$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1HUSBAND
Couples
PEKIN IL
Feb 4, 2013

Anniversary Trip

The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. The beach and water are beautiful and you can walk for miles in each direction, which me and my wife enjoy to do. The food was better than other resorts we have stayed at. The steak house was the best of the restaurants. If you like coffee you have to go to MIKES we went 3 times daily. The two large pools were nice and big never felt crowded. The staff was friendly and helpful but there is a language barrier you will have to work with. Most of the staff know a few words of English and we were able to get what we wanted.We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

MAKE SUR YOU MAKE ALL YOUR RESTURANT RESERVATIONS THE DAY YOU ARRIVE

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose Nyland
Couples
Kindred, North Dakota
Feb 7, 2013

Our 30th Wedding Anniversary Present to each other!

Wonderful resort! Beautiful clean grounds and swimming pool areas. The staff is very friendly and made us feel special. Everyone always said "ola". The waiters were very kind and polite. The entertainment made it so fun, especially during the day hours around the pool. We especially give a shout out to "Willie Wonka". He is a hoot and is a class clown. Always made our day. Was fun watching the Super Bowl at the beach. It was a once in a lifetime to say we got to do that. Many people we met bragged about Ocean Blue being the nicest resort they have been too at the Dominican. So glad this was our first!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are a breakfast eater, the 1st morning I wasn't aware that the buffet closed by 10:30 am. There is Mike's Coffee shop that has pastries, but was to hard to hold me over until lunch! The buffet has a line for omelets, pancakes, smoothies. So go to those lines first if that is your preference. Is a safe bet to get there before 9 am.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J47B51
Couples
Mechanicsville, VA
Feb 12, 2013

First time get-away to an all-inclusive

PROS - We wanted a beautiful beach and beautiful weather - we got both. This was our first time to an all inclusive and were very impressed with the facility, which was truly a beautiful place, and the friendliness of the staff. I asked for a room by and facing the pool after being told I had a room away from the pool/beach and facing another resort (trees). My request was honored within the hour. Buffet Food was OK - Restaurants were better. CONS The entertainment C- If your looking for first class entertainment look elsewhere. Bottom line - I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shows need help.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Getaway
Single
Seattle, WA
Feb 18, 2013

Beach Getaway

Ocean Blue was a great place to stay. The hotel staff was very friendly. I'm a female solo traveler and felt completely safe. There was no shortage of hotel sponsored activities. There's a jogging/walking trail. Plus the lobby is filled with excersion companies. I went on the snorkeling trip one day and had a great time. There's nighly shows - changing every night - that were entertaining. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pools were clean and plenty of chairs. The beach area also had plenty of chairs. Plus there are umbrellas, so you can hide out if you've had too much sun. I'd gotten a rental car, but didn't need it. There are plenty of transportation options to get to and from the airport. I drove to a shopping center one day, but the front desk said there are buses that transport traveler there on a schedule. In the mornings, I saw buses for the excersion companies pick up people. I probably wouldn't get a car if I were to go back. The only down side was the food options. There are several resturants, but they are only open for dinner (starting at 6:30pm). The dinners that I had were fine, but nothing that I couldn't get State side. Breakfast is buffet with a lot of options and was good. Lunch is held in their "snack" shop, but I wasn't super impressed with the quality of the lunch. Room service is good and fairly quick, and I found the best option for lunch. Overall I would recommend Ocean Blue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewJersey Teacher
Couples
Cherry Hill NJ
Feb 23, 2013

Great Place For A Long Weekend Getaway

We loved the resort! Grounds are beautiful and service and food were great. Rooms weren't as nice as the pictures made them seem. Although they were fine enough to still enjoy your stay. Overall a wonderful place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet Lunch and dinners taste better in the main dining hall. The buffet near the beach isn't as good.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwoodblue
Couples
Pennsylvania
Mar 7, 2013

Relaxing getaway

Lots to do,but can lounge and do nothing in a cozy environment if you want to. Did not like the pressure to take a tour for "privilege" visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scrappyv
Couples
Minn eapolis, MN
Mar 11, 2013

good times

get vacation with great staff & entertainment crew

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowbird III
Couples
Minnesota
Mar 17, 2013

Good Resort

Great staff, very friendly. A little too into selling buy-in to the resort, as in " I will show you all that you deserve" of course for a price. But if you are firm but nice in your declining the offer they usually respect your decision. As for our room we had a great location, in building #9 third floor very large balcony overlooking the pool and with an oceanview off to the side. Balconeys vary from room to room and most do not have side views and can not see the ocean. As with all the other all-inclusives we have stayed at the dance music poolside is extreamly loud with super bass cranked up. We avoid this by spending our days on the beach where it is somewhat reduced. But in the evening after supper it is very noisy with overly loud people in the pool area who have been drinking a bit too much. Then the dance music starts up again down at the beach end of the resort and continues until around 1:00 to 2:00 AM. This is not a quiet resort in the evening although the restaurants, bars, and theater are all up by the lobby so one would think it would be quieter towards the beach end of the resort. Not so much! The beach is eroding all along the resort front but especially so at the Privelege end in front of the beach beds. They need to do some serious preventive measures or that section of the beach will be reduced by half. The main area of the beach is set up with "shelters" made from poles and canvas streatched over the top. Way too packed in close together. We found our own shade over by the water sports area, palms provide the shade and there is still a lot of sun too. Do not pick this resort if you want a romantic wedding area. The weddings were squished in near the water sports area, with people in beach chairs just a few feet from the "chapel site", just a white draped taller shelter. No that wasn't us that close, the canvas shelters border the chaple and the wedding party has to walk past them to get to the chapel. I would assume that wedding photos need to be photo shopped just to get the bikinis and speedos out of view. Good beach walking, you can walk a long way in front of other resorts down the coast. Food was great at all the restaurants and the buffet too. We love how the restaurants are all together by the front lobby, looks like a town square with plenty of seating. Servers were all very friendly and service was good. Overall we would consider going back to this resort, but there are others we would like to try in the area first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunshineCheerios
Friends
Cambridge, Mass.
Mar 25, 2013

Spring Break

The resort was teeming with teenagers and their helicopter parents. But maybe that's just that atmosphere we needed on our last spring break. We left feeling old and young, at once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kawytae
Couples
Washington, DC
Mar 25, 2013

Loved It.

Great place. Wonderful staff. Got engaged their and the locals helped me plan it to a tee.... will be going back later this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top