$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shank100
Business
Thibodaux, La
Aug 1, 2010

Good Hotel could be so much better.

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is friendly. I really enjoyed my stay there but sometime it could be a challenge. I was ask at least thirty times to attend a time share meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Jul 21, 2010

Punta Cana Occidental

I went on many trips around the country and it was great. The Safari adventure, boogy, Soana Island, and going to the city of Bavaro was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to purchase items at a reasonable price, please go to the city... Never shop at the resort or in trips because they're expensive...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 6, 2010

Occidental Grand-Not what I expected.

Not what I expected. It appears that thay have stopped putting money back into the hotel. My wife arrived a day earlier and they made her walk with her luggage to the room( they did have someone help with some of the luggage). The staff is great and friendly. I always compare the places that I visit to Cancun and unfortunately neither the hotel or beach compared to Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

stay in the hotel and do not go out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed S
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 13, 2010

Occidental was an Accidental Mistake!!

We stayed here for 9 days. I wish we would have chosen a different hotel. First of all, we walked into the hotel after being in the airport all day from delayed flights and expected to walk in and have excellent service while checking in. That is not what we got. We had to wait for the receptionist to come out and it took 20 minutes then we had to wait to be taken to our room. Walked into a musty odor which remained for our stay. Then one night we were woken up by this horrible swamp smell. It took us 2 hours to fall asleep! Also, the bathroom was in need of a renovation. We found bugs crawling every day and the shower heads had no water pressure. Food was what you would expect of an all-inclusive restaurant. Nothing spectacular! The wait staff was very attentive, but the rest of the hotel staff was rude! The nightly entertainment was horrible and boring! I don't know why they call it fun club! The only good thing here was the beach! The pool was always packed with the 18-20 year old crowd. You could never find lounge chairs. Bottom line...don't stay here! It should be a 2 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 10, 2010

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclus

I don't like this Hotel, to old and the food are not do good,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

that the most i like the entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Milosmar
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 10, 2010

Excellent location for the price

Occidental Grand is a fairly new hotel at the Punta Cana area. It still need to fix the main entrance since it is smelly. But once your are in the facility, the rooms are comfortable, the pool is great, and the buffet is very good. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach area is also very nice. Be carefull to ask for bottled water all the time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Lopez
Business
Puerto Rico
May 19, 2010

This is a great resort for stay, but...

Im celebrating my anniversary at Occidental Grand, When we arrive to the hotel our first look, was fantastic for us, when we arrive to the room i started to inspected and we found that the lock of the window was breaked, the iron clothes dosen't function, and the room smell humidity. So the room was not very clean at all, Oviously i informed inmediatly and they come really fast to resolve the room's problem. So I have to give an A for the general service of the Hotel. I recommend the four track travel and carry some money with you to buy coffee and chocolate to a beautiful family on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 16, 2010

Great experience!

The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. There is always something to do and the resort is a great experience.The entertainment staff will make sure you have a great time! Be careful of the taxi's and be sure to learn a little Spanish before venturing off the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 'mercado' (market) a short walk from the hotel. Here you can by all the souvenirs you desire! La Plaza Real is where they would like to send you but it is horribly overpriced. Don't be afraid to bargain down your prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester Co. N.Y.
May 11, 2010

Hard work that pays off !

I keep my vacations simple, I like to relax on the beach , eat good interesting food and meet nice people. I expect everything to be in working order in my room and assume it will be cleaned daily. I expect that the resort also will make every attempt to maintain it's appearance. This is the second time I have visited Occidental Grand , and hopeful not my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All-Inclusive bargin hunter
Business
New York City, New York
May 9, 2010

"Small Treasure All-Inclusive"

Selected this all inclusive based exclusively on low price. Was prepared to find just OK hotel and was very surprised to find all ammenities superior, with friendly staff. Grounds and beaches are beautifully maintained. (Be prepared to be pressed to join "VIP Club" with special suites, private dining and beach. OK perks if you want to shell out thousands for a lifetime contract!) Was more that happy with my "regular" room and beach. Very convenient to be able to pay in dollars for incidentals and tips. Will definatly return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take to beach the bottles of water provided in your room refrigerator. Saves trips back and forth from beach to nearby buffet restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top