$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Family Trip, 2 adults, 4 children

This Hotel is fantastic. This is my 3rd visit, and I will come back. The Buffet restaurant is very... See full review

  • Padrote
  • Jan 7, 2015
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Do I need a nickname?
Business
Brooklyn New York
Jan 24, 2011

Don't Choose for the Food...

Hello all travelers...Just got back today, stayed 7-nights.This place is under a half an hour taxi ($35) ride from the airport.Beach is BEAUTIFUL, capital B.Ahhh, the food:Sit-down restaurants can be horrendous.Steakhouse -> old cow resembling a McRib sandwich.Italian -> dried out chicken served over, get this, mexican rice with mushrooms for an Italian accent.Mexican -> We were told BEWARE so we didn't go.Oriental -> Spicy tuna roll was really some dry rice wrapped around a piece of STARKIST tuna. Don't really know what the Miso soup was made from.Buffet -> Open for all three meals per day, gets kind of old after the third day.We were given two towel cards. Give two cards recieve two towels.Return two towels recieve two cards.If you don't return the cards...then...$20 each.One towel booth on the right side of the beach.Another just off the beach about two-hundred feet away.You really need to manage your time based upon these locations.If you are not a picky eater, this place offers a phenomenal beach, many drinking possibilities and somewhat cold staff. Every now and then we'd leave a tip for something or another. Upon arrival, our bellhop looked at me with disgust when I handed him two bucks...whatever!!!!!!!!!!!Oh, by the way, if you look at the website it states "special seafood dinner for all stays 5-nights or longer"...when I mentioned it to the concierge he looked at me as if I made this up...I repeated myself BOLDLY and suddenly he went on his computer and printed my reservation for Saturday at 9pm...the cost otherwise would be $44 per person...Let me tell you something...DO NOT PURCHASE A MEAL AT 'THE LOBSTER HOUSE'...absolute disgust...For free with 5-nights, ok, the location is right off of the beach.Oh...and also...two-year old American children speak and understand the English language better than 99% of the staff...good luck and don't leave the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

around 9pm every night...kind of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 1, 2011

Below standard for an Occidental propert

Have stayed at other properties in the Occidental group that were superior. This property is in need of updating, in particular the rooms are dated with badly worn furnishings. Had to speak to guest services three times about no hot water for showers and after the third time the water was luke warm at best. The pools and beaches were very welcoming, the staff was very friendly and hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book reservations early for the a la carte restaurants as the seating times are limited and get filled quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well rested after 5 days without kids
Business
Leominster, MA
Dec 19, 2010

No surprises here if you read reviews

Pools and beach are beautiful! Bartending staff is great. Waiters and waitress, not so much. I waited 30 minutes one morning for coffee that tastes like the bottom of the coffee pot. Dinner one night, I asked for coffee and it never came. Food was ok depending on the ethnicity of what they were serving...forget Italian, this is truly not Italy! Mexican was by far the best. Our room was just that, a room...View was nice and bed was very comfortable. The room above us, the tub leaked into ours, we showered when they were not. We had a great time and would go again, most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. The price was right but we would try another hotel next time just to see what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you have plenty of tipping money...it was difficult and time consuming to find someone who could make change for a $20.00. the cashier in the hotel did not typically have money available to make change until lunch time and at that could only change $10.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Hotel was beautiful

Travel to the Hotel was easy,check in was easy, Hotel was beautiful. grounds were clean, people always working to keep it up. Transportation back to airport was easy. Beach was clean and nice. Rooms were nice and clean(ask for face cloths).Some of the issues we encountered were: Food,Breakfast was very good and they have a variety of foods, but thank goodness for Pizza(eat the pizza upstairs above the stage area) and Hotdogs. DONT EAT THE HAMBURGERS, THEY ARE NASTY. the specialty resturants always had tables empty even though when you make reservations they tell you there is no more room, we seen empty tables in resturants we tried to get into and were told there was no tables available for the time wanted. There were a few communication issues with the staff(could not change a $100 bill either at front desk or the casino and lady at buffet door would not let me back in after going to the mens room). Vendors that sell are very pushey. They do have alot of people selling excersions on the beach and hotel lobby, we did find a few to be real nice( [...]-on beach, [...]-usually in hotel lobby, look for the little black hat)these are nice people and very friendly. One thing I would recomend is to stay away from the people trying to sell timeshares under vacation clubs, they say it takes an Hour, but it turns into 3 hrs. hope you have $25,000 to buy into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

