$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deko
Pennsylvania
Nov 14, 2012

Beautiful facility; wonderful vacation.

Fantastic. Beautiful facility, picturesque beach, great pools and phenomenal staff. Wonderful food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swal
Business
New York
May 23, 2014

Couples Getaway

This was our first visit to DR and the experience was amazing ! My boyfriend and I stayed in Villa 7 which was very close to the lobby ,pool and Buffett with an amazing view from the balcony and much needed privacy . The staff members were pleasant ,welcoming and timely with request . Vendors were very passionate to sell which became a bit overwhelming but were respectful with declines . Drinks were great (especially from the lobby bar ) and overall the resort had just enough to get into without paying for excursions . Great first vacation with significant other !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The only thing I would recommend is for a major update on their welcome information guide .Many of the restaurants were closed unexpectedly two nights out of our stay and one listed restaurant "La Casa De Mi Abuela" the only restaurant listed with a Dominican menu no longer exist (this was discovered after a scavenger hunt for it ). Plan dining in advance and ask questions ! It sucks to walk from the lobby to La Cana ( the beach's restaurant ) only to find contrary to the listed hours it is closed .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJBlanco
Business
Santo Domingo
May 12, 2014

Nice Stay

We were only for 2 days and although our room was finished by 5pm instead of 3pm, we did enjoy our stay, specially the rooms which have been updated and are very nice. Also the food is great and the restaurants have interesting options and quality food. Staff is great and were able to help once we let them know the inconveniencies we had. Hope to be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer414
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 2, 2014

Relaxing getaway

My boyfriend, his family and I had a great time!! The staff were very friendly and did everything to make our stay great. There was plenty for us to do as a family but there was also places for quiet and romance. The breakfast was great, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. However, the lunch buffet near the beach could have been a little better. Overall my stay was great, clean room, friendly staff and beautiful beach and weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the beach to the shops! Find some great things and negotiate the price!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimKK
Business
Michigan
May 2, 2014

stayed 4/25 to 4/30/2014

Overall this was a very good resort experience. I tried most of the restaurants and all were good to very good. Understand though that it is not American cooking, its Dominican cooking even if its an American hamburger so things to taste a bit different than in the USA. The room was always clean and well stocked. The staff was very attentive. My only complaint was on the last of my five nights there, the wifi in the Privilege section where I was not working and I had to use the lobby wifi which was totally overloaded. That was very frustrating as email was the only way I could communicate with people in the US. The resort said they were upgrading the Wifi--a good manager would do the Upgrade and then switch, not take the current wifi down and then upgrade,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT buy anything from the vendors on the beach! They are aggressive and you will NOT get a good deal. also take lots of small US bills, forget the $100 bills, change is difficult to get.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chanco
Business
Roanoke, Virginia
Apr 28, 2014

Great 3-4star

Amazing location, great staff. Room was clean but food was slightly above average overall. Not a ton of kids so pretty solid place to sit and unwind for a week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juli10
Business
Yonkers, ny
Apr 23, 2014

Paradise

If like to eat good food, dance,swing , this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarver family of 7
Business
Virginia
Apr 22, 2014

Would stay again

The resort is large and beautiful; the staff is very friendly. I chose all inclusive because there were 7 of us with 4 being 17-20 years old. The only negative was the food not being all that great, but I expected that for the price and it being all-inclusive. Beautiful resort, nice rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

They have a free bus to take you to shopping. You can buy the same things they sell on the beach for a much cheaper price. The bus is air-conditioned and you shop for approximately 2 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amanda sue
Business
Baltimore
Apr 19, 2014

Dismal experience in the Dominican Republic

My husband and I booked our first vacation by ourselves in 6 years, and selected the DR because we heard it has become the most visited place in Caribbean and is fairly cheap compared to other beaches. Everything about the DR is inefficient, including the airport and hotel staff. They have several people doing the job of one person, and the job is still done poorly. Additionally, the DR people are not service-oriented and, overall, not very polite or helpful. This being said, upon arrival at the hotel, we were told to meet a staff person the next day at an arranged time to get our beach towels. We went on a wild goose chase the next day trying to find the guy we were to meet and to simply get beach towels. Staff were not helpful and we finally realized we were being steered into a sales pitch on H10, the travel club that owns this resort. After an hour-long presentation, we were frustrated and upset to have missed out on the morning of sun. The staff were also visually mad that we didn't sign up on the spot for participation in the club. Do not speak to anyone wearing yellow shirts, as they are employees of the vacation club. The hotel room's bathtub was dirty and the vent leaked water after every shower. The beds had very old sheets and pillows, and we're not comfortable. The food was mediocre. We ended up eating at the buffets mostly because he specialty restaurants were not very good. Service was awful. The steak restaurant always had a long wait and people on the resort talked about this, but I don't know how the food actually was. The entrance of the resort is cute, with the theatre, bowling alley and restaurants set up like a little cosmopolitan city. Past that was the hotels, pools and beach. Staff were always driving golf carts which was disruptive to the resort. The bowling alley is nice and modern but the rest of the arcade is very dated, dirty and have some broken games. The pool is nice and big, but like the beach, they have way too many chairs. The resort is small and we didn't like seeing the same people all the time. We did not feel like we had privacy. Overall, I would not recommend this resort or a trip to the Dominican Republic. I woul spend a little more and go to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We did a zip line excursion that was amazing, zipping among treetops throughout the mountains. Beautiful views. Very long drive though. Total time was about 6 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
where next 4573
Business
US
Apr 18, 2014

Good hotel

The Ocean Blue is a very nice hotel for the price. This is a high mid level resort. The rooms were big and clean. The resort was about 30% American, 50% Spanish speaking, and around 20% other Europeans. The buffet was very good and the theme restaurants were ok. The beach is smaller than other resorts near by but there were plenty of chairs just not that had cover. The entertainment was not very good but close to what other all inclusive offers. I stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana a couple of years ago and the resorts were very similar quality. The beach and entertainment were better at the Iberostar but the room and food were better at Ocean Blue. Overall the all inclusive resorts are not as good as Mexico but they are better than Jamaica for similar prices. The Ocean is a beautiful green in Punta Cana which is very different than most of the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not take the shuttle to San Juan shopping it will take you an hour and the prices are higher than in most retail stores in the US. A taxi is $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neko and Sugar
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 17, 2014

"Showtime!"

This was our second visit to this hotel. Many of the staff remembered us from our first trip 2 years ago. That right there says much for staff turnover. We stayed as privilege guests and I will say it was absolutely worth it. The main buffet is by far the best for breakfast choices in the morning. A stroll over to Cafe Mike's then for a wonderful cafe' mocha. As a privilege guest you are able to have your own area on the beach, which was absolutely wonderful. There is nothing like the beaches on this side of the island. For dinner, our favorite was either Route 66, the steak house, or the Italian restaurant. The evening entertainment with the shows at the theater were always educational and exquisite. If you decide to stay at this hotel, take some time and visit the hotel lobby bar. Bienvenidos, Sexy Black, Raquel, and Martinoles will remember you, what you are drinking even if it is a soda or bottle of water or a special cocktail. They made each evening so much more fun for me and my spouse. We also recommend the VIP service offered through this website as it was extremely beneficial with booking excursions any transportation or information wanted about the Dominican. We will be going again, I hope within the next 2 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book the dolphin excursion through the hotel. Many travelers had booked the excursion online through a different source and their reservation was lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top