$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa
May 27, 2008

RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!

I don?t know WHERE to start, this was my FAR the WORST hotel experience EVER! From check-in to check out there was problem after problem after problem!! Check-in It took me 5 hours to check in.. after flying all day this was the LAST thing I expected. I have traveled many a MDW weekend and although fully staffed, the front desk was fully unprepared. Food Awful, from the buffet to the buffet to the sit-down make reservation dinners. The Brazilian ? avoid it if you can.. the Buffets.. were hit and miss.. they had some edible veggies and fruit.. but uhmk goodness we went off site a few times to eat. I would have lost twenty pounds! The Oriental, Home Run (poolside restaurant), and the late night Pizza place was the best thing there.. I will say the Pizza was extremely good and the staff there was excellent, especially considering how busy they were every night! THE BLACKOUT AND LACK OF RUNNING WATER The hotel had TWO blackouts and no running water for HOURS! I was furious because we had just come back from swimming with the sharks and snorkeling anddddddddddddd I needed a shower! Staff I can only name 3 people (plus our maid) that was extremely friendly to me in the hotel.. Just about everyone from the front desk, including management, to the security were so rude it?s sickening. The pool was fair.. they need to redo the lining in the pool, but the grounds were immaculate. BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT my dress and shoes, as well as my girlfriend?s cover-up and shoes were taken from the pool while WE WERE THERE?! I just cannot believe it!! If I can?t say anything else, everything OUTSIDE of the rooms was well-kept - definitely the only selling point of this poorly run establishment! Mangu?s was fun (club connected to the hotel), however, we did not get there until super late.. seeing they are open until 6/7am! The music was great and the set-up was very nice. All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel to my worse enemy! They need a makeover in rooms AND staff AND not to mention the FOOD!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Jellyfish - it is the bestest restaurant ever!! Food, location, and view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jan 6, 2008

WORST experience EVER!!!

This was easily the worst travel experience of my life and I travel quite frequently. Everything that could have gone wrong, did. Our toilets were leaking and over-flowing, the ceiling was leaking. We were forced to stay in a room with a few inches of standing water. The hotel did NOTHING to accomodate us!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

tours scheduled through hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MichPete
Business
Wakefield, MA
Mar 6, 2009

You wont get what you pay Orbitz for...

We booked a Royal Club Junior Suite thru Orbitz, we checked in an they brought us to a room. Not the room we paid for. We spent 2 days fighting with the hotel and the Orbitz Representative on site and the issue was not resolved. The hotel itself was dirty, the food bad, and if you want to go off the resort, don't bother.. it's even worse out there. The weather was warm, and the ocean nice, but don't think you will sit on the beach in peace.. there are walking vendors that harass you all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Died in DR
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 1, 2009

Worst Trip of My Life!!!!

The one thing positive I will say is the place was clean, however NO ONE spoke English even in the resort and the largest pool was empty the first two days I was there. Without the pool there was not much to do, the beach was nice but they gave me towel vouchers but noone knew where to get them. There was a club on site and that was the salvation for everyone, However, I never found out..... I was on my death bed. We also had a blackout in our building with no explanation not to mention they hound you constantly to attend timeshare demonstrations. Oh and the food almost KILLED me. After day two I stayed alive by eatting only pineapples and toast. The climax to the trip.... Wait for it...... I paid for a round trip shuttle to/from the airport and it never showed up and I had to pay additional for a cab in order to not miss by blessed plane ride home. The DR is dead to me ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a tough stomach and speak Spanish.... Try it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Aug 4, 2009

Were Do I Begin from bad to worseeee....

Were do i begin, got there air conditioning did not work in the room, argued for 2 hours until they switch my room terrible.the air condition was still terrible. then finally got that , thought i was going out to a nice dinner. the food was inedible, i wouldnt feed it to my dog literally i kid you not. My friend ordered beef medallions in which we are still waiting to recieve his dinner 5 days later.. No one spoke english. the liquor was bottom of the barrel. Soo the 2nd day i paid 300 more to upgrade to the royal club to get better liquor and food,which they considered absolut the top shelf and the food got a little better but had to pay for it.. DO not stay here you will get sickk. and do room was cleaned terribly there was still soap scum on the toilets and no towels folded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, new York city
Aug 18, 2009

The worst vacation ever

It was the worst they didn't have our room we had to sleep in another hotel that we didn't pay for it. The rooms smell and my bed had ants. The staff are super rude and unprofessional. I would not ever go back or book with orbits. I went to have a good time but I didn't enjoy anything. I'm demanding for orbits to do something because I book with you guys thinking that I was going to have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angela disappointed traveler
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 19, 2009

August Trip

The hotel was overbooked and we were sent to another hotel, and then had to come back to that hotel. So we moved multiple times within our 3 night stay. Horrible experience!!! Not relaxing at all. I am a returning guest both of Punta Cana as well as this resort, but this trip was not good!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Nov 21, 2009

Looks can decieve

I was so excited for this trip and was completely disappointed from day one. Our room was absolutely disgusting. Rust around the toilet, scum on all the fixtures in the bathroom, room had musty smell, moldy and dirty lamp shades, a fan that didn't work, patio door that didn't lock and only a few channels on the television. We asked several times to upgrade our room and was told that the hotel was completley booked. We were not happy with our room until the 3rd day of our trip after going to the front desk several times a day for a new room. The staff was not very friendly with an acception of a few staff members. The food was not that good all around. The hotel needed a major update. Overall we ended up not having a good vacation because the first few days of trying to get a new room really drained all of our excitment. Definitely not a place that I would return too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 29, 2009

Never Again !! Food Bug !! or E.Coli !!

We don't know where to start but [...] should be ashamed to sale this hotel to anyone ,the same goes to American Airlines . No Hospitality at all and no respect just lies and rudeness to English speaking people. Beware many people had food poisoning including 4 members of our family . Plus big musty smell from mildew in many rooms .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short 20min walk on the beach to the left Aldi Booth Good price for everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monmouth County NJ
Dec 8, 2009

Misery

Simply put...the worst vacation I've ever been on. The Hotel is a horrible place. Every American staying there felt the same way. Many actually packed up and left. Food and beverage just horrible....and will make you sick. The rooms are really run down and hardly air conditioned. DO NOT go to this hotel if you are used to the American standard of living!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top