$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat, DC Native
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2009

Great family getaway

The property and rooms were very well kept and attended to. The lighting was very good and made us feel safe when walking at night. The entertainment was awesome, something for everyone. When reporting a problem with the water not draining properly in the shower, it was fixed within 36 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the all inclusive deal to include the motorized water sports. Several restaurants to choose from, but reservations are a must at specific ones. The buffet was well staffed and displayed an excellent variety of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshall, California
Nov 20, 2009

Great location for the price

We were very dissappointed in the food for an all inclusive resort and the availability of the restaurants. The restaurants were not full at all so I think they could accomidate more people. The beach & pools were absolutely beautiful. The snorkeling was not good at all. The rooms were fine and very spacious. All of the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 27, 2009

Occidental Flamenco

Overall a good stay, the beach was a little packed at times, but what else can you expect from such a beautiful location.. start your day early! Enjoy every moment of sunshine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure that you book your reservations for dining as soon as you check in, they get very packed. The Oriental Restaurant was NOT good, the rest were awesome, especially the Lobster House (which is NOT inclusive)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolat Chocolat
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 9, 2009

First All-Inclusive

I thought that for my first all-inclusive it was very nice. The beach and pool (main reason for going) was great not one complaint. The food was decent but to make reservations for restaurants was a hassle and there was little room available. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stunninglife
Business
St. Paul, MN USA
Feb 4, 2010

Quite Good!

I was only there for maybe 10 hours overnight before moving to a different resort where I was to stay for five days. The stay at Occidental was only intended to be very short. It all looked good though! It looked like a "10" for spring break people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falmouth MA
Apr 17, 2010

Good Value but needs updating

This is our 3rd time to Punta Cana. Food was very good compared to Natura Park - did not get sick. Hotel is pushing tourist to join their vacation club. They should put more effort in updating their rooms. Very good walking paths to beach. Drinks were plentiful. Speciality restaurants were excellent. The process to make reservations was slow - wait in line beginning at 8:00 am. The hotel was 30 minutes from airport. Taxi rate is fixed at $35. for two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shopping huts along beach - don't bother going into town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All-Inclusive bargin hunter
Business
New York City, New York
May 9, 2010

"Small Treasure All-Inclusive"

Selected this all inclusive based exclusively on low price. Was prepared to find just OK hotel and was very surprised to find all ammenities superior, with friendly staff. Grounds and beaches are beautifully maintained. (Be prepared to be pressed to join "VIP Club" with special suites, private dining and beach. OK perks if you want to shell out thousands for a lifetime contract!) Was more that happy with my "regular" room and beach. Very convenient to be able to pay in dollars for incidentals and tips. Will definatly return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take to beach the bottles of water provided in your room refrigerator. Saves trips back and forth from beach to nearby buffet restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester Co. N.Y.
May 11, 2010

Hard work that pays off !

I keep my vacations simple, I like to relax on the beach , eat good interesting food and meet nice people. I expect everything to be in working order in my room and assume it will be cleaned daily. I expect that the resort also will make every attempt to maintain it's appearance. This is the second time I have visited Occidental Grand , and hopeful not my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 16, 2010

Great experience!

The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. There is always something to do and the resort is a great experience.The entertainment staff will make sure you have a great time! Be careful of the taxi's and be sure to learn a little Spanish before venturing off the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 'mercado' (market) a short walk from the hotel. Here you can by all the souvenirs you desire! La Plaza Real is where they would like to send you but it is horribly overpriced. Don't be afraid to bargain down your prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Lopez
Business
Puerto Rico
May 19, 2010

This is a great resort for stay, but...

Im celebrating my anniversary at Occidental Grand, When we arrive to the hotel our first look, was fantastic for us, when we arrive to the room i started to inspected and we found that the lock of the window was breaked, the iron clothes dosen't function, and the room smell humidity. So the room was not very clean at all, Oviously i informed inmediatly and they come really fast to resolve the room's problem. So I have to give an A for the general service of the Hotel. I recommend the four track travel and carry some money with you to buy coffee and chocolate to a beautiful family on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top