$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 177
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
phrenic enigma
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 18, 2014

worst resort I've stayed at

The resort is old and falling apart. The lobby chairs are stained, with rips and holes in the cushions, the structure of the furniture is also falling apart, even burn holes on the tables. The walk ways are falling apart w holes and that is dangerous. I have never seen a pool in such need of repair, the chunks of concrete out, the grate around the pool falling apart and I almost fell. The plant pots are also chipped and falling apart. Very few flowers, many dried out and half dead. The curbs and mason work falling apart. I wasn't there 3 hrs when I was harassed as many times to go to their seminar so they could try to sell me a timeshare. I said no and no and no, but was harassed. He told me to help him because he makes commission, and he wouldn't stop asking me daily. I complained to the front desk about the terrible resort, being harassed, and upgraded my bracelet only to the royal club so I could get better surroundings. Of course I paid for it. NO apologies or embarrassment or free or discounted upgraded bracelet not even room. Well the royal club wasn't much better. The walk ways, floors, ect falling apart and dirty. The beach club staff just stood around on their cell phones often. Empty beer cans and cups around, dirty towels, sand everywhere, they never offered service you had to go ask for service. Often barmaid would have to go to get some stock - cuz she couldn't do it while wasting her time doing nothing, only when someone wanted something and made them wait. They didn't replenish towels so they were out early in the am. The food in the royal club dining room was ok but same menu every single day. Our last dinner there we were practically ignored, no bread offered or given, took forever to take our order and after food received we never saw them again. The buffet food was not very good and nearly the same everyday and the service wasn't good either, had to go get own drinks because none offered one time and another we sat w empty glasses. And most of the "hot" food was cold to tepid. I am a very early riser and there was no where to get coffee until 7am. The safe in the room was older than dirt! and you had to pay to use it. No free wifi unless upgraded and then only available at beach club. The ceiling fan in our room shook so bad like it was going to fly off the ceiling so we didn't use it. I spoke w people who loved the resort - I have no idea how anyone can think a resort falling apart and subpar service is great. I have many pictures to prove my points. I would NEVER return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cristina and Chris
Business
NYC
Apr 18, 2014

Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the night shows. I want to recognize and thank Marcelo from the front desk because he was exceptional. He demonstrated a true interest and dedication to ensure that me and my wife had a wonderful time in the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel and their overall service! Cristina and Chris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pagdo
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jan 22, 2014

Better than 3 stars

The place was very good. The best beach in Bavaro. The food wasn't that good and everyday the same. In the fifth day you need to go out and eat something better and new. The town near the hotel is awful, you wont like to go anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmaraden
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 22, 2014

hotel was overbooked

Lost one full day of our vacation. ..changing hotels out before noon at one. And could not check in til 3. So sitting in lobby with luggage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
linda cher
Business
NYC
Dec 25, 2013

FRAUDULENT CREDIT CARD CHARGES. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Was frauded and scammed by vacation club people. Beware. Jose Severino and a woman named Felicia. I will be contacting the authorities about this resort. This is apart from the water bugs found in the room and housekeeping staff that was barely present. STAY FAR AWAY! Stayed December 2013

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary ramirez
Business
punta cana
Sep 3, 2013

family vacation of 17 people

*WARNING* WATCH OUT WITH IS MOTEL. This does not deserve to be call a resort. I was here with a party of 17 people week of Aug. 24-31 ,2013. This place is horrible. I have been to all-inclusive before in other countries and in Punta Cana before, but this place deserves 2stars if that. Here is a list why not to go to this place. Rooms disgusting and out dated, bathroom tub dirty with mildew and small bugs around sink, also found mildew on pillows on beds. Friends room had no A/C, they wouldn't clean your room until 5-7pm. Electric would go out certain times of day, also the water. One time I was in the lobby at 1:00am it went out, you couldn't see your hand in front of you. They wouldn't tell you when it would go out. Entertainment was a POOR thing to see, music will shut off by pools after 6pm for the rest of the night. There are 3 pools, the front one the largest of them all was missing 2feet of water, also if you need a towel you would have to go walk about 10 min to get one if they had clean ones or if it was still open. Also bathrooms you had to take a walk to find one and if you were a the last pool and it closed it meant to have to walk 10min . Service was HORRIBLE and with an ADDITUDE and SLOW. You would order a drink get it 15 to 20 min later or not at all. Couldn't get tables to eat even if we saw sections open. Food could of been better also, Had to eat a lot on buffet, cause the restaurants they had you have to make RSVP . There was only 4, steakhouse closed said repairing, and only allowed 3 RSVP per week of stay. Could only eat once at each restaurant if they have time available and that was a problem too to make. And we saw tables open that could be filled. There is so much to keep going on about this place, but this is a WARNING on this place, whoever gives this place three stars and more, does not or has never been to a 4 to 5 star RESORT. This is a motel with three pools that's it. Ramirez 10201

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The full sun
Business
Miami
Jun 24, 2013

The best vacation.

The hotel is clean.the Food is fresh .you feel in family.everythings is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mario Yira
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 4, 2013

Very Cozy

The reception was great and the entertainment was nice the kids section was great so we could have our own time while my son played with the other kids . Good choice for the value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dico called Mangu on the side of the hotel maybe 200 yards from reception area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodida
Business
Puerto Plata
Jan 18, 2013

the best

Everything was perfect hotel,staff,location and activities My experience was fantastic. I will suggest to my family and friends. Also, I planner to come back in my next vacation Thank You to all staff people was so nice Roxana

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowball19
Business
Westchester, ny
Jan 6, 2013

Relaxing family vacation

Just returned from an enjoyable family vacation with my 2 college aged children. We enjoyed the well maintained grounds, pool, and beach and came home thoroughly relaxed. The only negatives were the vendors hawking wares and timeshares and the competition to reserve beach chairs. Other than that it was a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Wake up early and reserve beach chairs by putting towel and personal items on chairs before 7:00 am

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top