$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodida
Puerto Plata
Jan 18, 2013

the best

Everything was perfect hotel,staff,location and activities My experience was fantastic. I will suggest to my family and friends. Also, I planner to come back in my next vacation Thank You to all staff people was so nice Roxana

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henrico, VA
Jun 19, 2009

Occidental Grand Punta Cana

It was a very nice resort, clean, friendle people, awesome location, lots activities, easy access to food, would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check out all the food and bar options to familiarize yourslef w/ cuisines, and availability...

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 10, 2009

Destination Wedding

My wife and I got married there. It was beautiful. The Wedding Planner ([...]) and Staff were very helpful It surpassed our expectation. All of our family and friends who attended loved the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Will find all that you need in or near the Grand Occidental!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2009

Great place at a great price

We enjoyed the variety of activities like dance lessons and archery class, in addition to the nightly shows and entertainment. And we also enjoyed the relaxing areas to just enjoy the beauty of the island. We were on our honeymoon so the combination of quiet, beautiful escapes and activities were just what we wanted. The bar tending staff was also excellent! The only bad experiences we had were that it was sometimes hard to get reservations to the different restaurants on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be familiar with the conversion rates if you are using American money!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Couples
Business
Flint, MI
Jul 14, 2009

Excellent Package Deal

My husband sister and brother in law visited this location and had a wonderful time. We were treated first class. The food was excellent and the service first class. This was a good price for an all inclusive. I would recommend upgrading for exclusive service and access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana "buckaroo"
Business
Miami. Florida
Jul 19, 2009

"Great Get away"

Our first experience was getting there, when our plane couldn't land in Punta Cana airport, the landing lights was not working, we were re-routed to Santo Domingo's airport instead, a three hour in half trip back to Punta Cana it took four buses to take us back and then we were hustling to get a taxi to the hotel,we finally arrived at 3:30 am, to the HOTEL, which we lost a day. The Staff was very friendly and nice , the food was great especially the buffet it had different virilities everyday ,overall the food was always fresh. In my opinion that's the way to go, if you want to eat in the other restaurants you had to make reservation early and if in case you're half an hour late they will politely tell you its closed. Try to not take so much cloths, coming back if your bags that weights more than 50 pounds they will charge you a dollar per pound in the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Now, bring lots of mosquito repellent put it on before you leave your room.If you happen to go to the small stores in the hotel "VERY EXPENSIVE", try going outside the Hotel flea market, you can hustle the price down and they will give it to you. If in case your are bringing a bottle of Mamajuana make sure to fill it up with a cheap rum, otherwise it will be taken away from customs in Punta Cana.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess and Dan
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 22, 2009

Overall good time!

Just got back stayed July 11 -21 2009. HOT HOT HOT and SUPER HUMID! Overall we had a great time in Punta Cana!!! We had great weather!! The beaches are BEAUTIFUL!! We stayed for 10 days but probably would not go back a 2nd time. The resort is huge and well maintained but we are more of the go out and do things kind of couple so unless you got money to spare you will probably get bored. Don't get me wrong if you enjoy lounging at the beach or pool all day long then this is for you. We did 3 excursions while we there and got a GREAT Coco tours rep who helped us very much!! The 3 trips we took were by far the highlights of our trip and I would recommend them to everyone!! We did the ATV and horseback riding excursion which was a lot of fun the horseback riding (we rode for maybe 7 mins and it was complete chaos but I never quit laughing) was a joke but the ATV ride was long and wonderful. We also did Sanona Island which was a great excursion as well it is so beautiful. We saw dolphins that swam with our boat, the water was gorgeous and warm, and the island itself was amazing!!!! Our last excursion was Stingray Bay where we got to interact with the stingrays and swim with the sharks. It was a pretty cool experience! Plus they stop at a coral reef on the way back and you get to hop in an snorkel which was fun!! ........ The food is ok I am a very picky eater so I wasn't that satisfied (I don't eat seafood or duck or pork) The Italian restaurant made my stomach sick but other than that it was ok. We enjoyed the Mexican, steak house and the oriental! I hope this helped anyone interested I have nothing bad to say about this resort the staff is great and the atmosphere is as well!!! If you get bored easy this may not be for you or take lots of money for excursions, we were ready to leave by day 6, we felt trapped. LEARN SPANISH EVERYONE SPEAKS IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat, DC Native
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2009

Great family getaway

The property and rooms were very well kept and attended to. The lighting was very good and made us feel safe when walking at night. The entertainment was awesome, something for everyone. When reporting a problem with the water not draining properly in the shower, it was fixed within 36 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the all inclusive deal to include the motorized water sports. Several restaurants to choose from, but reservations are a must at specific ones. The buffet was well staffed and displayed an excellent variety of choices.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshall, California
Nov 20, 2009

Great location for the price

We were very dissappointed in the food for an all inclusive resort and the availability of the restaurants. The restaurants were not full at all so I think they could accomidate more people. The beach & pools were absolutely beautiful. The snorkeling was not good at all. The rooms were fine and very spacious. All of the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 27, 2009

Occidental Flamenco

Overall a good stay, the beach was a little packed at times, but what else can you expect from such a beautiful location.. start your day early! Enjoy every moment of sunshine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure that you book your reservations for dining as soon as you check in, they get very packed. The Oriental Restaurant was NOT good, the rest were awesome, especially the Lobster House (which is NOT inclusive)

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolat Chocolat
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 9, 2009

First All-Inclusive

I thought that for my first all-inclusive it was very nice. The beach and pool (main reason for going) was great not one complaint. The food was decent but to make reservations for restaurants was a hassle and there was little room available. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top