GET DOWN TO THE BEACH OR POOL EARLY, 6am-6:30AM TO PLACE YOUR TOWEL ON THE CHAIRS TO SAVE YOUR SPOT. IT GETS BUSY FAST IF IT IS SUNNY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rhonda russell
Business
Queens NY
Sep 2, 2010

Good for a quick, quite getaway

We went parasailing, took a tour around the mediate vicinity and got massages, those were the mist enjoyable. The food was terrible!!! Had a much better stay in Cancun. We had literally all the staff making a sales pitch to get us to buy time shares, everyone looking for a tip, and of course the typical overworked staff. The hotels are not close to the local town so all the vendors tried, unsuccessfully, to charge an arm and a leg for their merchandise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The local town is approximately an hour away, take the bus for $4, the cabs charge "$300". You'll find stuff to take back home for little of nothing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Associate
Business
New York City
Aug 24, 2010

I truely enjoyed my stay.

I relaxed either by the pool or at the beach. It was great just sleeping the day away when I wanted or exploring around the resort when I wanted to. What I did like was that the food was repetitive and unimaginable. They would have these theme dinner night like: Mexican, Italian, etc. But in reality its not. That's the only down side of the resort. There are restaurants on the premises, but I haven't tried them so I have nothing to say about it.But I heard that they are nothing to brag about, again though, don't quote me on that because I didn't try it. Be prepared, bring everything you will or think you will need with you: Shampoo,lotions,a lot of shirts/tops,your phone, etc. Bring enough money for activities and trips outside of the resort. They are going to be people walking around offering discounted activities and trips choose who you would like to do business with at your discretion. I enjoyed my trip, but everyone is different and you can't please everyone. What matters is the experience and the memories that you make.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The night entertainment was absolutely great, they really did a good job with that. I enjoyed them very much, the children's show is great if your traveling with kids. The show afterward is great and enjoyable and the after party AFTER the show beats club Mangu that is in the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilmington de
Aug 17, 2010

my hotel stay was great!!

the price of the hotel as well as my stay at the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kisiamisia
Business
new york
Aug 16, 2010

the good,the bad

I love the landscaping; it was very well maintained. The swimming pool was great. The beach was beautiful. Food should have been better. We had to wait too long for the waiter to bring us some drinks. Tables were not ready for new customers; had to wait for cleaning. Rooms-I waited three days for them to fix my phone. One day the air-conditioner stopped working; next we did not have water for an hour. Rooms need some updating. Front desk staff was not reacting fast enough to my requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Come around 8 am to the beach and leave your towel on the chair,so later you have a place to stay under the umbrella during the day.Beach and swimming pool areas need more chairs and umbrellas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 15, 2010

Relaxing

Despite some bad reviews written by others....this is a nice resort. The one thing is that you need to know Spanish which would be helpful. They have many people that speak English, but remember that you are in there country. Quad excursion is nice..Zip lining nice...I heard about bad reviews on the Safari. You can meet a lot of nice people on the resort. You will be surprised how many people are from your own area.... Overall I had a good time... The food was better this time than the last....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining on premises were better than the last time. If you're not afraid....from other reviews...explore the town...there are a lot of nice places off the resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shank100
Business
Thibodaux, La
Aug 1, 2010

Good Hotel could be so much better.

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is friendly. I really enjoyed my stay there but sometime it could be a challenge. I was ask at least thirty times to attend a time share meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top