$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda sn. Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonnee
Business
Pa
Feb 17, 2013

Awesome Trip!!!

The Ocean Blue and Sand is an excellent hotel. We went with friends and upgraded to the priveleged plan and were extremely satisfied with everything. The rooms were great, the food deserved a 5 star rating and the staff was always friendly and helpful. There was something for everyone activity wise all the time. This was our 6th time to Punta Cana and it was the best ever and we had previously stayed in 5 star hotels. Free 5 minute massages on the beach how great is that. Two large pools and beach bars and bali beds on the beach just topped off a great vacations since we left in snow and come back to snow. Great time had by all of us. Thanks to all the staff at Ocean blue especially Jack, Henry ,Diamond and Maria who did a wonderful job on our room. The trolley was a nice touch too in case it was too hot to walk back to the room or we were too tired or too tipsy!! The shows were good too and we have seen alot of bad ones at other resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do not be deterred by the fact that the seafood restaurant is outdoors on picnic tables. The food and service was superb. Lobster and filet cooked to perfection.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J47B51
Business
Mechanicsville, VA
Feb 12, 2013

First time get-away to an all-inclusive

PROS - We wanted a beautiful beach and beautiful weather - we got both. This was our first time to an all inclusive and were very impressed with the facility, which was truly a beautiful place, and the friendliness of the staff. I asked for a room by and facing the pool after being told I had a room away from the pool/beach and facing another resort (trees). My request was honored within the hour. Buffet Food was OK - Restaurants were better. CONS The entertainment C- If your looking for first class entertainment look elsewhere. Bottom line - I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shows need help.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommylyn
Business
Erie PA
Feb 9, 2013

Winter getaway

Second time in DR, different resort, better value, terrific food, great activities-Spanish lesson, yoga, aqua aerobics. Husbands went dune buggy riding-had a great time. Grounds and pool were clean, well kept and beautiful. Privilege update well worth the money. Plan to return next Feb-see you there! Weather perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Privilege update worth the extra $$

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quick getwaway
Business
Detroit, mi
Feb 9, 2013

Perfect place go and enjoy!!!!!

Me and my hubby just got back yesterday and we loved our vacation!!!!!! We have been to all inclusive before but always in Mexico so we went into to this trip knowing nothing about where we were going. We were so happy with our whole trip. We were blessed with a great airline....we flew delta, VIP travel taxi service.....got us right to our hotel.....Ocean Blue was fantastic, the rooms are clean and have everything u need, the grounds are beautiful and spread out so u can walk and enjoy. Food was fresh and plentiful....if u can't find something to eat, then u have a food problem in general, entertainment at beach and pool.... Hilarious!!!! One of the best things....Mikes coffee bar!!!! If your looking for fun in the sun, don't hesitate....go and enjoy yourself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose Nyland
Business
Kindred, North Dakota
Feb 7, 2013

Our 30th Wedding Anniversary Present to each other!

Wonderful resort! Beautiful clean grounds and swimming pool areas. The staff is very friendly and made us feel special. Everyone always said "ola". The waiters were very kind and polite. The entertainment made it so fun, especially during the day hours around the pool. We especially give a shout out to "Willie Wonka". He is a hoot and is a class clown. Always made our day. Was fun watching the Super Bowl at the beach. It was a once in a lifetime to say we got to do that. Many people we met bragged about Ocean Blue being the nicest resort they have been too at the Dominican. So glad this was our first!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are a breakfast eater, the 1st morning I wasn't aware that the buffet closed by 10:30 am. There is Mike's Coffee shop that has pastries, but was to hard to hold me over until lunch! The buffet has a line for omelets, pancakes, smoothies. So go to those lines first if that is your preference. Is a safe bet to get there before 9 am.

