$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zzzxxx
Cleveland , ohio
Feb 11, 2014

Getaway

Hotel was great! Location was great! Great beach! Most of the staff very friendly! I would definitely stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorri loves travel
Couples
South Carolina
Feb 16, 2014

couples getaway

a week in paradise! The weather was perfect. We were actually "snowed in" for an extra day due to the bad weather in Atlanta, Ga. The hotel was able to put us up for an extra night, even though it was high season and very busy. The privilege upgrade was nice, but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

the Blue Moon had the steak dinner.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al and C
Couples
NJ
Feb 14, 2014

Great all inclusive but not fantastic for honeymoon

Went to ocean blue for our honeymoon in February. The staff is fantistic and the restaurants are great! The rooms are very clean and fairly modern except for the safe that didn't work. Its was my first time in the carribean and it was altogether a great experience. Many activities, we went parasailing and buggy riding. Few things could have made it better though. First the WiFi should be available in the rooms. I called before to advise we were on our honeymoon and didn't really get treated so. They keep trying to sell a sort of time share. The house wine (inclusive) is horrible unless you are a priveledge member. In conclusion we felt safe and comfortable at the resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erika R
Couples
Phila, PA
Feb 15, 2014

Break from snow

My BF and I had a nice stay at Ocean Blue, The staff were so friendly and seemed genuinely eager to please. Sometimes language barrier got in the way of the bantering. Of course, tipping helps. The weather was fantastic. Our room was building 9 with a pool view. Close to pool and beach, and just a short walk to buffet, restaurants and lobby. We needed the walk after all the food! The food was plentiful and varied. On par for all inclusive fare, not great, but good enough. We liked the Italian restaurant the best. No problem getting a table at any restaurant after 8:00 pm. Free internet in the lobby is spotty, and VERY SLOW. Plenty of chairs by the pool and beach. The shaded spots are snapped up early. The lounge chairs are a little uncomfortable, as they do not stay in the reclining position. (When sitting down, the back would go to max upright position.) Was nice to walk along the beach past other resorts, and there are some vendors selling art, jewelry, souvenirs, etc. Also have vendors offering parasailing, etc. Plentiful daily activities such as tennis, archery, dance lessons, beach volleyball. The timeshare salesmen try to engage you when they see you, but kindly take no for an answer. No harassing. The crowd was very international; mostly families and couples. Not a big party place. The teens we saw seemed to have fun at the teen club. Overall a beautiful, clean resort. Great to relax and unplug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi1122
Family
New York
Feb 17, 2014

Great time!

I was surprised at how nice this hotel was. The property is fairly large and the beach is very nice. The pool is huge, and has a bar within it which is always great. Beach - The beach is nice, but there are not enough shaded benches so you have to wake up very early to reserve a space if you don't want to stay in the sun all day. Sand is beautiful and water was very blue. There was some seaweed but it was cleaned up every morning by the staff, which was great. Food - Many food options. The hotel has about 4 free restaurants in addition to the buffet. We ate at only one, which was the steakhouse, and didn't have the best experience. The wait time was quite long and when we did finally get seated the staff was pretty rude and not very attentive. After that we ate at the buffet the rest of the trip as we always got a table quickly and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The food selection was great and every night it was a different theme. There were plenty of options and everything was delicious. We were very happy with the good. Also make sure to get some coffee in the coffee shop as it was very good quality coffee and this is all included in the package. Service - Overall the service was good, we only had a bad experience once and that was at the steak restaurant. Otherwise the staff was super friendly and spoke in many languages. Drinks - Not the BEST, but certainly good. Depending on which bar you would go to the drinks would always taste different, so it was a hit or miss, but for an all inclusive you always expect that. We have traveled to places where they had bottles of alcohol in the room, but this place didn't have that. You can only get drinks at the bars and most of them got pretty packed so you would have to wait for a while to get something. We noticed people traveling with large beer mugs, which was a great idea so you don't have to wait in line each time for a drink (their serving glasses are pretty small). Club - The club played surprisingly good music. The DJ played a large variety of music and it seemed to be more packed then clubs in other resorts we have visited. We didn't have a chance to see the shows as we traveled with a toddler and they tended to run pretty late (after 9pm) so she was always asleep by this time. The property is large so they have a tram driving around which assists people to get from one location to another if you don't want to walk. The hotel was very cute and we really enjoyed our stay. There are no elevators so if you have a stroller I would advise asking to stay on the first floor. The room is pretty large and has a balcony. Overall we would definitely go back there and also highly recommend it for the value of the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom209
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 24, 2014

Great Vacation

We were pleasantly surprised with our overall experience at this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean, the beach was perfect and pools were big. you never felt overcrowded. The staff was pleasant and constantly cared about your comfort. The food was good and there were many choices. We ate at 3 of the restaurants and were not disappointed. The buffet had so many choices it was hard not to over eat. The activities for the day were fun and we enjoyed the evening shows. This hotel really cared and it showed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red8062
Family
atco,nj
Feb 25, 2014

18th birthday party

nice, and get the upgrade room , as they are next to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeoFlav
Couples
Yonkers, NY
Mar 12, 2014

AMAZING!

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May of last year. It was my first time out of the country and the third time traveling to the Dominican republic for my boyfriend. I could not have been happier with my selection of this resort. The only thing I would not recommend is the Italian restaurant. The steak house was AMAZING as well as the french restaurant. My favorite part was the cafe! This resort is very CONVENIENT. You can walk around the entire resort and enjoy the views. I believe one night every weekend they throw a beach party where they will have a DJ, lights, and a fire. I couldn't have asked for a better first trip out of the country. However, I do not recommend upgrading. You receive about the same service and amenities as regular guest. Overall I would most definitely return and recommend this to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Special Mom Patty G
Family
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect Getaway from a Cold NY Winter

Anyone who is looking to escape a snowy, cold winter would love this resort. The swimming pools are gorgeous, the beach is extremely well maintained, and the ocean water is picture perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was fresh with a wide variety of choices, and the nightlife was fun for our family. The bed pillows and the bath towels need replacing, but those are really our only complaints. This was a wonderful spring break vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margma
Couples
Royal Oak, Michigan
Mar 18, 2014

Great Value

Had a great time. The hotel was beautiful!. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top