$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 177
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Domingo Of The Dtrain
Business
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2013

summer fun

Staff is very friendly food is good nothing to complain about very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all the restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappygirlClaude
Business
New York, NY
Jan 28, 2014

What a great Vacation.

Everyone was soooo friendly and helpful. If I had a request, it was taken care of it right away. It was such a great experience. Thank you. I will always search your side now for good deals. The Hotel, the staff and the food was so amazing and great. The Buffet had so many choices and it tasted delicous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No hint because everything was so good. You could not go wrong. The food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mfc85
Business
New Jersey
Jun 24, 2014

Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I noticed was it was mostly families/couples, which was contrary to reviews that I read online before going. Maybe it was the time of year that I went (mid-June) ? I would definitely go back, but only with a girlfriend/spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Mostly everything in the gift shop is expensive (sunblock cost me $30, and when you factor in different SPFs for face and body, you will probably need more than one bottle). It might be worth it to bring your own and pay to check a bag on the flight over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stunninglife
Business
St. Paul, MN USA
Feb 4, 2010

Quite Good!

I was only there for maybe 10 hours overnight before moving to a different resort where I was to stay for five days. The stay at Occidental was only intended to be very short. It all looked good though! It looked like a "10" for spring break people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All-Inclusive bargin hunter
Business
New York City, New York
May 9, 2010

"Small Treasure All-Inclusive"

Selected this all inclusive based exclusively on low price. Was prepared to find just OK hotel and was very surprised to find all ammenities superior, with friendly staff. Grounds and beaches are beautifully maintained. (Be prepared to be pressed to join "VIP Club" with special suites, private dining and beach. OK perks if you want to shell out thousands for a lifetime contract!) Was more that happy with my "regular" room and beach. Very convenient to be able to pay in dollars for incidentals and tips. Will definatly return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take to beach the bottles of water provided in your room refrigerator. Saves trips back and forth from beach to nearby buffet restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester Co. N.Y.
May 11, 2010

Hard work that pays off !

I keep my vacations simple, I like to relax on the beach , eat good interesting food and meet nice people. I expect everything to be in working order in my room and assume it will be cleaned daily. I expect that the resort also will make every attempt to maintain it's appearance. This is the second time I have visited Occidental Grand , and hopeful not my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilmington de
Aug 17, 2010

my hotel stay was great!!

the price of the hotel as well as my stay at the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Murphyr
Business
Hamilton
Apr 23, 2012

wedding in punta cana

for a wedding it was unorganized. For a vacation it was quite lovely. Staff were amazing. All wanted to go that extra level for you. Wish there was a disco on the resort that was all inclusive drinks. Entertainment at night was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 25, 2009

June 18

It was great but the food was not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LakersSinceDa80s
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Jun 15, 2009

Brutally Honest review...plz post!

Basically everything was cool until the last night...when i slipped down some stairs do to a bad, or lack of a dry job.(lawsuit any1?)..mix that in with a on-site hospital staff of 1..and you are getting wheel-chaired around the airports(those who have recently traveled might have seen me in either Philly, Vegas, or PC)...all 3 of them due to orbits finding me the cheapest way to my destination(no matter how long it takes)..(that's another story).. Food:...nothing but pizza for me, with the occasional piece of bacon and toast...i was told by some1 with more experience than i to stay away from anything creamy, that includes scrambled eggs....Omelets which are made fresh before u r good to go...never got a chance to eat at a reserved dinner..tho i made plenty of reservations...due to the fact that i was wasted by 5..just being honest..all i can say is drinks like "ready to go" and anything else they light on fire need to their consumption limited. Drinks: guess i just covered that..."Dominican flag"..not a bad option.."ready to go" will have u ready to go somewhere....bed, club, pool...it will also warm u up pretty nice...Be aware! Anything that gets lit up is really that fire! meaning it will do the trick..just give it time Hotel..Grounds/Rooms: Start with the grounds..immaculate, clean pools crystal clear, chlorine content just right, pools cleaned what seemed nightly...beaches had white sands turquoise waters...now every1 complains about the bites they receive and the # of...i will say this, i didn't get bit until i went out on the beach in the early morning like 3-8a.m. before the sun was out to scare the critters away..b4 then i had none, and all of the people i spoke with had none either...so i'm not sure about all the talk...but none the less i did end up bitten so i guess its a tolerance thing..to each their own..Rooms: i was on the first floor of building 25 pool-side view.(darn) but it was cool, (btw they claimed this was an upgrade when i checked in the guy made sure to repeat it several times) even when it did rain i was never flooded, there is a slight musk to the room but i wasn't in it long enough to complain, and the maid started overfilling my fridge with brews so i really couldn't complain...(California Charm, not every1 has it, so don't expect the same treatment if u don't deserve it)j/k maybe she was just being nice, but when i first checked in there were no comp beers. but i digress.... Nightlife: After 1a.m. its Club Mangu, then there's Mangu, and after that more Mangu...other than Mangu, its a wrap, from a single man's perspective...B4 1a.m. feel free to take in the nightly entertainment..i usually didn't wake up until about 1030 - 11...(remember i was normally out by five), but some people seemed to enjoy it. Around 1130 - 1p.m. there is a nice show in the lobby, dancing/mingling, and whatnot..oh yea not to mention the mob at the bar where every1 drinks as much as they can b4 1a.m....after that u r paying for drinks at Mangu.the shocker $5 USD for the same free water they just gave u next door, unless u look at the bartender like he/she is crazy, then u might git a free 1 (i did), if i remember correctly alcoholic beverages were 5 or 7 $USD..did i mention that's the last thing to do after dark...Great thing about the club and why i liked it so much is the fact that it doesnt close until its empty..thats like 6 or 7 on a good night/morning...saturday was by far the most happening night...during the week so-so...two floors 1st is salsa, 2nd hip-hop/techno/anything else...u stay there too long and songs begin to get repeated. Domincan Girls, most if not all in that tourist trap are "tutes" or "stutes" as some of my friends from the Mid-west call em...i stayed away, but the Canadians are "friendly" and i'll leave it at that. Now if ur female and WITHOUT male company be prepared to be HOUNDED!/SWARMED/FOLLOWED/BORDERLINE HARASSED..by Dominican Males...they were my main comp..so fellas step ur GA...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top