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1HUSBAND
Business
PEKIN IL
Feb 4, 2013

Anniversary Trip

The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. The beach and water are beautiful and you can walk for miles in each direction, which me and my wife enjoy to do. The food was better than other resorts we have stayed at. The steak house was the best of the restaurants. If you like coffee you have to go to MIKES we went 3 times daily. The two large pools were nice and big never felt crowded. The staff was friendly and helpful but there is a language barrier you will have to work with. Most of the staff know a few words of English and we were able to get what we wanted.We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

MAKE SUR YOU MAKE ALL YOUR RESTURANT RESERVATIONS THE DAY YOU ARRIVE

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vicente G
Business
Winston Salem North Carolina
Dec 26, 2012

Good for the money

English is my second language so excuse my grammar. I’m from the Dominican Republic living in the USA, so I will be as honest as possible without being bias. Travelled from 12/17/12 to 12/21/12 with my wife. First the good Getting from the Punta Cana airport to the hotel was easy; we took a taxi for 38.00 US dollars. No need to book ahead of time. Usually that price will be the same upto 4 people. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the hotel. (Ocean Blue) Check in was easy and took about 3 minutes. Then, we got a tour of the hotel in a golf cart. I found it very informative. The hotel grounds were excellent, the place was very clean. The rooms were clean and organized, everything worked. The beach and pool were fantastic. Food was exceptional, we did not go to any of the restaurant, as the food in the main buffet was very good and the variety was good. The juice/ fruit bar was super. The papaya with milk was my favorite. Mike’s café was amazing; the specialty coffees were very good. My wife and I went there after every meal. The hotel was not crowed at all, taking to some of the guys that work in the hotel we found out that the high season start after Dec 20th and the internal tourism (locals) decreases significantly after 2nd week of December. For us this was the best time to go. Wi-Fi signal was good (free only in the lobby area) There was live music every night in the lobby area; the duo does a good job. Now the not so good. Our luggage took more than one hour to be delivered to our room, even after several calls. The sales people were very annoying, trying to sell time share. We received phone calls to our rooms 2 days in a row. I found it very discourteous for the guess to be called early in the morning interrupting our sleep. Also while we were getting to buffet, we got stop by the sales people. (You need to be firm and tell them “NO GRACIAS, NO ESTAMOS INTERESADOS” I think the animation staff is ok. I found some of the dancing was a little vulgar, especially when the guys were dancing in front of the people. The housekeeping personnel were a bit loud in the morning for people that like to sleep in. I will recommend carrying your luggage to the room if is not too much, also bringing everything that you need. The prices in the hotel shops are ridiculously high. Regarding the sales people, put the things clear from the beginning tell them “NO” (if you are not interested) so they do not bother you anymore. Overall it was good value for the money. We enjoyed our stay. I will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jlefkowitz
Business
Sebastian, FL, USA
Nov 14, 2012

Average

Went for a wedding, which was a lot of fun. The Spa was really nice. Great massage. The hotel itself is nothing special. Service was poor. Food was hit&miss. Timeshare salesmen approach you everywhere you go. No hot tub. Hallways and corridors flood and pool water after it rains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deko
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 14, 2012

Beautiful facility; wonderful vacation.

Fantastic. Beautiful facility, picturesque beach, great pools and phenomenal staff. Wonderful food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Blue and Sand Beach Resort- Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackiebr
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2012

amazing!

Loved my experience at ocean blue! The room was clean and very spacious, food was amazing, pool clean and not crowded at all, beach too much seaweed but, entertainment staff were beyond funny and great. drinks were awesome and buffet was really good. The night show is fun, karaoke and bachata dancing at night. No need to change dollars to pesos they take dollars everywhere. resort has a trolley but didnt really use it...its nice to walk and just enjoy the sun. The cab ride was 40$ and 38$ to go back to the airport for 3 people. The air port and hotel will provide you with transportation once you get there!, which I think is cheaper than booking online. & do not fall for the free breakfast an resort tour all they want is to try to sell you some travel hotel package. I was warned by others so I didnt waste my time with that. any questions, feel free to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top