$444 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
173 reviews
excellent family getaway

I had a great time with other folks from different parts of the world. Excellent food and... See full review

  • Jump up Man
  • Aug 13, 2014
Paradise

If like to eat good food, dance,swing , this is the place for you. See full review

  • Juli10
  • Apr 23, 2014
Tropical all-inclusive Punta Cana resort lures with leisure activities
Tropically colored buildings and swaying palms paint the scene of paradise at Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort, which is steps from the White Sands Golf Course. The kid-friendly, all-suite property attracts leisure travelers with 374 rooms decorated with island style and British Colonial-inspired furniture. A heavy roster of leisure activities -- like scuba lessons and bowling -- complements the many bars and restaurants on site.
Highlights
  • Multiple leisure activities, from bow and arrow to bowling
  • Seven a la carte restaurants, two buffets and 10 bars
  • All-suite tropical hotel with air conditioning and balconies
  • Walking distance to White Sands Golf Course
Rooms
Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort  rooms evoke breezy tropical décor driven by bright colors, palm prints and British Colonial furniture. All 374 rooms are air conditioned suites equipped with welcome conveniences like marble bathrooms with double sinks, a mini-refrigerator filled with sodas and balcony for taking in views of the lush grounds. Guests rest on one king or two double beds topped with patterned bedding. An in-room Jacuzzi furthers the luxury. Walls sport an island motif with vibrant colors like aqua or salmon and coastal-themed artwork.
Features
Recreation
A dedicated entertainment staff keeps the itinerary busy all day long at Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort. Guests might take a scuba diving lesson in the pool, play beach volleyball or water polo or learn how to maneuver a bow and arrow. Theme parties keep the mood festive, while off-site excursions like catamaran expeditions and snorkeling tours cater to thrill seekers. The hotel also invites patrons to go wall climbing or bowling (at a maximum of one hour of play per room).
Dining
Diners indulge in diverse fare at the seven a la carte restaurants and two buffets at Ocean Blue Golf and Beach Resort. La Casa de mi abuela and La Casa Caribbean Grill plate up local dishes, while La Tortuga is a staple for the all-day buffet. Some eateries come with an extra dose of ambiance, from Arenal Beach Restaurant and Snack Bar to reservations required-Bucareno, a seafood boite right on the beach. Ten bars -- including a swim-up bar -- fuel the tropical scene.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
Business
Internet center available   
Attractions
  • White Sands Golf Course (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (14.9 mi/9.2 km)
  • Cap Cana (14.3 mi/13.1 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (20.5 mi/32.9 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.7 mi/39.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Golf Package
Junior Suite with BALCONY or PATIO WITH GARDEN view. Room with sofa bed and room with 2 double beds or one king-size bed. Bathroom with JACUZZI and hairdryer. Air conditioning, minibar, kettle, TV, iron, ironing board and safe. Room service from 11am to 10pm. This room category offer you a free round of golf at PUNTA BLANCA GOLF COURSE, this round includes: Driving range balls, tees, water, soda, one sandwich after hole #9, cold towel after 18 holes and transportation from and back to the hotel. The Client pays in the Pro-Shop US$55.00 per person to use the shared cart, plus clubs if you need it, and any additional item. Tee times are from 7:30am to 2:00pm (every 10 minutes), pick up time at the hotel lobby is 30 minutes before your tee time.Free WIFI
Spa Privilege Suite
