$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria1212
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

STAY AT OCCIDENTAL!!

If you are looking for a fun place to stay the Occidental Grand Punta Cana is GREAT!!! I just arrived back from my second stay at this resort and this stay was just as fantastic as the last! The resort is very clean, the rooms are nice, and the staff is beyond amazing! Keep in mind this is not a 5 star so you dont have servers bringing you drinks on the beach but you will not have complaints. The food is decent and you have a pretty good variety. The staff will definately make your stay worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there for the week because the slots fill up pretty quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wila
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Family reunion

First room was four flights of stairs and no elevator. Second room wasn't even cleaned. Third room was good! Right outside the pool and close to the beach. Food was so-so, but after two weeks, we had had enough. Not enough of a variety. Nothing to do for a teenager. Ours was bored by day 5. Also, not enough for small children. And last, but not least, the disco was open to outsiders of the resort and you had to pay for drinks. I thought this was an all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Yorker nov 2011
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Nice resort but rooms smell bad and have issues with pluming etc.

The location is fine. The resort design is very good. The activities are as expected. The staff are friendly. It feels safe inside (outside is very unsafe, especially at night). But: Most rooms have mold from humidity. They have pluming issues. No hot water or water running out from the side of the bathtub because the tub was not setup properly. When it rained hard some rooms were dripping water from the ceiling, I was told. My first room was not usable. Could not sleep the first night because of the mold smell. I had to escalate to the travel agency and hotel headquarters in order for them to provide another room, a day after I arrived. Food was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baton
Business
Bristol, Conn
Nov 22, 2011

Disappointing

From the minute we got there, we felt more like a burden rather than welcomed. The hotels advertisement (and most of the reason we booked with them) made us believe that we were getting a lot included with the all-inclusive fare. What should have been included in the all-inclusive was changed. When we booked, the all-inclusive rate included horse back riding, among many other things. When we tried to book this excursion on Wednesday, we were told that "two days ago our manager took that off the website, there is a fee". Nothing was done to accomodate us. The food was awful, and when we didn't like something, there was no apology. Usually, at all inclusive resorts, a different food option was offered. At the Occidental, it was not. The beach was beautiful, and the spa was very nice (but we did not receive our 15% discount as it said we would on the website). In order to have fun, we had to create the fun. Basically, I would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Micki and Steve
Business
new York, NY
Oct 25, 2011

Great overal!

I was put in a room on the second floor, cause of a bad knee I asked for a room on a first floor. They did not have a Jr suite on a first floor, so they gave us an ocean view for the same price. The staff was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdog
Business
Johnstown, PA
Aug 24, 2011

Good for Couples

We had a good time. Good place to relax and get away from it all if you like white sandy beaches and clear blue water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They do a lot of pressure sales. Stay away from the pressure sales. Learn to say no. Stay away from the presentations. They are time share presentation and they try to pretend they are not until they hit you at the end with it. IT WAS A HUGH WASTE OF A HALF DAY AND OUR TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 10, 2011

[...]summary of hotel is misleading

The beef sucks in all the retaurants. The best restaurant was the buffet and the Pizzeria. Under new for 2011 we did not receive the fruit platter, bottle of wine, nightly turn down service, special sea food dinner, 15% spa discount, in room bathrobes and slippers, in room beach towels, ceiling fans. We booked the Grand Concierge Deluxe.My son got a ear infrction from the pools that need more testing to keep the diseases out of the pools and we spent a day in the clinic and hospital.We would not go back unless they inprove their hotel as it does not deserve the 3.8 as posted on the [...]Website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The nightly entertainment was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana J
Business
FL
Aug 8, 2011

Ok Hotel, good use some improvements

Overall our stay was ok - good, 3.5 out of 5. We spent 100% of our time on the resort, mainly at the beach and at the various restraurants. Hotel could use better organization, from the check-in to room cleaning. It took about 40 mins to check-in, and there were some irate guests ahead of us due to some sort of check-in issue. Rooms would be cleaned, then new towels would be provided several hours later. Rooms could use some renovations as the bathroom shower was pretty outdated and dirty from usage and time. 85% of staff was friendly and hospitable, made you feel welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not show up too late if you have a reservation. You will need to wait until the next time slot in order to eat. Which is usually 1.5 hours later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ouxo
Business
Piscataway, New Jersey
Aug 8, 2011

good and bad

First of all, the food was good, the staff was very pleasant,and hard working, but the hotel is in great need of repairs. There was no water pressure in the shower. The tiles were cracked, and when it rained there were many leaks. We won't be coming back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laura G
Business
New Jersey
Aug 4, 2011

Didn't meet my expectations!

The food is the same every day for the buffet! The menu doesn't change. You have to make appointments in order to eat at a restaurant at night, if you don't go make the appointment early enough throughout the day, they will tell you to come back the following day.Their menu is very LIMITED! After the third day of us being there we went to the steak house restaurant and found a couple roaches roaming through the desserts, we just got up and left. It was insane. The lights went off for about two days!!!!!!!! and we had to rely on candles at night. The hot water would leave from time to time. Also if you leave the windows open and the AC on at the same time, according to them, it causes condensation, and your room floor will be soaken wet!!!!!.. This place did not meet my expectations. There were very few good things, like the shows they play at night and the beach is awesome, but thats about it. The sheets wouldn't get changed either and they barely had someone to clean the room at times. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night shows are OK. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laura G
Business
New Jersey
Aug 4, 2011

Didn't meet my expectations!

The food is the same every day for the buffet! The menu doesn't change. You have to make appointments in order to eat at a restaurant at night, if you don't go make the appointment early enough throughout the day, they will tell you to come back the following day.Their menu is very LIMITED! After the third day of us being there we went to the steak house restaurant and found a couple roaches roaming through the desserts, we just got up and left. It was insane. The lights went off for about two days!!!!!!!! and we had to rely on candles at night. The hot water would leave from time to time. Also if you leave the windows open and the AC on at the same time, according to them, it causes condensation, and your room floor will be soaken wet!!!!!.. This place did not meet my expectations. There were very few good things, like the shows they play at night and the beach is awesome, but thats about it. The sheets wouldn't get changed either and they barely had someone to clean the room at times. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night shows are OK. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top