$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
172 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.6957 -68.4355
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ).
Area description
Area attractions include casinos, golf, and tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodida
Puerto Plata
Jan 18, 2013

the best

Everything was perfect hotel,staff,location and activities My experience was fantastic. I will suggest to my family and friends. Also, I planner to come back in my next vacation Thank You to all staff people was so nice Roxana

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Micki and Steve
new York, NY
Oct 25, 2011

Great overal!

I was put in a room on the second floor, cause of a bad knee I asked for a room on a first floor. They did not have a Jr suite on a first floor, so they gave us an ocean view for the same price. The staff was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations early

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 2, 2008

great atmosphere

The staff was very very friendly..beach and pool were great..the room was clean..good variety of food..Great club on premises..Overall, had an awesome time and will definetly go back there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mai Tai's were the best drinks they made!!!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corrie's mom
Alliance, Ohio
May 2, 2009

The best vacation

This was the best vacation we have ever had. The hotel staff was wonderful. The food was average. The place was extremely clean. I have recommended this hotel chain to everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Book your dinner reservations once you arrive

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wadley
New Jersey
Apr 24, 2009

I've stayed with Occidental

excellent get away. Poor lighting in the rooms. Dinner reservations too hard to deal with overall great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just eat the food in the outside cafes

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent DR traveler
Dallas, TX
May 10, 2012

Great place if your young and just want to have fun!!!

I have been to the Dominican Republic 19 times and have stayed at several different hotels. I feel that the Occidental Grand gives you exactly what you pay for. The rooms were clean and well stocked. Our air conditioner broke on Day 4 and it was fixed within 2 hrs. All the staff were SUPER friendly and are willing to assist with everything that you might need. The food is great if you like buffet style which offers something for everybody. The beach was always nice and there were plenty of spaces to lay out on the beach as well as the pool. The best part of the hotel is the nightclub Mangu! It is a tourist and local favorite in all of Punta Cana. As someone who can really speak from experience, you really get what you pay for and its a good time. I see other people complaining but hey you are not staying at the Ritz Carlton remember that and you will have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Best nightclub in Punta Cana

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 19, 2008

Nice Vacation

They kept the place very clean. the ocean was right by our room. Went swiming every day and had a great time. The place was very beatiful, the service was good and so was the food. My wife and I would like to go there again. We took alot of pictures to show ore family. We really have a nice time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan, NY
Jun 20, 2009

AMAZINGGGG

This was one of the best vacation resorts I have been to in quite some time. It was gorgeous and the food was great. Our room was very spacious and for the price, I was floored! We had a huge bed, sitting area and a breakfast terrace. There were lots of kids around, but they didn't get in our way because the resort was so large. The kids and families primarily stayed around the pools and adult couples stayed on the beach. I'm guessing thats why it was so peaceful and quiet. Also, even though there were plenty of kids and families there, none were in our building. They group people staying with children in on the opposite side of the resort so if you don't have kids, you won't be bothered. We never had an issue getting a dinner reservation -- maybe because we are early risers, but it wasn't an issue. The specialty restaurants were very romantic and initmate. The beachside lunch buffet was our favorite place to eat. the food was seasoned really well and fresh. The fruit was amazingly fresh and sweet. The activities were really free and a great time. Oh- the beach was beautiful.. white sand, warm clear blue water. The club Mangu was also a very very good time. I was hesitant about it, but they played music for everyone, primarily music from DR.. which was expected- but very fun. The staff was very very pleasant even though they didn't speak much english- but they knew the basics so it was never a problem. I lift weights, so I was surprised when i seen the gym with the equiptment i use. It wasn't 'state-of-the-art" but it got the job done, and better than the nautilus equiptment at the Westin's and Hiltons. I have been to the carribean several times and this was by far a great CHEAP trip. I will definitely be going back - next time with the children. I'm not really sure what all the other people are saying about this resort but I went with lower expectations because the price was so cheap.. and was blown away. I got far more than I paid for this trip, and had a great time the wholel time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The party boat was sooo fun.. thats all I can say.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
Sep 12, 2007

family friendly

This hotel was very clean,the staff was very friendly. FOOD WAS GREAT. Entertainment need sosome inprovement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

you can save 50% or more on gifts shops out of the hotel.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
May 2, 2009

Great time!

The hotel was beautiful! We got upgraded to a suite right next to the beach with a beautiful balcony. The food wasnt amazing every time we ate but that was the least of our worries! I could not have asked for a better time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top