$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 12, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
174 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Hotel Map

18.6957 -68.4355
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ).
Area description
Area attractions include casinos, golf, and tours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria1212
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

STAY AT OCCIDENTAL!!

If you are looking for a fun place to stay the Occidental Grand Punta Cana is GREAT!!! I just arrived back from my second stay at this resort and this stay was just as fantastic as the last! The resort is very clean, the rooms are nice, and the staff is beyond amazing! Keep in mind this is not a 5 star so you dont have servers bringing you drinks on the beach but you will not have complaints. The food is decent and you have a pretty good variety. The staff will definately make your stay worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there for the week because the slots fill up pretty quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lindenwold, nj
Jul 8, 2011

my worse vacation ever

Our disappointment began as soon as we arrived, the check in process was long; even though there was only one couple in front of us. The welcoming cocktail and fruit platter never appeared; basically everything they said they had new for 2011 was missing. Our bellhop was extremely helpful, getting me a few bottles of water since I do not drink alcohol or soda. Our room was very big; however the furniture was a little dated. One night it rained and our ceiling leaked, i called the front desk several times and no one showed, my husband had to go seek them out several times. On our third day we became ill after eating at the steakhouse and remained ill upon our return. At one point the resort had a large group of teenagers, 500, come and their first two days they overran the resort; however, security was eventually able to get them in order and the resort developed activities just for them. In doing so a chunk of the beach that isnt for the royal club members became unusuable. Another point of discourse was the fluctuating price for the excursions, i can understand haggling over prices, but not with a resort i paid to stay at. On a positive note they were always cleaning the grounds. I would not return to this resort. When compared to other all inclusive resorts i have stayed they fell short and did not provide what their website advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Will never stay at this hotel again

We had no air conditioning for 3 days, and when I went to ask for a new room I had to sit at front desk for 30 minutes in order to get room changed. When they did give us new room they told us we had 20 minutes to move our stuff because they were going to give the room to new guests that night. The room we got was smaller, but we did not care since it had air conditioning. They only had 2 of the 4 restaurants open nightly and the nightly dinner buffet had poor food choices. The best place to eat was the pizza place and it was not open that much. We felt that the amount of english speaking people was poor. I would expect that when I would go to a restaurant the waiters would speak english, but very few did, we had to point at the menu's to order. The pool was nice and clean, even though you had to be out at 7pm and the bar closed at 6pm. No bars open late except the disco club and the front of resort. No bars on the beach except for the time share holder's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation guys
barvara
Jun 24, 2011

friendsgetaway

selection of food was limited...on the buffet..safety is excellent and views were spectular..the employees were all very helpful and all work well for a perfect..it was good to stay on the resort and find all that was needed!!!the tour was allso safe..very recommeded!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

all inclusive was excellent...including clubbing too ..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 9, 2011

Beautiful beach

The beach was beautiful, clean and safe. The pools and grounds very nice. The food was OK, a lot of variety to choose from at the buffet, we tried the Mexican restaurant but were disappointed, the salad was old and the fish looked like they brought up from the buffet, nothing special. The entertainment every night was EXCELLENT! The vendors were too much to put up with, very pushy and constantly after you, couldn't move without finding 2 or 3 around you. When we arrived our room was not ready, at 7 p.m. we were given a room at building 22 very run down, leaking toilet, flimsy door lock and only 1 king size bed when we were 3 people, we called reception asking for another bed and never came, next day after 2 p.m. we were moved to a room in building 11 wish was very good. We were not the only one moving rooms, it seems that it was a routine. I think the problem is that they overbook and when you arrive if they don't have you room they put you in one of the other buildings that are very deteriorated. One day they even asked for volunteer to be moved to a different hotel for a night. The service people at the bars, buffet and front desk were very nice and happy all the time. Overall we relaxed and enjoyed our vacation, but next time we look for a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take lot of single dollar bill with you for tips or shopping, it seems like they never have change.And always BARGAIN.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Great food, great beach, needs some org.

Our ground transportation (Coco Tours) that we booked through Cheap Tickets was not good. They kept us waiting for about 45 minutes until they loaded us in a van. When we arrived at the hotel after midnight, they did not have a room available for us, and put us up in their Royal Club for one night. This was a huge inconvenience. The rest of our time at this hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Restaurant was very good, however we would not go back to the Steakhouse. We ordered Ribeye Steak, and it appeared to have been boiled, and did not taste good. We ate at the buffet for the rest of our 10 day stay, and they actually had a wide variety of good meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Do I need a nickname?
Brooklyn New York
Jan 24, 2011

Don't Choose for the Food...

