$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
170 reviews
excellent family getaway

I had a great time with other folks from different parts of the world. Excellent food and... See full review

  • Jump up Man
  • Aug 13, 2014
Paradise

If like to eat good food, dance,swing , this is the place for you. See full review

  • Juli10
  • Apr 23, 2014
Tropical all-inclusive Punta Cana resort lures with leisure activities
Tropically colored buildings and swaying palms paint the scene of paradise at Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort, which is steps from the White Sands Golf Course. The kid-friendly, all-suite property attracts leisure travelers with 374 rooms decorated with island style and British Colonial-inspired furniture. A heavy roster of leisure activities -- like scuba lessons and bowling -- complements the many bars and restaurants on site.
Highlights
  • Multiple leisure activities, from bow and arrow to bowling
  • Seven a la carte restaurants, two buffets and 10 bars
  • All-suite tropical hotel with air conditioning and balconies
  • Walking distance to White Sands Golf Course
Rooms
Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort  rooms evoke breezy tropical décor driven by bright colors, palm prints and British Colonial furniture. All 374 rooms are air conditioned suites equipped with welcome conveniences like marble bathrooms with double sinks, a mini-refrigerator filled with sodas and balcony for taking in views of the lush grounds. Guests rest on one king or two double beds topped with patterned bedding. An in-room Jacuzzi furthers the luxury. Walls sport an island motif with vibrant colors like aqua or salmon and coastal-themed artwork.
Features
Recreation
A dedicated entertainment staff keeps the itinerary busy all day long at Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort. Guests might take a scuba diving lesson in the pool, play beach volleyball or water polo or learn how to maneuver a bow and arrow. Theme parties keep the mood festive, while off-site excursions like catamaran expeditions and snorkeling tours cater to thrill seekers. The hotel also invites patrons to go wall climbing or bowling (at a maximum of one hour of play per room).
Dining
Diners indulge in diverse fare at the seven a la carte restaurants and two buffets at Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort. La Casa de mi abuela and La Casa Caribbean Grill plate up local dishes, while La Tortuga is a staple for the all-day buffet. Some eateries come with an extra dose of ambiance, from Arenal Beach Restaurant and Snack Bar to reservations required-Bucareno, a seafood boite right on the beach. Ten bars -- including a swim-up bar -- fuel the tropical scene.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
Business
Internet center available   
Attractions
  • White Sands Golf Course (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (14.9 mi/9.2 km)
  • Cap Cana (14.3 mi/13.1 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (20.5 mi/32.9 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.7 mi/39.7 km)