This room offers you one hour of exciting and relaxing experience in Etra Spa, enjoy 30 Minute of Relaxing Massage, relaxation room with refreshing beverage, revitalizing Jacuzzi and body exfoliation in one of the most luxurious room categories for OCEAN BLUE & SAND and part of our exclusive PRIVILEGE CLUB. Located on a building next to the beach, these rooms offer one four posted king size bed elegantly decorated with fabric or two queen beds plus a sofa bed, pillow top for all beds and high quality linens, pillow men, full Premium drinks bar, LCD TV, DVD player, alarm clock with IPOD dock station, bathrobe and slippers for adults and children, special gift for children, nightly turn down service, complementary wireless Internet, balcony, air conditioning, coffee maker with coffee and tea, room service from 07:00am to 10:00pm, minibar with soft drinks, water and beer replaced daily, telephone, electronic safe deposit box (no charge)
Junior Honeymoon Suite
Suite exclusively for couples. These rooms are designed with elegant modern white furniture, king bed, ceiling fan, LCD display, alarm clock, safe and free WIFI. Bathroom mirror with bulking, weight, telephone, bath and Jacuzzi overlooking the pool, plus our exclusive services Privilege package.
Honeymoon Suite
Duplex room warmly decorated in white, with Jacuzzi and shower in the upper and outdoors. King bed, equipped with special lineage Pillow top and pillow menu, alarm clock, ipod player, LCD TV, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked daily with international drinks, nightly turndown service, free in-room internet, Services Privilege: Private and personalized Check in and Checkout, butler service, room service from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm Privilege breakfast in bed served as part of room service. One free dinner at the seafood restaurant El Bucanero,
Privilege Junior Suite Pool View
With a Pool View, is one of the most luxurious room categories for OCEAN BLUE & SAND and part of our exclusive PRIVILEGE CLUB, Located on a building next to the beach and in front of the pool, rooms with king size bed elegantly decorated with fabric or two queen beds plus a sofa bed, pillow top for all beds and high quality linens, pillow men, full Premium drinks bar, LCD TV, DVD player, alarm clock with IPOD dock station, bathrobe and slippers for adults and children, special gift for children, nightly turn down service, complementary wireless Internet, balcony, air conditioning, coffee maker with coffee and tea, room service from 07:00am to 11:00pm, minibar with soft drinks, water and beer replaced daily, telephone, electronic safe deposit box (no charge), ceiling fan, iron, iron board, umbrella, beach towels and aromatherapy candels. Bathroom offers a delicate marble dcor, Jacuzzi tub separated from the shower, vanity mirror and a luxurious amenities set, hair dryer and more.
Junior Suite Pool View
Junior Suite with a relaxing pool view with 2 double beds or one king-size bed+ a sofa bed. Bathroom with JACUZZI and hairdryer. Air conditioning, minibar, TV, iron, ironing board and free safety deposit box. Room service from 11am to 10pm.
Junior suite
Our ample rooms offer all the amenities you need. It features: Balcony, tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, air conditioner, two queen size OR one king size bed, large marble finish bathroom with two hand basis, magnifying mirror and amenities kit, Jacuzzi in all rooms, ceiling fan, mini fridge with soft drinks, telephone, cable TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, free safety deposit box. Free WIFI.
Privilege Junior Suite
One of the most luxurious room categories for OCEAN BLUE & SAND and part of our exclusive PRIVILEGE CLUB. Located on a building next to the beach, these rooms offer one four posted king size bed elegantly decorated with fabric or two queen beds plus a sofa bed, pillow top for all beds and high quality linens, pillow men, full Premium drinks bar, LCD TV, DVD player, alarm clock with IPOD dock station, bathrobe and slippers for adults and children, special gift for children, nightly turn down service, complementary wireless Internet, balcony, air conditioning, coffee maker with coffee and tea, room service from 07:00am to 10:00pm, minibar with soft drinks, water and beer replaced daily, telephone, electronic safe deposit box (no charge), ceiling fan, iron, iron board, umbrella, beach towels and aromatherapy candels. Bathroom offers a delicate marble dcor, Jacuzzi tub separated from the shower, vanity mirror and a luxurious amenities set, hair dryer, scale and telephone.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms: El pescador (292,5mts2) and La tortuguita (235,5mts2).

