$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santas little helper
Couples
Ontario canada
May 15, 2013

Great vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel...privilege upgrade is well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dominican vacation
Single
boston
Feb 11, 2014

nice vacation

I did like the hotel . Food was good . Room is comfortable . Will recomend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zzzxxx
Cleveland , ohio
Feb 11, 2014

Getaway

Hotel was great! Location was great! Great beach! Most of the staff very friendly! I would definitely stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired and enjoying
Family
Arlington, VA
Feb 9, 2014

Warm and Relaxing

The Punta Cana experience is quite an operation! It is easy to tell that tourism is their most lucrative industry. Ocean Blue is large, impressive, efficient and clean. Enjoy the restaurants for dinner. Blue Moon, was excellent! Very relaxing and beautiful vacation. Such a great bang for the buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian's Chelle
Couples
MN
Jan 21, 2014

Ignore any bad review of this place!

My husband and I visited this hotel Jan. 14-20 2014 for our 10-year anniversary. Amazing hotel...we made many new friends in the staff. They did everything in their power to make our stay a great one, and they succeeded. The room (non-privilege) was beautiful, clean, and relaxing. The food was 5-star, and the property breathtaking. It was like living in a flower garden for a week. We loved our time, and made more very special memories. Thank you, Ocean Blue and Sand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants are very good, but the buffet was just amazing! The variety and quality of the foods was top-notch.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kylie EC
Couples
Miami Beach, FL
Jan 9, 2014

Fantastic!!!

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week at The Ocean Blue. We had a great time! We set up with VIP travel for our round trip and concierge service and Almonte was so very helpful. We only had to meet with him two times but got everything set for us. At first walking in,our room had a little musty smell but in the Caribbean with closed up ACed rooms that will happen. We opened the sliding door to the balcony and away went the smell. I read reviews that the AC wasn't cold enough. Ours was excellent. Actually one night we turned it off and slept with the balcony door open. Also read reviews that the rooms weren't clean, and outdated and the beds were hard well our bed was very comfortable and room clean. Our room had a very modern feel. Beach was beautiful and clean and you can walk for miles down the beach with no problem. The resort isn't to big everything is a pretty quick walk away. We did run into the yellow shirt time share people but just be assertive and say no thank you and they will leave you alone. The staff is AWESOME!! They are so nice to everyone. Even those not so nice travelers. We spent a lot of time down at the Caribbean Restaurant bar with Ramon! If you see Miguel in the buffet give him a high five for us! Try the Henry special at the pool bar closest to the beach. Overall no complaints! I mean the food wasn't fantastic culinary cuisine but there is something for everyone to enjoy. Ocean Blue is the best value in Punta Cana!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The coffee shop has great coffee!!! The Caribbean Restaurant down by the beach is great and never packed and the Bartender Ramon is an awesome guy!

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravellerAtHeart
Friends
Long Beach, CA
Jan 8, 2014

Most bang for your buck for those traveling on a budget

Hotel stay and location was overall, pretty fantastic. You have access to the beach, which seems to be the biggest strip/area compared to neighboring hotels. There are two large pools with 2 swim up bars. The pool area was always exciting and fun. The hotel grounds was very well kept, with a tennis court, wifi in the lobby, 7 different restaurants, etc. The food at this hotel was superb, they did a great job catering to all different types of cultures/food preferences. I never got sick or had to question the quality of the food. Room services is also included in the price you pay for the hotel, however, they are very slow. My only other complaint is that the beds were not as comfortable as i had hoped and my sheets/pillows had noticeable stains on them. I do question if the maids actually change the sheets on a daily basis or if they thoroughly wash them. Also, for an all inclusive hotel.... the staff here does expect tips... i guess its the Dominican way. We spent NYE here, and it was great!! They did a fantastic job on entertaining guests and making NYE a big event at the hotel. We had a seafood buffet which was off the chain and ended the night dancing, singing, and filling our stomachs with decadent desserts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ROSALIND MCCOY
Family
CANADA
Dec 31, 2013

relaxing family get together

we need a place for family get together and a good break from the busy routine. In Ocean Blue everyone of us found their own spot to enjoy and relax. The room is spacious but not as clean as we expected, the bathroom had some sort of leaking problem.. Also, since there´s no reservation for special restaurants, some times the line up there could cost us over an hour. At the end, we had to give up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Lori
Family
Oklahoma
Dec 23, 2013

I recommend the upgrade to Privelige

Ocean Blue was a great place to stay. They are still in the remodel stage. It is very spacious so we did lots of walking. The sand was the most awesome. We felt very safe even with small children. I do recommend to upgrade to the Privelige level. It is well worth it. We had ground view, however second floor would have probably been great to see out over the view. The 2 little ones went to kids camp one day and enjoyed it very much. It was great for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Needed to relax.
Family
Marlow, Oklahoma
Dec 23, 2013

Had a great time!

We had a great time at the Ocean Blue! The rooms were very spacious and the beds were comfortable. The staff was amazing and the entertainers were so energetic. Very relaxing week at the Ocean Blue, Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

We went right before Christmas, and the restaurants stay really busy. The buffets had good selection, but the other restaurants required early reservations or they would be booked up for the night.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rinku
Couples
Westchester, NY, USA
Dec 16, 2013

It was ok, much better places to travel to

We booked this trip after seeing good reviews on Groupon but we were pretty disappointed. The rooms were not that great, kind of dated actually. The thing that bothered us the most was the concierge service- VIP travel- which we booked so we would have ground transport to and from the airport- basically stalked us the ENTIRE stay to try and get us to sit down for AN HOUR LONG presentation on timeshares. Me and my boyfriend said we were not interested in buying timeshares but were constantly targeted by the yellow shirted VIP travel workers. It was quite irritating. The restaurants included were all terrible with the exception of El Bodegon. The included alcohol was terrible- the wine and champagne were poor quality, the fruity drinks were watered down and too sugary. For the first time i can actually say the buffet was your best bet! Even though the location was great- beach and pool were wonderful and the spa couples package was wonderful, I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top