Hotel Map

18.7115 -68.444
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 35 minutes from Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
Located on a private beach, this all-inclusive resort provides an outdoor swimming pool with a swim-up bar, fitness equipment, sauna, steam room, and a full-service health spa. Business travelers can take advantage of conference and meeting rooms as well as a business center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Golf Package
Junior Suite with BALCONY or PATIO WITH GARDEN view. Room with sofa bed and room with 2 double beds or one king-size bed. Bathroom with JACUZZI and hairdryer. Air conditioning, minibar, kettle, TV, iron, ironing board and safe. Room service from 11am to 10pm. This room category offer you a free round of golf at PUNTA BLANCA GOLF COURSE, this round includes: Driving range balls, tees, water, soda, one sandwich after hole #9, cold towel after 18 holes and transportation from and back to the hotel. The Client pays in the Pro-Shop US$55.00 per person to use the shared cart, plus clubs if you need it, and any additional item. Tee times are from 7:30am to 2:00pm (every 10 minutes), pick up time at the hotel lobby is 30 minutes before your tee time.Free WIFI
Junior Honeymoon Suite
Suite exclusively for couples. These rooms are designed with elegant modern white furniture, king bed, ceiling fan, LCD display, alarm clock, safe and free WIFI. Bathroom mirror with bulking, weight, telephone, bath and Jacuzzi overlooking the pool, plus our exclusive services Privilege package.
Honeymoon Suite
Duplex room warmly decorated in white, with Jacuzzi and shower in the upper and outdoors. King bed, equipped with special lineage Pillow top and pillow menu, alarm clock, ipod player, LCD TV, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked daily with international drinks, nightly turndown service, free in-room internet, Services Privilege: Private and personalized Check in and Checkout, butler service, room service from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm Privilege breakfast in bed served as part of room service. One free dinner at the seafood restaurant El Bucanero,
Privilege Junior Suite Pool View
With a Pool View, is one of the most luxurious room categories for OCEAN BLUE & SAND and part of our exclusive PRIVILEGE CLUB, Located on a building next to the beach and in front of the pool, rooms with king size bed elegantly decorated with fabric or two queen beds plus a sofa bed, pillow top for all beds and high quality linens, pillow men, full Premium drinks bar, LCD TV, DVD player, alarm clock with IPOD dock station, bathrobe and slippers for adults and children, special gift for children, nightly turn down service, complementary wireless Internet, balcony, air conditioning, coffee maker with coffee and tea, room service from 07:00am to 11:00pm, minibar with soft drinks, water and beer replaced daily, telephone, electronic safe deposit box (no charge), ceiling fan, iron, iron board, umbrella, beach towels and aromatherapy candels. Bathroom offers a delicate marble dcor, Jacuzzi tub separated from the shower, vanity mirror and a luxurious amenities set, hair dryer and more.
Junior Suite Pool View
Junior Suite with a relaxing pool view with 2 double beds or one king-size bed+ a sofa bed. Bathroom with JACUZZI and hairdryer. Air conditioning, minibar, TV, iron, ironing board and free safety deposit box. Room service from 11am to 10pm.
Junior suite
Our ample rooms offer all the amenities you need. It features: Balcony, tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, air conditioner, two queen size OR one king size bed, large marble finish bathroom with two hand basis, magnifying mirror and amenities kit, Jacuzzi in all rooms, ceiling fan, mini fridge with soft drinks, telephone, cable TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, free safety deposit box. Free WIFI.
Privilege Junior Suite
One of the most luxurious room categories for OCEAN BLUE & SAND and part of our exclusive PRIVILEGE CLUB. Located on a building next to the beach, these rooms offer one four posted king size bed elegantly decorated with fabric or two queen beds plus a sofa bed, pillow top for all beds and high quality linens, pillow men, full Premium drinks bar, LCD TV, DVD player, alarm clock with IPOD dock station, bathrobe and slippers for adults and children, special gift for children, nightly turn down service, complementary wireless Internet, balcony, air conditioning, coffee maker with coffee and tea, room service from 07:00am to 10:00pm, minibar with soft drinks, water and beer replaced daily, telephone, electronic safe deposit box (no charge), ceiling fan, iron, iron board, umbrella, beach towels and aromatherapy candels. Bathroom offers a delicate marble dcor, Jacuzzi tub separated from the shower, vanity mirror and a luxurious amenities set, hair dryer, scale and telephone.
Spa Privilege Suite
This room offers you one hour of exciting and relaxing experience in Etra Spa, enjoy 30 Minute of Relaxing Massage, relaxation room with refreshing beverage, revitalizing Jacuzzi and body exfoliation in one of the most luxurious room categories for OCEAN BLUE & SAND and part of our exclusive PRIVILEGE CLUB. Located on a building next to the beach, these rooms offer one four posted king size bed elegantly decorated with fabric or two queen beds plus a sofa bed, pillow top for all beds and high quality linens, pillow men, full Premium drinks bar, LCD TV, DVD player, alarm clock with IPOD dock station, bathrobe and slippers for adults and children, special gift for children, nightly turn down service, complementary wireless Internet, balcony, air conditioning, coffee maker with coffee and tea, room service from 07:00am to 10:00pm, minibar with soft drinks, water and beer replaced daily, telephone, electronic safe deposit box (no charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms: El pescador (292,5mts2) and La tortuguita (235,5mts2).

Dining

Bowling
We have the only bowling alley insite a resort in Punta Cana, to enjoy and have fun in Ocean Blue.
La tortuga Buffet
During all day you can tasted our principal buffet restaurant, it open at 6:00am with a continental breakfast and then at 7:00am, you can enjoy our buffet breakfast until 10:30am, after this at 11:30am, you can have lunch until 3:00pm. The buffet is continuing with The dinner serving from 6:30pm till 10:30pm
La brasa
Our Caribbean Grill-restaurant with spectacular ocean view. Open daily serving Continental breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and dinner buffet.
Blue Moon
Visit the "Blue Moon" Romantic dinner of international cuisine. Adults only; no reservations required. Open for dinner.Formal wear and elegant. Opens at 6:00 pm till 10:00pm
El Bucanero Grill
Another restaurant with spectacular ocean view, Selfish restaurant a la carte. Open for dinner. At 6:00pm to 10:00pm, Not included. With an additional supplement.
El Bodegon
Enjoy a delicious Steak House cuisine. Open daily serving dinner. Reservations and proper attire required. Open at 6:00 pm till 10:00pm.
La Cana
Enjoy with spectacular ocean view in our beach restaurant and snack bar it open at 10:30am till 6:00pm
El cocotal
Pool bar, take a cocktail and enjoy swimming in the pool. From 10:00am to 7:00pm
I Mascherati di Venezia
Italian menu a la Carte, open at 6:00pm till 10:00pm. A really nice experience of flavours
Overtimes sports bar
Open at 5:00pm till 6:00am, also you can take snack from 11:00pm till 6:00am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Apr 20, 2008

