$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amanda sue
Business
Baltimore
Apr 19, 2014

Dismal experience in the Dominican Republic

My husband and I booked our first vacation by ourselves in 6 years, and selected the DR because we heard it has become the most visited place in Caribbean and is fairly cheap compared to other beaches. Everything about the DR is inefficient, including the airport and hotel staff. They have several people doing the job of one person, and the job is still done poorly. Additionally, the DR people are not service-oriented and, overall, not very polite or helpful. This being said, upon arrival at the hotel, we were told to meet a staff person the next day at an arranged time to get our beach towels. We went on a wild goose chase the next day trying to find the guy we were to meet and to simply get beach towels. Staff were not helpful and we finally realized we were being steered into a sales pitch on H10, the travel club that owns this resort. After an hour-long presentation, we were frustrated and upset to have missed out on the morning of sun. The staff were also visually mad that we didn't sign up on the spot for participation in the club. Do not speak to anyone wearing yellow shirts, as they are employees of the vacation club. The hotel room's bathtub was dirty and the vent leaked water after every shower. The beds had very old sheets and pillows, and we're not comfortable. The food was mediocre. We ended up eating at the buffets mostly because he specialty restaurants were not very good. Service was awful. The steak restaurant always had a long wait and people on the resort talked about this, but I don't know how the food actually was. The entrance of the resort is cute, with the theatre, bowling alley and restaurants set up like a little cosmopolitan city. Past that was the hotels, pools and beach. Staff were always driving golf carts which was disruptive to the resort. The bowling alley is nice and modern but the rest of the arcade is very dated, dirty and have some broken games. The pool is nice and big, but like the beach, they have way too many chairs. The resort is small and we didn't like seeing the same people all the time. We did not feel like we had privacy. Overall, I would not recommend this resort or a trip to the Dominican Republic. I woul spend a little more and go to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We did a zip line excursion that was amazing, zipping among treetops throughout the mountains. Beautiful views. Very long drive though. Total time was about 6 hours.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
where next 4573
Business
US
Apr 18, 2014

Good hotel

The Ocean Blue is a very nice hotel for the price. This is a high mid level resort. The rooms were big and clean. The resort was about 30% American, 50% Spanish speaking, and around 20% other Europeans. The buffet was very good and the theme restaurants were ok. The beach is smaller than other resorts near by but there were plenty of chairs just not that had cover. The entertainment was not very good but close to what other all inclusive offers. I stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana a couple of years ago and the resorts were very similar quality. The beach and entertainment were better at the Iberostar but the room and food were better at Ocean Blue. Overall the all inclusive resorts are not as good as Mexico but they are better than Jamaica for similar prices. The Ocean is a beautiful green in Punta Cana which is very different than most of the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not take the shuttle to San Juan shopping it will take you an hour and the prices are higher than in most retail stores in the US. A taxi is $20.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neko and Sugar
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 17, 2014

"Showtime!"

This was our second visit to this hotel. Many of the staff remembered us from our first trip 2 years ago. That right there says much for staff turnover. We stayed as privilege guests and I will say it was absolutely worth it. The main buffet is by far the best for breakfast choices in the morning. A stroll over to Cafe Mike's then for a wonderful cafe' mocha. As a privilege guest you are able to have your own area on the beach, which was absolutely wonderful. There is nothing like the beaches on this side of the island. For dinner, our favorite was either Route 66, the steak house, or the Italian restaurant. The evening entertainment with the shows at the theater were always educational and exquisite. If you decide to stay at this hotel, take some time and visit the hotel lobby bar. Bienvenidos, Sexy Black, Raquel, and Martinoles will remember you, what you are drinking even if it is a soda or bottle of water or a special cocktail. They made each evening so much more fun for me and my spouse. We also recommend the VIP service offered through this website as it was extremely beneficial with booking excursions any transportation or information wanted about the Dominican. We will be going again, I hope within the next 2 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book the dolphin excursion through the hotel. Many travelers had booked the excursion online through a different source and their reservation was lost.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunkissedinNYC
Business
Queens, New York
Apr 16, 2014

The Perfect Getaway

I had a great time with my family! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Plenty to choose from as far as food. My favorites were the Steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant. Mikes coffee was very good. Buffet had plenty of choices. Room was clean. The pools are FANTASTIC!! The beach is BEAUTIFUL!! The grounds are very well kept too. Would definitely recommend :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyLady216
Business
Canada
Apr 14, 2014

Loved it!

Just came back from Punta Cana Ocean Blue and Sand resort, it was amazing! Loved absolutely every minute of it! Went on a side by side dune buggy ride through a town and to a fresh water cave, and it was awesome! Would definitely go back and recommend it to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denise loves the tropics
Business
Commerce Township. MI
Apr 13, 2014

Spring break 2014

This is a great location. The beach is amazing. The food was not great. Several in out party were down with intestinal bug. Not sure if it was food or water or viral. Staff very friendly for most part. Some problems in room were not addressed until end of trip. Property is very clean and beautiful. Pools are awesome. Size of place was also good- not too big or small. Overall a very fun vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Steer clear of beef. Seafood and chicken were good.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Larrys Wingman
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 6, 2014

great vacation and price

First time at the Ocean Blue and would def. go back. Beach is awesome, lots of great times and new people to meet in the 2 pools. Event staff was excellent. Cant think of anything that disappointed. Met some really fun people from Mass. and Chicago who made it even more enjoyable! Hotel was great. I was a little skeptical because we got what I considered a great deal but when we arrived everything was even better than I had hoped. Hotel staff set us up to be right next dort to friends from Texas who met us there and gave us the location we had requested in an email I sent a month prior to arrival. Will be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Liked all restaurants on resort but liked the steakhouse the most

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJDUBS
Business
Elk Grove Village, IL
Mar 29, 2014

Girlfriend getaway!

My girlfriends and I loved it here! Beautiful resort, great location, and plenty to do! The entertainment staff was fantastic!! I'd say the only downside was the friendliness of the dining staff - other than that, great food, a nice variety of restaurants, and a fun time! Oh, and one of our favorites spots on the resort was Mike's Cafe - Fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They didn't take reservations at the restaurants, so be sure to arrive at least 30mins before you're ready to eat!

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edkajo
Business
wisconsin
Mar 28, 2014

Family Trip

Great resort, nice staff interaction. Did not like the high-pressure timeshare pitch daily. Great facilities with a beautiful setting. Beach was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2TravelersWI
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2014

Vacation for two

We traveled in March, there were a lot of spring breakers, but it was still a great vacation. Staff was helpful and nice, pools were awesome and a good selection of food. Overall, it was what we expected! I would go back again, maybe with a group. There seemed to be large groups. Don't forget your reusable cups!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top