$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mretired
Business
New Jersey
Feb 24, 2014

Will go back again and again!

This hotel was excellent. We have been to Punta Cana many times and stayed at various hotels. This is the second time back at the Ocean Blue and Sand Hotel. This is the best hotel we have stayed at in Punta Cana. The hotel is just the right size and you can relax the first day, knowing where everything is situated on the property. The room was nice and had a balcony to sit out on. . Beds were very comfortable. Pillows were a little hard. Clean towels everyday and plenty of toiletries. Maid service was excellent and they were very nice to us. Food was terrific! After many times at other Punta Cana resorts we had either gotten sick from the food or we couldn't even recognize what we were eating. Ocean blue and Sand had lobster, quail, pig roast, goat, whole salmon, prime rib, pork loin, very fresh vegetables and fruit, great breakfast, Fresh paella and snapper made poolside. It was wonderful! We were so pleasantly stunned how good everything was. The beach was kept clean and beautiful and so was the hotel grounds. The Domenicans that work there are kind, gracious and generous. We went for rest and relaxation and got double our monies worth. Go there and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globe Travel
Business
LOS ANGELES
Feb 17, 2014

Great Value and Great Butler

This was a great vacation (single travel) and my butler Antonio Cornelio really made my stay a comfortable excellent vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach mommy Dawn
Business
Ankeny, ia
Feb 17, 2014

Fantastic hotel and staff

We had an amazing time at ocean blue and sand. The staff were all amazing and very friendly. The grounds were kept very clean and beautiful. We loved how this hotel made you feel very safe and it's set up like a small town. We took a couple of tours and the jeep safari was very informative. The beach was really pretty white soft sand and clear water. We had privlage status so it was nice to have someone bring you drinks. The food was great and the pasta at the buffet was addicting. The cooks are great. Our room was always cleaned and smelled good. The maid was great and kept our drinks full. There's lots of entertainment going on all day and at night. Jack at the pool was awesome and remembers everyone. He loves to hug. :) I don't have any complaints about this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi1122
Business
New York
Feb 17, 2014

Great time!

I was surprised at how nice this hotel was. The property is fairly large and the beach is very nice. The pool is huge, and has a bar within it which is always great. Beach - The beach is nice, but there are not enough shaded benches so you have to wake up very early to reserve a space if you don't want to stay in the sun all day. Sand is beautiful and water was very blue. There was some seaweed but it was cleaned up every morning by the staff, which was great. Food - Many food options. The hotel has about 4 free restaurants in addition to the buffet. We ate at only one, which was the steakhouse, and didn't have the best experience. The wait time was quite long and when we did finally get seated the staff was pretty rude and not very attentive. After that we ate at the buffet the rest of the trip as we always got a table quickly and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The food selection was great and every night it was a different theme. There were plenty of options and everything was delicious. We were very happy with the good. Also make sure to get some coffee in the coffee shop as it was very good quality coffee and this is all included in the package. Service - Overall the service was good, we only had a bad experience once and that was at the steak restaurant. Otherwise the staff was super friendly and spoke in many languages. Drinks - Not the BEST, but certainly good. Depending on which bar you would go to the drinks would always taste different, so it was a hit or miss, but for an all inclusive you always expect that. We have traveled to places where they had bottles of alcohol in the room, but this place didn't have that. You can only get drinks at the bars and most of them got pretty packed so you would have to wait for a while to get something. We noticed people traveling with large beer mugs, which was a great idea so you don't have to wait in line each time for a drink (their serving glasses are pretty small). Club - The club played surprisingly good music. The DJ played a large variety of music and it seemed to be more packed then clubs in other resorts we have visited. We didn't have a chance to see the shows as we traveled with a toddler and they tended to run pretty late (after 9pm) so she was always asleep by this time. The property is large so they have a tram driving around which assists people to get from one location to another if you don't want to walk. The hotel was very cute and we really enjoyed our stay. There are no elevators so if you have a stroller I would advise asking to stay on the first floor. The room is pretty large and has a balcony. Overall we would definitely go back there and also highly recommend it for the value of the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorri loves travel
Business
South Carolina
Feb 16, 2014

couples getaway

a week in paradise! The weather was perfect. We were actually "snowed in" for an extra day due to the bad weather in Atlanta, Ga. The hotel was able to put us up for an extra night, even though it was high season and very busy. The privilege upgrade was nice, but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the Blue Moon had the steak dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erika R
Business
Phila, PA
Feb 15, 2014