Dining

Margarita
If you like Mexican food, you must go to our Mexican restaurant a la carte, you can taste Naxos, frijoles and a good Margarita cocktail. It's open at 6:00am till 10:00pm
Bowling
We have the only bowling alley insite a resort in Punta Cana, to enjoy and have fun in Ocean Blue.
La tortuga Buffet
During all day you can tasted our principal buffet restaurant, it open at 6:00am with a continental breakfast and then at 7:00am, you can enjoy our buffet breakfast until 10:30am, after this at 11:30am, you can have lunch until 3:00pm. The buffet is continuing with The dinner serving from 6:30pm till 10:30pm
La brasa
Our Caribbean Grill-restaurant with spectacular ocean view. Open daily serving Continental breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and dinner buffet.
Blue Moon
Visit the "Blue Moon" Romantic dinner of international cuisine. Adults only; no reservations required. Open for dinner.Formal wear and elegant. Opens at 6:00 pm till 10:00pm
El Bucanero Grill
Another restaurant with spectacular ocean view, Selfish restaurant a la carte. Open for dinner. At 6:00pm to 10:00pm, Not included. With an additional supplement.
El Bodegon
Enjoy a delicious Steak House cuisine. Open daily serving dinner. Reservations and proper attire required. Open at 6:00 pm till 10:00pm.
La Cana
Enjoy with spectacular ocean view in our beach restaurant and snack bar it open at 10:30am till 6:00pm
El cocotal
Pool bar, take a cocktail and enjoy swimming in the pool. From 10:00am to 7:00pm
I Mascherati di Venezia
Italian menu a la Carte, open at 6:00pm till 10:00pm. A really nice experience of flavours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimKK
Business
Michigan
May 2, 2014

stayed 4/25 to 4/30/2014

Overall this was a very good resort experience. I tried most of the restaurants and all were good to very good. Understand though that it is not American cooking, its Dominican cooking even if its an American hamburger so things to taste a bit different than in the USA. The room was always clean and well stocked. The staff was very attentive. My only complaint was on the last of my five nights there, the wifi in the Privilege section where I was not working and I had to use the lobby wifi which was totally overloaded. That was very frustrating as email was the only way I could communicate with people in the US. The resort said they were upgrading the Wifi--a good manager would do the Upgrade and then switch, not take the current wifi down and then upgrade,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT buy anything from the vendors on the beach! They are aggressive and you will NOT get a good deal. also take lots of small US bills, forget the $100 bills, change is difficult to get.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer414
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 2, 2014

Relaxing getaway

My boyfriend, his family and I had a great time!! The staff were very friendly and did everything to make our stay great. There was plenty for us to do as a family but there was also places for quiet and romance. The breakfast was great, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. However, the lunch buffet near the beach could have been a little better. Overall my stay was great, clean room, friendly staff and beautiful beach and weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the beach to the shops! Find some great things and negotiate the price!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chanco
Business
Roanoke, Virginia
Apr 28, 2014

Great 3-4star

Amazing location, great staff. Room was clean but food was slightly above average overall. Not a ton of kids so pretty solid place to sit and unwind for a week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juli10
Business
Yonkers, ny
Apr 23, 2014

Paradise

If like to eat good food, dance,swing , this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarver family of 7
Business
Virginia
Apr 22, 2014

Would stay again

The resort is large and beautiful; the staff is very friendly. I chose all inclusive because there were 7 of us with 4 being 17-20 years old. The only negative was the food not being all that great, but I expected that for the price and it being all-inclusive. Beautiful resort, nice rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

They have a free bus to take you to shopping. You can buy the same things they sell on the beach for a much cheaper price. The bus is air-conditioned and you shop for approximately 2 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amanda sue
Business
Baltimore
Apr 19, 2014