Hello all travelers...Just got back today, stayed 7-nights.This place is under a half an hour taxi ($35) ride from the airport.Beach is BEAUTIFUL, capital B.Ahhh, the food:Sit-down restaurants can be horrendous.Steakhouse -> old cow resembling a McRib sandwich.Italian -> dried out chicken served over, get this, mexican rice with mushrooms for an Italian accent.Mexican -> We were told BEWARE so we didn't go.Oriental -> Spicy tuna roll was really some dry rice wrapped around a piece of STARKIST tuna. Don't really know what the Miso soup was made from.Buffet -> Open for all three meals per day, gets kind of old after the third day.We were given two towel cards. Give two cards recieve two towels.Return two towels recieve two cards.If you don't return the cards...then...$20 each.One towel booth on the right side of the beach.Another just off the beach about two-hundred feet away.You really need to manage your time based upon these locations.If you are not a picky eater, this place offers a phenomenal beach, many drinking possibilities and somewhat cold staff. Every now and then we'd leave a tip for something or another. Upon arrival, our bellhop looked at me with disgust when I handed him two bucks...whatever!!!!!!!!!!!Oh, by the way, if you look at the website it states "special seafood dinner for all stays 5-nights or longer"...when I mentioned it to the concierge he looked at me as if I made this up...I repeated myself BOLDLY and suddenly he went on his computer and printed my reservation for Saturday at 9pm...the cost otherwise would be $44 per person...Let me tell you something...DO NOT PURCHASE A MEAL AT 'THE LOBSTER HOUSE'...absolute disgust...For free with 5-nights, ok, the location is right off of the beach.Oh...and also...two-year old American children speak and understand the English language better than 99% of the staff...good luck and don't leave the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

around 9pm every night...kind of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 1, 2011

Below standard for an Occidental propert

Have stayed at other properties in the Occidental group that were superior. This property is in need of updating, in particular the rooms are dated with badly worn furnishings. Had to speak to guest services three times about no hot water for showers and after the third time the water was luke warm at best. The pools and beaches were very welcoming, the staff was very friendly and hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book reservations early for the a la carte restaurants as the seating times are limited and get filled quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well rested after 5 days without kids
Leominster, MA
Dec 19, 2010

No surprises here if you read reviews

Pools and beach are beautiful! Bartending staff is great. Waiters and waitress, not so much. I waited 30 minutes one morning for coffee that tastes like the bottom of the coffee pot. Dinner one night, I asked for coffee and it never came. Food was ok depending on the ethnicity of what they were serving...forget Italian, this is truly not Italy! Mexican was by far the best. Our room was just that, a room...View was nice and bed was very comfortable. The room above us, the tub leaked into ours, we showered when they were not. We had a great time and would go again, most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. The price was right but we would try another hotel next time just to see what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you have plenty of tipping money...it was difficult and time consuming to find someone who could make change for a $20.00. the cashier in the hotel did not typically have money available to make change until lunch time and at that could only change $10.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Hotel was beautiful

Travel to the Hotel was easy,check in was easy, Hotel was beautiful. grounds were clean, people always working to keep it up. Transportation back to airport was easy. Beach was clean and nice. Rooms were nice and clean(ask for face cloths).Some of the issues we encountered were: Food,Breakfast was very good and they have a variety of foods, but thank goodness for Pizza(eat the pizza upstairs above the stage area) and Hotdogs. DONT EAT THE HAMBURGERS, THEY ARE NASTY. the specialty resturants always had tables empty even though when you make reservations they tell you there is no more room, we seen empty tables in resturants we tried to get into and were told there was no tables available for the time wanted. There were a few communication issues with the staff(could not change a $100 bill either at front desk or the casino and lady at buffet door would not let me back in after going to the mens room). Vendors that sell are very pushey. They do have alot of people selling excersions on the beach and hotel lobby, we did find a few to be real nice( [...]-on beach, [...]-usually in hotel lobby, look for the little black hat)these are nice people and very friendly. One thing I would recomend is to stay away from the people trying to sell timeshares under vacation clubs, they say it takes an Hour, but it turns into 3 hrs. hope you have $25,000 to buy into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

GET DOWN TO THE BEACH OR POOL EARLY, 6am-6:30AM TO PLACE YOUR TOWEL ON THE CHAIRS TO SAVE YOUR SPOT. IT GETS BUSY FAST IF IT IS SUNNY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rhonda russell
Queens NY
Sep 2, 2010

Good for a quick, quite getaway

We went parasailing, took a tour around the mediate vicinity and got massages, those were the mist enjoyable. The food was terrible!!! Had a much better stay in Cancun. We had literally all the staff making a sales pitch to get us to buy time shares, everyone looking for a tip, and of course the typical overworked staff. The hotels are not close to the local town so all the vendors tried, unsuccessfully, to charge an arm and a leg for their merchandise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The local town is approximately an hour away, take the bus for $4, the cabs charge "$300". You'll find stuff to take back home for little of nothing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search