$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
174 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Hotel Map

18.6957 -68.4355
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ).
Area description
Area attractions include casinos, golf, and tours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria1212
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

STAY AT OCCIDENTAL!!

If you are looking for a fun place to stay the Occidental Grand Punta Cana is GREAT!!! I just arrived back from my second stay at this resort and this stay was just as fantastic as the last! The resort is very clean, the rooms are nice, and the staff is beyond amazing! Keep in mind this is not a 5 star so you dont have servers bringing you drinks on the beach but you will not have complaints. The food is decent and you have a pretty good variety. The staff will definately make your stay worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there for the week because the slots fill up pretty quick.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Fl
Jul 21, 2010

Punta Cana Occidental

I went on many trips around the country and it was great. The Safari adventure, boogy, Soana Island, and going to the city of Bavaro was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to purchase items at a reasonable price, please go to the city... Never shop at the resort or in trips because they're expensive...

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Aug 15, 2010

Relaxing

Despite some bad reviews written by others....this is a nice resort. The one thing is that you need to know Spanish which would be helpful. They have many people that speak English, but remember that you are in there country. Quad excursion is nice..Zip lining nice...I heard about bad reviews on the Safari. You can meet a lot of nice people on the resort. You will be surprised how many people are from your own area.... Overall I had a good time... The food was better this time than the last....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining on premises were better than the last time. If you're not afraid....from other reviews...explore the town...there are a lot of nice places off the resort

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Associate
New York City
Aug 24, 2010

I truely enjoyed my stay.

I relaxed either by the pool or at the beach. It was great just sleeping the day away when I wanted or exploring around the resort when I wanted to. What I did like was that the food was repetitive and unimaginable. They would have these theme dinner night like: Mexican, Italian, etc. But in reality its not. That's the only down side of the resort. There are restaurants on the premises, but I haven't tried them so I have nothing to say about it.But I heard that they are nothing to brag about, again though, don't quote me on that because I didn't try it. Be prepared, bring everything you will or think you will need with you: Shampoo,lotions,a lot of shirts/tops,your phone, etc. Bring enough money for activities and trips outside of the resort. They are going to be people walking around offering discounted activities and trips choose who you would like to do business with at your discretion. I enjoyed my trip, but everyone is different and you can't please everyone. What matters is the experience and the memories that you make.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The night entertainment was absolutely great, they really did a good job with that. I enjoyed them very much, the children's show is great if your traveling with kids. The show afterward is great and enjoyable and the after party AFTER the show beats club Mangu that is in the resort.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Great family getaway

Had a great time, lots of activities for the kids, the beach is awesome, too much sales rep trrying to get you to go to their sales presentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henrico, VA
Jun 19, 2009

Occidental Grand Punta Cana

It was a very nice resort, clean, friendle people, awesome location, lots activities, easy access to food, would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check out all the food and bar options to familiarize yourslef w/ cuisines, and availability...

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MIAMI, FL.
May 9, 2009

WORTHY

OVERALL TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL WAS PLEASANT, THE ONLY "BUT" FOR US WAS THE ENTRETEIMENT,WE GOT THERE ON SUNDAY AND NO SHOWS WERE PERFORMED UNTIL WEDNESDAY (BORED FOR 3 DAYS) . ALSO,THEY SHOULD HAVE A BIGGER ANIMATION TEAM,SO PEOPLE DO NOT NEED TO GO ALL THE WAY TO THE BEACH TO JOING THEM AND HAVE FUN FOR A COUPLE MINUTES. MORE ANIMATION BY THE POOL AREA AND AROUND THE HOTEL WILL DO THE TRICK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel lil-shops are extremelly expensive, so is the bavaro plaza..We kept walking over the same street and after a few minutes we found a regular supermarket with all kind of souvenirs and goods for fraction of the price. So it was worthy the walk.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westchester Co. N.Y.
May 11, 2010

Hard work that pays off !

I keep my vacations simple, I like to relax on the beach , eat good interesting food and meet nice people. I expect everything to be in working order in my room and assume it will be cleaned daily. I expect that the resort also will make every attempt to maintain it's appearance. This is the second time I have visited Occidental Grand , and hopeful not my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 17, 2009

Great Bargain and Value!

This was my third time staying at the Occidental in Punta Cana. I love Punta Cana and have traveled there a total of 6 times. I tend to go back to the Occidental because I know what to expect, the beach seems to be nicer than other sections of Bavaro, its only about 25 minutes to the airport, the grounds are beautiful and the Mangu Discoteca is directly outside of the front doors. It seems to be great for all types: honeymooners, friends, families, etc. I liked the disco option because there is very little to do at night other than watch a show or go to the lobby bar. If you want to access Mangu from other resorts it involves a taxi ride and seems like too much of a hassle that its not worth going. Be prepared for all walks of life at Mangu, a crazy techno room upstairs and expensive drink prices. Keep and eye on your purse and camera and have fun! Other than that I loved the Occidental and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Please keep in mind that you are in the Dominican Republic and they will speak Spanish. The only thing that annoyed me was when I would see my fellow American tourists complaining that the "workers didn't understand!" Keep in mind that you are in a different country with a lot of foreign tourists. The staff members speak a variety of languages and will generally be able to help you with your needs. Learn a few Spanish phrases, act out the ones you don't know and enjoy the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get up early enough to make reservations for the dinner restaurants. Although the buffets are well stocked and diverse in their selections it can get old after a week. Be sure to bring your reservation receipt to the restaurant

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stunninglife
St. Paul, MN USA
Feb 4, 2010

Quite Good!

I was only there for maybe 10 hours overnight before moving to a different resort where I was to stay for five days. The stay at Occidental was only intended to be very short. It all looked good though! It looked like a "10" for spring break people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABeachstay
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Amazing beach

The check in was a bit confusing but after that a fantastic time! Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Very few spoke enlglish though. The room wasn't anything spectacular but we were only in it to sleep. The beach and pools were amazing. One of the nicest spots on the beach! Many of the other hotels we walked by were very small beaches. The food was ok. A lot of salt and oil though. Hard to get reservations to the restaurants that require them. We picked the resort for the beach. And were very happy with that decision!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the open market about 20 min walk down the beach. Much cheaper than anything at the resort

Back to menu Return to top

Change search