options. Vento was a semi-decent place to eat. The food there was semi good and we had a great time enjoying the atmosphere. Passion restaurant did have a "romantic" atmosphere but the food was average at best. Naos was the site of all of our lunches and breakfasts since none of the other restaurants were open during that time. Gabi Beach is the exclusive restaurant for The reserve guests - although we were able to dine there one night even though we stayed in the regular hotel with a partial ocean view suite (See hint section). The restaurant itself has semi-ok food but the open atmosphere - i.e. it is not closed off and the Dominican Summer Heat combined with the mosquitoes will make life a little interesting for you while you chow down on surf and turf. If you are going to do the excursions - please avoid doing the adventure boogies unless you specifically ask for an ATV. You will get drenched in sand from the Dominican Farms where all the animals pee and [*] on and the red clay will not wash off your clothes. That and there were a lot of puddles when we went so we were constantly getting wet and extremely dirty from every angle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you take a 3 hour tour of the Reserve Hotel on your first or second day they will offer you a complimentary night of dinner at Gabi Beach. We were pretty open to the tour of how you can purchase a time share so we went along and got our free pass at Gabi Beach. The actual time share doesn't seem like too good of a deal especially when you can get better vacation deals on [...]and other sites. Massages are expensive and not worth the money especially when you can get better ones in the U.S. for half off. If you do excursions you'll constantly run into people trying to sell you something. Overall, our time in Punta Cana was semi-relaxing but there are probably better vacation spots for the amount of money you spend - i.e. the Bahamas and US Virgin islands.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top