STRESSFUL

This vacation was not a vacation; we spent our vacation in the lobby trying to get help from someone to get a room that was not falling a part. The service is horrible the people are lazy they kept telling us that they already had the problem fixed and that everything was in working order, all lies. The bathroom sink did not have cold running water, the Jacuzzi was not in working order so we had to shower to our surprise when we would finish showering we would have water running although our room, when we would call front desk to have the mess cleaned up and ask for extra towels but know one would show we would have to walk all the way down to the front desk and tell them that we need to have it cleaned we were unable to go to our room that night until 12:00am waiting for them to have our room in working order, which was just a waste of time. Because the something would happen every time we would shower. The remote was not working; the ac would never make our room cool we depended on the fan that the room had hanging from the ceiling. To top everything off one afternoon after we arrived tired from an excursion that we had paid for we found that our room was open, and would not close the batteries were out on the lock. If you want to have a very stressful vacation stay at this resort. The buffet area bathrooms were not in working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago Il
May 29, 2009

Vacationers' Blues at Ocen Blue

The stay was awful! I would recommend looking at one of the many other resorts in the area. The bathroom was filthy! I had it cleaned three times before I did it myself. The noise level is unbelievable. The staff is friendly but unable to resolve any issues. The concept of the hotel is good but the execution is unbelievably bad! I hope they can turn it around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
College spring breaker1
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 18, 2014

Important Warning

The hotel is deceitful and outright lies if there are any issues. We arrived late in the day and the hotel said that they didn't have any rooms left for us even though we had a confirmed reservation. They then put us in another hotel and promised to refund 2 nights of our stay. The next day when the reservations office was open and was to give us our refund they claimed that they had never provided that. Luckily I sensed that that something wasn't right by the way they were talking to us the night before and recorded the conversation where they promised us the 2 night refund. Even then we had to argue with them for 3 hours to get them to confirm the refund and give us a signed letter confirming it. If nothing goes wrong with the booking and you don't have to interact with the front office then this is a very good resort. But the hassle of traveling to and from another hotel as well as the lying office staff is unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargin for everything. Even the water sports activities at the beach.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark and Kristin
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2011

WORST resort I have ever stayed at!!!

I'll start off by say DO NOT waste your time/money with this resort. I have never been treated so bad by an entire staff. We payed the extra money for closer view of the beach. There was absolutely no view of the beach from the room. There were no King size beds in any room that we saw. Absolutely no water pressure in the shower, which we complained about and was never fixed the whole week we were there. The shower literally dripped water out. A light drizzle of rain would clean you better. We had to shower in the jacuzzi due to the shower never functioning properly. The jacuzzi would not fit my 6'1'' 190 lb body in it, let alone 2 people. The water temp was either freezing or boiling hot, which on a sun burned body does not feel good! The food was ok at best. The wait staff would take your order then never show their faces again. Getting a re-fill on a drink is virtually impossible, and that's if you received your drink in the first place. Anytime you asked for a drink, or anything in general, the staff made you feel as though you were bothering them. That's including all the bars! There was one restaurant that you had to make reservations for, but you had to get in line at about 730AM in order to eat there. Who is getting up this early on vacation? Especially at an all inclusive resort. Our last day was the worst. I called the bell boy to pick up our luggage, as advised by them the first day. They never showed up! We had to lug our luggage about 1/2 mile from our villa to the lobby. The Check-out process took about 30 minutes as our taxi was waiting for us. They claimed I had a "charge". When I asked what it was, all of a sudden he didn't speak english. So on to the next lady who did the exact same thing! Back and forth this lady went from the desk to the back office. Then told me she had to print out a receipt and would be back in 3 minutes after I told her our taxi had been waiting and we needed to catch our flight. She NEVER came back. [...] These Ocean Blue employees made a trip to paradise a trip to hell. Luckily the weather was outstanding, which helped ease our stress. I would NEVER recommend this resort to even my worst enemy! DO NOT GO HERE! Spend the extra money elsewhere. You'll be glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip-linning is a must! The drive to and from was just as exciting as the actual adventure.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort -Survey

Ocean Blue is NOT to be recommended. Our party consisted of 7 people for a 2 week period and after the first week we tried to move our party to an alternative hotel. We would like a refund!We booked this resort because it was all inclusive with a golf course. The golf course is unplayable. Has not been kept up and has only 6 or 7 golf carts (carts have been stolen according to the locals) [...]– a reservation company who books all rounds in the DR will not recommend this course. Two people we spoke with whom stayed at the Ocean Blue tried to play the course and quit after five holes.Front counter reception staff, most Bar staff, most to all restaurant servers were very indifferent.. We often had to get up and grab bottled water from the bar so we had drinks with our meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to golf in an all inclusive environment , stay at the Melia Tropical, golf fees are $37 US per person, staff are friendly, food is good and beaches are fantastic.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amanda sue
Baltimore
Apr 19, 2014

