$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 9, 2011

Beautiful beach

The beach was beautiful, clean and safe. The pools and grounds very nice. The food was OK, a lot of variety to choose from at the buffet, we tried the Mexican restaurant but were disappointed, the salad was old and the fish looked like they brought up from the buffet, nothing special. The entertainment every night was EXCELLENT! The vendors were too much to put up with, very pushy and constantly after you, couldn't move without finding 2 or 3 around you. When we arrived our room was not ready, at 7 p.m. we were given a room at building 22 very run down, leaking toilet, flimsy door lock and only 1 king size bed when we were 3 people, we called reception asking for another bed and never came, next day after 2 p.m. we were moved to a room in building 11 wish was very good. We were not the only one moving rooms, it seems that it was a routine. I think the problem is that they overbook and when you arrive if they don't have you room they put you in one of the other buildings that are very deteriorated. One day they even asked for volunteer to be moved to a different hotel for a night. The service people at the bars, buffet and front desk were very nice and happy all the time. Overall we relaxed and enjoyed our vacation, but next time we look for a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take lot of single dollar bill with you for tips or shopping, it seems like they never have change.And always BARGAIN.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Great food, great beach, needs some org.

Our ground transportation (Coco Tours) that we booked through Cheap Tickets was not good. They kept us waiting for about 45 minutes until they loaded us in a van. When we arrived at the hotel after midnight, they did not have a room available for us, and put us up in their Royal Club for one night. This was a huge inconvenience. The rest of our time at this hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Restaurant was very good, however we would not go back to the Steakhouse. We ordered Ribeye Steak, and it appeared to have been boiled, and did not taste good. We ate at the buffet for the rest of our 10 day stay, and they actually had a wide variety of good meals.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Great food, great beach, needs some org.

Our ground transportation (Coco Tours) that we booked through Cheap Tickets was not good. They kept us waiting for about 45 minutes until they loaded us in a van. When we arrived at the hotel after midnight, they did not have a room available for us, and put us up in their Royal Club for one night. This was a huge inconvenience. The rest of our time at this hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Restaurant was very good, however we would not go back to the Steakhouse. We ordered Ribeye Steak, and it appeared to have been boiled, and did not taste good. We ate at the buffet for the rest of our 10 day stay, and they actually had a wide variety of good meals.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Do I need a nickname?
Business
Brooklyn New York
Jan 24, 2011

Don't Choose for the Food...

Hello all travelers...Just got back today, stayed 7-nights.This place is under a half an hour taxi ($35) ride from the airport.Beach is BEAUTIFUL, capital B.Ahhh, the food:Sit-down restaurants can be horrendous.Steakhouse -> old cow resembling a McRib sandwich.Italian -> dried out chicken served over, get this, mexican rice with mushrooms for an Italian accent.Mexican -> We were told BEWARE so we didn't go.Oriental -> Spicy tuna roll was really some dry rice wrapped around a piece of STARKIST tuna. Don't really know what the Miso soup was made from.Buffet -> Open for all three meals per day, gets kind of old after the third day.We were given two towel cards. Give two cards recieve two towels.Return two towels recieve two cards.If you don't return the cards...then...$20 each.One towel booth on the right side of the beach.Another just off the beach about two-hundred feet away.You really need to manage your time based upon these locations.If you are not a picky eater, this place offers a phenomenal beach, many drinking possibilities and somewhat cold staff. Every now and then we'd leave a tip for something or another. Upon arrival, our bellhop looked at me with disgust when I handed him two bucks...whatever!!!!!!!!!!!Oh, by the way, if you look at the website it states "special seafood dinner for all stays 5-nights or longer"...when I mentioned it to the concierge he looked at me as if I made this up...I repeated myself BOLDLY and suddenly he went on his computer and printed my reservation for Saturday at 9pm...the cost otherwise would be $44 per person...Let me tell you something...DO NOT PURCHASE A MEAL AT 'THE LOBSTER HOUSE'...absolute disgust...For free with 5-nights, ok, the location is right off of the beach.Oh...and also...two-year old American children speak and understand the English language better than 99% of the staff...good luck and don't leave the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

around 9pm every night...kind of fun.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 1, 2011

Below standard for an Occidental propert

Have stayed at other properties in the Occidental group that were superior. This property is in need of updating, in particular the rooms are dated with badly worn furnishings. Had to speak to guest services three times about no hot water for showers and after the third time the water was luke warm at best. The pools and beaches were very welcoming, the staff was very friendly and hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book reservations early for the a la carte restaurants as the seating times are limited and get filled quickly.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well rested after 5 days without kids
Business
Leominster, MA
Dec 19, 2010