Break from snow

My BF and I had a nice stay at Ocean Blue, The staff were so friendly and seemed genuinely eager to please. Sometimes language barrier got in the way of the bantering. Of course, tipping helps. The weather was fantastic. Our room was building 9 with a pool view. Close to pool and beach, and just a short walk to buffet, restaurants and lobby. We needed the walk after all the food! The food was plentiful and varied. On par for all inclusive fare, not great, but good enough. We liked the Italian restaurant the best. No problem getting a table at any restaurant after 8:00 pm. Free internet in the lobby is spotty, and VERY SLOW. Plenty of chairs by the pool and beach. The shaded spots are snapped up early. The lounge chairs are a little uncomfortable, as they do not stay in the reclining position. (When sitting down, the back would go to max upright position.) Was nice to walk along the beach past other resorts, and there are some vendors selling art, jewelry, souvenirs, etc. Also have vendors offering parasailing, etc. Plentiful daily activities such as tennis, archery, dance lessons, beach volleyball. The timeshare salesmen try to engage you when they see you, but kindly take no for an answer. No harassing. The crowd was very international; mostly families and couples. Not a big party place. The teens we saw seemed to have fun at the teen club. Overall a beautiful, clean resort. Great to relax and unplug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al and C
Business
NJ
Feb 14, 2014

Great all inclusive but not fantastic for honeymoon

Went to ocean blue for our honeymoon in February. The staff is fantistic and the restaurants are great! The rooms are very clean and fairly modern except for the safe that didn't work. Its was my first time in the carribean and it was altogether a great experience. Many activities, we went parasailing and buggy riding. Few things could have made it better though. First the WiFi should be available in the rooms. I called before to advise we were on our honeymoon and didn't really get treated so. They keep trying to sell a sort of time share. The house wine (inclusive) is horrible unless you are a priveledge member. In conclusion we felt safe and comfortable at the resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Normal people
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 14, 2014

What a great resort!!!

When we were consindering travel to Punta Cana friends of ours told us about ocean blue and sand and said it was very nice. However, my wife and I read mixed reviews for the Ocean Blue. I have to say now from experience this resort is fantastic! All of the restaurants were great. The landscaping of the resort were very well kept, the pools and swim up bars are awesome (Find Manuel the bartender at one of the swim bars, he makes everyone feel at home and well taken care of), and best of all was the beach. Talk about take your breath away! Wow! Take it from us, you will not be disapointed at this resort. We are already planning a trip back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Condoritos
Business
Queens, NY
Feb 12, 2014

Great Stay

I had an amazing time at this hotel with my girlfriend. There is always something to do around, visit the buffet, casino, gym, spa, beach, pool and every bar that is around the entire resort. The only bad thing is the privilege reception staff, they gave me a two twin bed room when we were expecting a king bed for two people. So make sure you have your accommodations arranged according to your needs because they will place you in any room in villa 6 or 10 (privilege). I also recommend not to get the the privilege package because there is no need for it, I had it but I felt it was waste of my money. Unless you want the complimentary dinner at the restaurant by the beach which has delicious seafood, but if you pay out of pocket you will probably end up saving more. Please tip the staff that works at the restaurants or at the bar and the entertainment crew (not the selling people or the privilege staff). Even just $1 is greatly appreciate by this people who are always trying to make you comfortable and please all your needs. This is a very poor country and this people live a very difficult live which is hidden from tourists. However, don't let the beach or any sellers sell you things overpriced because they will try to steal your money. Enjoy your time and have a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dominican vacation
Business
boston
Feb 11, 2014

nice vacation

I did like the hotel . Food was good . Room is comfortable . Will recomend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top