Dismal experience in the Dominican Republic

My husband and I booked our first vacation by ourselves in 6 years, and selected the DR because we heard it has become the most visited place in Caribbean and is fairly cheap compared to other beaches. Everything about the DR is inefficient, including the airport and hotel staff. They have several people doing the job of one person, and the job is still done poorly. Additionally, the DR people are not service-oriented and, overall, not very polite or helpful. This being said, upon arrival at the hotel, we were told to meet a staff person the next day at an arranged time to get our beach towels. We went on a wild goose chase the next day trying to find the guy we were to meet and to simply get beach towels. Staff were not helpful and we finally realized we were being steered into a sales pitch on H10, the travel club that owns this resort. After an hour-long presentation, we were frustrated and upset to have missed out on the morning of sun. The staff were also visually mad that we didn't sign up on the spot for participation in the club. Do not speak to anyone wearing yellow shirts, as they are employees of the vacation club. The hotel room's bathtub was dirty and the vent leaked water after every shower. The beds had very old sheets and pillows, and we're not comfortable. The food was mediocre. We ended up eating at the buffets mostly because he specialty restaurants were not very good. Service was awful. The steak restaurant always had a long wait and people on the resort talked about this, but I don't know how the food actually was. The entrance of the resort is cute, with the theatre, bowling alley and restaurants set up like a little cosmopolitan city. Past that was the hotels, pools and beach. Staff were always driving golf carts which was disruptive to the resort. The bowling alley is nice and modern but the rest of the arcade is very dated, dirty and have some broken games. The pool is nice and big, but like the beach, they have way too many chairs. The resort is small and we didn't like seeing the same people all the time. We did not feel like we had privacy. Overall, I would not recommend this resort or a trip to the Dominican Republic. I woul spend a little more and go to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We did a zip line excursion that was amazing, zipping among treetops throughout the mountains. Beautiful views. Very long drive though. Total time was about 6 hours.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lopez70
Allentown, Pa
Aug 19, 2009

so, so, so

This hotel is OK, but be prepared to pay for extra services even if you are in the privilege rooms. Room services charge before certain time during the morning, but it will be free if you have privilege rooms. I didn't like the beach too much, however the pool was good, my kids loved it. Very good shows, but the same music over and over. Teen club was ok, but take some cash to pay $15.00 dollar for the bowling, you will get the first one free. Food was good. Try the Bucanera Restaurant by the beach very good seafood, Mexican food don't even try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the safari tour.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Feb 19, 2008

The service is not ...

The service is not superb. Everyone complained about things in their rooms and the staff did not take of problems. We upgraded to Elite status, which wasn't worth it. The food choices were not good. Nothing healthy or luxury. The people who enjoyed themselves and the resort were not luxury travelers. They are not used to the first class amenities that we have seen in our travels. The coffee house was awesome! Ask for the cheesecake - it's hiding in the back. The kids club was wonderful. My 2 kids loved the girls and activities! They went 3 times a day. The grounds are beautiful. I wish they put as much effort into keeping up the rooms as they do the grounds. The shuttle service was usually full, so plan on walking a lot. We didn't mind that, but the kids get a bit whiny about all the walking. They loved the nighttime disco and bowling. Our rooms ran out of hot water a few times and towels were scarce.I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Apr 7, 2011

Not my idea of family vacation

This is a great place for teenage drinking and partying. Not my idea of a family vacation with young children asking "why is that girl throwing up at the pool? Why can't they walk?" This is by early-mid afternoon. The system for a-la-carte reservations, staying in line for hours the day of, hoping to eat by 8pm was very disappionting, also difficult for young kids. Overall not my idea of a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rinku
Westchester, NY, USA
Dec 16, 2013

It was ok, much better places to travel to

We booked this trip after seeing good reviews on Groupon but we were pretty disappointed. The rooms were not that great, kind of dated actually. The thing that bothered us the most was the concierge service- VIP travel- which we booked so we would have ground transport to and from the airport- basically stalked us the ENTIRE stay to try and get us to sit down for AN HOUR LONG presentation on timeshares. Me and my boyfriend said we were not interested in buying timeshares but were constantly targeted by the yellow shirted VIP travel workers. It was quite irritating. The restaurants included were all terrible with the exception of El Bodegon. The included alcohol was terrible- the wine and champagne were poor quality, the fruity drinks were watered down and too sugary. For the first time i can actually say the buffet was your best bet! Even though the location was great- beach and pool were wonderful and the spa couples package was wonderful, I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search