No surprises here if you read reviews

Pools and beach are beautiful! Bartending staff is great. Waiters and waitress, not so much. I waited 30 minutes one morning for coffee that tastes like the bottom of the coffee pot. Dinner one night, I asked for coffee and it never came. Food was ok depending on the ethnicity of what they were serving...forget Italian, this is truly not Italy! Mexican was by far the best. Our room was just that, a room...View was nice and bed was very comfortable. The room above us, the tub leaked into ours, we showered when they were not. We had a great time and would go again, most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. The price was right but we would try another hotel next time just to see what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you have plenty of tipping money...it was difficult and time consuming to find someone who could make change for a $20.00. the cashier in the hotel did not typically have money available to make change until lunch time and at that could only change $10.00.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Hotel was beautiful

Travel to the Hotel was easy,check in was easy, Hotel was beautiful. grounds were clean, people always working to keep it up. Transportation back to airport was easy. Beach was clean and nice. Rooms were nice and clean(ask for face cloths).Some of the issues we encountered were: Food,Breakfast was very good and they have a variety of foods, but thank goodness for Pizza(eat the pizza upstairs above the stage area) and Hotdogs. DONT EAT THE HAMBURGERS, THEY ARE NASTY. the specialty resturants always had tables empty even though when you make reservations they tell you there is no more room, we seen empty tables in resturants we tried to get into and were told there was no tables available for the time wanted. There were a few communication issues with the staff(could not change a $100 bill either at front desk or the casino and lady at buffet door would not let me back in after going to the mens room). Vendors that sell are very pushey. They do have alot of people selling excersions on the beach and hotel lobby, we did find a few to be real nice( [...]-on beach, [...]-usually in hotel lobby, look for the little black hat)these are nice people and very friendly. One thing I would recomend is to stay away from the people trying to sell timeshares under vacation clubs, they say it takes an Hour, but it turns into 3 hrs. hope you have $25,000 to buy into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

GET DOWN TO THE BEACH OR POOL EARLY, 6am-6:30AM TO PLACE YOUR TOWEL ON THE CHAIRS TO SAVE YOUR SPOT. IT GETS BUSY FAST IF IT IS SUNNY

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rhonda russell
Business
Queens NY
Sep 2, 2010

Good for a quick, quite getaway

We went parasailing, took a tour around the mediate vicinity and got massages, those were the mist enjoyable. The food was terrible!!! Had a much better stay in Cancun. We had literally all the staff making a sales pitch to get us to buy time shares, everyone looking for a tip, and of course the typical overworked staff. The hotels are not close to the local town so all the vendors tried, unsuccessfully, to charge an arm and a leg for their merchandise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The local town is approximately an hour away, take the bus for $4, the cabs charge "$300". You'll find stuff to take back home for little of nothing!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Associate
Business
New York City
Aug 24, 2010

I truely enjoyed my stay.

I relaxed either by the pool or at the beach. It was great just sleeping the day away when I wanted or exploring around the resort when I wanted to. What I did like was that the food was repetitive and unimaginable. They would have these theme dinner night like: Mexican, Italian, etc. But in reality its not. That's the only down side of the resort. There are restaurants on the premises, but I haven't tried them so I have nothing to say about it.But I heard that they are nothing to brag about, again though, don't quote me on that because I didn't try it. Be prepared, bring everything you will or think you will need with you: Shampoo,lotions,a lot of shirts/tops,your phone, etc. Bring enough money for activities and trips outside of the resort. They are going to be people walking around offering discounted activities and trips choose who you would like to do business with at your discretion. I enjoyed my trip, but everyone is different and you can't please everyone. What matters is the experience and the memories that you make.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The night entertainment was absolutely great, they really did a good job with that. I enjoyed them very much, the children's show is great if your traveling with kids. The show afterward is great and enjoyable and the after party AFTER the show beats club Mangu that is in the resort.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Associate
Business
New York City
Aug 24, 2010

I truely enjoyed my stay.

I relaxed either by the pool or at the beach. It was great just sleeping the day away when I wanted or exploring around the resort when I wanted to. What I did like was that the food was repetitive and unimaginable. They would have these theme dinner night like: Mexican, Italian, etc. But in reality its not. That's the only down side of the resort. There are restaurants on the premises, but I haven't tried them so I have nothing to say about it.But I heard that they are nothing to brag about, again though, don't quote me on that because I didn't try it. Be prepared, bring everything you will or think you will need with you: Shampoo,lotions,a lot of shirts/tops,your phone, etc. Bring enough money for activities and trips outside of the resort. They are going to be people walking around offering discounted activities and trips choose who you would like to do business with at your discretion. I enjoyed my trip, but everyone is different and you can't please everyone. What matters is the experience and the memories that you make.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The night entertainment was absolutely great, they really did a good job with that. I enjoyed them very much, the children's show is great if your traveling with kids. The show afterward is great and enjoyable and the after party AFTER the show beats club Mangu that is in the resort.

Back to menu Return to top