$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
wilmington de
Aug 17, 2010

my hotel stay was great!!

the price of the hotel as well as my stay at the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kisiamisia
Family
new york
Aug 16, 2010

the good,the bad

I love the landscaping; it was very well maintained. The swimming pool was great. The beach was beautiful. Food should have been better. We had to wait too long for the waiter to bring us some drinks. Tables were not ready for new customers; had to wait for cleaning. Rooms-I waited three days for them to fix my phone. One day the air-conditioner stopped working; next we did not have water for an hour. Rooms need some updating. Front desk staff was not reacting fast enough to my requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Come around 8 am to the beach and leave your towel on the chair,so later you have a place to stay under the umbrella during the day.Beach and swimming pool areas need more chairs and umbrellas.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NYC
Aug 15, 2010

Relaxing

Despite some bad reviews written by others....this is a nice resort. The one thing is that you need to know Spanish which would be helpful. They have many people that speak English, but remember that you are in there country. Quad excursion is nice..Zip lining nice...I heard about bad reviews on the Safari. You can meet a lot of nice people on the resort. You will be surprised how many people are from your own area.... Overall I had a good time... The food was better this time than the last....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining on premises were better than the last time. If you're not afraid....from other reviews...explore the town...there are a lot of nice places off the resort

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shank100
Couples
Thibodaux, La
Aug 1, 2010

Good Hotel could be so much better.

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is friendly. I really enjoyed my stay there but sometime it could be a challenge. I was ask at least thirty times to attend a time share meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Miami, Fl
Jul 21, 2010

Punta Cana Occidental

I went on many trips around the country and it was great. The Safari adventure, boogy, Soana Island, and going to the city of Bavaro was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to purchase items at a reasonable price, please go to the city... Never shop at the resort or in trips because they're expensive...

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles
Jul 6, 2010

Occidental Grand-Not what I expected.

Not what I expected. It appears that thay have stopped putting money back into the hotel. My wife arrived a day earlier and they made her walk with her luggage to the room( they did have someone help with some of the luggage). The staff is great and friendly. I always compare the places that I visit to Cancun and unfortunately neither the hotel or beach compared to Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

stay in the hotel and do not go out.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed S
Couples
Washington, DC
Jun 13, 2010

Occidental was an Accidental Mistake!!

We stayed here for 9 days. I wish we would have chosen a different hotel. First of all, we walked into the hotel after being in the airport all day from delayed flights and expected to walk in and have excellent service while checking in. That is not what we got. We had to wait for the receptionist to come out and it took 20 minutes then we had to wait to be taken to our room. Walked into a musty odor which remained for our stay. Then one night we were woken up by this horrible swamp smell. It took us 2 hours to fall asleep! Also, the bathroom was in need of a renovation. We found bugs crawling every day and the shower heads had no water pressure. Food was what you would expect of an all-inclusive restaurant. Nothing spectacular! The wait staff was very attentive, but the rest of the hotel staff was rude! The nightly entertainment was horrible and boring! I don't know why they call it fun club! The only good thing here was the beach! The pool was always packed with the 18-20 year old crowd. You could never find lounge chairs. Bottom line...don't stay here! It should be a 2 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Puerto Rico
Jun 10, 2010

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclus

I don't like this Hotel, to old and the food are not do good,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

that the most i like the entertainment

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Milosmar
Family
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 10, 2010

Excellent location for the price

Occidental Grand is a fairly new hotel at the Punta Cana area. It still need to fix the main entrance since it is smelly. But once your are in the facility, the rooms are comfortable, the pool is great, and the buffet is very good. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach area is also very nice. Be carefull to ask for bottled water all the time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Jersey
May 16, 2010

Great experience!

The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. There is always something to do and the resort is a great experience.The entertainment staff will make sure you have a great time! Be careful of the taxi's and be sure to learn a little Spanish before venturing off the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 'mercado' (market) a short walk from the hotel. Here you can by all the souvenirs you desire! La Plaza Real is where they would like to send you but it is horribly overpriced. Don't be afraid to bargain down your prices!

Back to menu Return to top