Dismal experience in the Dominican Republic

My husband and I booked our first vacation by ourselves in 6 years, and selected the DR because we heard it has become the most visited place in Caribbean and is fairly cheap compared to other beaches. Everything about the DR is inefficient, including the airport and hotel staff. They have several people doing the job of one person, and the job is still done poorly. Additionally, the DR people are not service-oriented and, overall, not very polite or helpful. This being said, upon arrival at the hotel, we were told to meet a staff person the next day at an arranged time to get our beach towels. We went on a wild goose chase the next day trying to find the guy we were to meet and to simply get beach towels. Staff were not helpful and we finally realized we were being steered into a sales pitch on H10, the travel club that owns this resort. After an hour-long presentation, we were frustrated and upset to have missed out on the morning of sun. The staff were also visually mad that we didn't sign up on the spot for participation in the club. Do not speak to anyone wearing yellow shirts, as they are employees of the vacation club. The hotel room's bathtub was dirty and the vent leaked water after every shower. The beds had very old sheets and pillows, and we're not comfortable. The food was mediocre. We ended up eating at the buffets mostly because he specialty restaurants were not very good. Service was awful. The steak restaurant always had a long wait and people on the resort talked about this, but I don't know how the food actually was. The entrance of the resort is cute, with the theatre, bowling alley and restaurants set up like a little cosmopolitan city. Past that was the hotels, pools and beach. Staff were always driving golf carts which was disruptive to the resort. The bowling alley is nice and modern but the rest of the arcade is very dated, dirty and have some broken games. The pool is nice and big, but like the beach, they have way too many chairs. The resort is small and we didn't like seeing the same people all the time. We did not feel like we had privacy. Overall, I would not recommend this resort or a trip to the Dominican Republic. I woul spend a little more and go to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We did a zip line excursion that was amazing, zipping among treetops throughout the mountains. Beautiful views. Very long drive though. Total time was about 6 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
where next 4573
Business
US
Apr 18, 2014

Good hotel

The Ocean Blue is a very nice hotel for the price. This is a high mid level resort. The rooms were big and clean. The resort was about 30% American, 50% Spanish speaking, and around 20% other Europeans. The buffet was very good and the theme restaurants were ok. The beach is smaller than other resorts near by but there were plenty of chairs just not that had cover. The entertainment was not very good but close to what other all inclusive offers. I stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana a couple of years ago and the resorts were very similar quality. The beach and entertainment were better at the Iberostar but the room and food were better at Ocean Blue. Overall the all inclusive resorts are not as good as Mexico but they are better than Jamaica for similar prices. The Ocean is a beautiful green in Punta Cana which is very different than most of the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not take the shuttle to San Juan shopping it will take you an hour and the prices are higher than in most retail stores in the US. A taxi is $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neko and Sugar
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 17, 2014

"Showtime!"

This was our second visit to this hotel. Many of the staff remembered us from our first trip 2 years ago. That right there says much for staff turnover. We stayed as privilege guests and I will say it was absolutely worth it. The main buffet is by far the best for breakfast choices in the morning. A stroll over to Cafe Mike's then for a wonderful cafe' mocha. As a privilege guest you are able to have your own area on the beach, which was absolutely wonderful. There is nothing like the beaches on this side of the island. For dinner, our favorite was either Route 66, the steak house, or the Italian restaurant. The evening entertainment with the shows at the theater were always educational and exquisite. If you decide to stay at this hotel, take some time and visit the hotel lobby bar. Bienvenidos, Sexy Black, Raquel, and Martinoles will remember you, what you are drinking even if it is a soda or bottle of water or a special cocktail. They made each evening so much more fun for me and my spouse. We also recommend the VIP service offered through this website as it was extremely beneficial with booking excursions any transportation or information wanted about the Dominican. We will be going again, I hope within the next 2 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book the dolphin excursion through the hotel. Many travelers had booked the excursion online through a different source and their reservation was lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunkissedinNYC
Business
Queens, New York
Apr 16, 2014

The Perfect Getaway

I had a great time with my family! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Plenty to choose from as far as food. My favorites were the Steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant. Mikes coffee was very good. Buffet had plenty of choices. Room was clean. The pools are FANTASTIC!! The beach is BEAUTIFUL!! The grounds are very well kept too. Would definitely recommend :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyLady216
Business
Canada
Apr 14, 2014

Loved it!

Just came back from Punta Cana Ocean Blue and Sand resort, it was amazing! Loved absolutely every minute of it! Went on a side by side dune buggy ride through a town and to a fresh water cave, and it was awesome! Would definitely go back and recommend it to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top