$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baton
Business
Bristol, Conn
Nov 22, 2011

Disappointing

From the minute we got there, we felt more like a burden rather than welcomed. The hotels advertisement (and most of the reason we booked with them) made us believe that we were getting a lot included with the all-inclusive fare. What should have been included in the all-inclusive was changed. When we booked, the all-inclusive rate included horse back riding, among many other things. When we tried to book this excursion on Wednesday, we were told that "two days ago our manager took that off the website, there is a fee". Nothing was done to accomodate us. The food was awful, and when we didn't like something, there was no apology. Usually, at all inclusive resorts, a different food option was offered. At the Occidental, it was not. The beach was beautiful, and the spa was very nice (but we did not receive our 15% discount as it said we would on the website). In order to have fun, we had to create the fun. Basically, I would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Micki and Steve
Business
new York, NY
Oct 25, 2011

Great overal!

I was put in a room on the second floor, cause of a bad knee I asked for a room on a first floor. They did not have a Jr suite on a first floor, so they gave us an ocean view for the same price. The staff was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdog
Business
Johnstown, PA
Aug 24, 2011

Good for Couples

We had a good time. Good place to relax and get away from it all if you like white sandy beaches and clear blue water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They do a lot of pressure sales. Stay away from the pressure sales. Learn to say no. Stay away from the presentations. They are time share presentation and they try to pretend they are not until they hit you at the end with it. IT WAS A HUGH WASTE OF A HALF DAY AND OUR TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 10, 2011

[...]summary of hotel is misleading

The beef sucks in all the retaurants. The best restaurant was the buffet and the Pizzeria. Under new for 2011 we did not receive the fruit platter, bottle of wine, nightly turn down service, special sea food dinner, 15% spa discount, in room bathrobes and slippers, in room beach towels, ceiling fans. We booked the Grand Concierge Deluxe.My son got a ear infrction from the pools that need more testing to keep the diseases out of the pools and we spent a day in the clinic and hospital.We would not go back unless they inprove their hotel as it does not deserve the 3.8 as posted on the [...]Website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The nightly entertainment was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana J
Business
FL
Aug 8, 2011

Ok Hotel, good use some improvements

Overall our stay was ok - good, 3.5 out of 5. We spent 100% of our time on the resort, mainly at the beach and at the various restraurants. Hotel could use better organization, from the check-in to room cleaning. It took about 40 mins to check-in, and there were some irate guests ahead of us due to some sort of check-in issue. Rooms would be cleaned, then new towels would be provided several hours later. Rooms could use some renovations as the bathroom shower was pretty outdated and dirty from usage and time. 85% of staff was friendly and hospitable, made you feel welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not show up too late if you have a reservation. You will need to wait until the next time slot in order to eat. Which is usually 1.5 hours later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ouxo
Business
Piscataway, New Jersey
Aug 8, 2011

good and bad

First of all, the food was good, the staff was very pleasant,and hard working, but the hotel is in great need of repairs. There was no water pressure in the shower. The tiles were cracked, and when it rained there were many leaks. We won't be coming back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laura G
Business
New Jersey
Aug 4, 2011

Didn't meet my expectations!

The food is the same every day for the buffet! The menu doesn't change. You have to make appointments in order to eat at a restaurant at night, if you don't go make the appointment early enough throughout the day, they will tell you to come back the following day.Their menu is very LIMITED! After the third day of us being there we went to the steak house restaurant and found a couple roaches roaming through the desserts, we just got up and left. It was insane. The lights went off for about two days!!!!!!!! and we had to rely on candles at night. The hot water would leave from time to time. Also if you leave the windows open and the AC on at the same time, according to them, it causes condensation, and your room floor will be soaken wet!!!!!.. This place did not meet my expectations. There were very few good things, like the shows they play at night and the beach is awesome, but thats about it. The sheets wouldn't get changed either and they barely had someone to clean the room at times. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night shows are OK. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deekz
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 11, 2011

A COMPLETE DUMP, did not stay...

When we arrived we immediately felt that the website was deceiving in its portrayal of a beautiful tropical resort as we found a dirty, run-down establishment that felt more like a cheap motel. When we checked in our concierge was very rude and could barely speak english. we were escorted to our room through swells of drunk teenagers and pushy vendors selling cheap junk. We arrived at our room in a building that included an atrium with a garden of dirt and rocks, and some garbage in the halls that had clearly sat there for some time. We entered the room and found a bathroom that looked liked it belonged in a seedy motel with mold on the tile, scum in the tub and bugs circling the lights. The room had a queen bed that was ok, a dirty couch that would be at home in a college dorm room, a plate full of rotten fruit and a crooked mirror that screamed "We dont care about making you comfortable". But the straw that broke the camels back was the view, we opened the drapes to find a patio with cheap plastic furniture overlooking a childrens playground that had been quarantined with caution tape! Im not saying that all rooms had a view this bad, but the fact that they were willing to offer this, and also later question why we objected to the view was a clear sign that this place is a dump. Immediately after we were making calls to switch resorts, we were forced to stay one night so we ate at the buffet, the food was foul, and just before I took my first bite I noticed that my fork which was on a recently set table was covered with food (also asked the same waitress 3 times for a beer, and one additional one for a drink and while they did make eye contact throughout the evening, never produced a beverage). If anything good came of coming to this resort, it made the next one that much better! Unless you are a teenager planning to be completely obliterated your entire trip DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Spend a few extra dollars and you will be happy you listened, the resort we switched to only cost an additional 250 it was worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirty towel hotel
Business
New York City
Jul 10, 2011

Don't go back

On our arrival at the airport, we were greeted by a hotel employee who offered us a free excursion sponsored by the credit card companies. In reality, it was a scam to sell a time share they call vacation club. They held us hostage trying to convince us to buy a time share they call vacation club. We could not leave. It was unbelievable. When we arrived at the hotel, our room was not ready. The shower curtain had mildew and the towels were dingy and grey and one had a hole in it. Definitely did not expect this. Paid for the key to the safe. Staff said I would get deposit upon return of the key. When I turned in the key to the safe, another staff said there is no refund. I asked to speak with the manager and the receptionist had an attitude and said that I paid for the key to the safe. I asked to keep the key as a souvenier and she said if I kept the key I would be charged $75.00. She was very, very "rude." The buffet food was exceptionally delicious. The buffet staff was very cordial. The speciality restaurants (Mexican, steak house, and Italian) need to learn how to cook. The pizza was horrible!! the crust was burnt and dry. Avoid the gift shop at the hotel. They pressure you into buying what you do not want. I would never return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lindenwold, nj
Jul 8, 2011

my worse vacation ever

Our disappointment began as soon as we arrived, the check in process was long; even though there was only one couple in front of us. The welcoming cocktail and fruit platter never appeared; basically everything they said they had new for 2011 was missing. Our bellhop was extremely helpful, getting me a few bottles of water since I do not drink alcohol or soda. Our room was very big; however the furniture was a little dated. One night it rained and our ceiling leaked, i called the front desk several times and no one showed, my husband had to go seek them out several times. On our third day we became ill after eating at the steakhouse and remained ill upon our return. At one point the resort had a large group of teenagers, 500, come and their first two days they overran the resort; however, security was eventually able to get them in order and the resort developed activities just for them. In doing so a chunk of the beach that isnt for the royal club members became unusuable. Another point of discourse was the fluctuating price for the excursions, i can understand haggling over prices, but not with a resort i paid to stay at. On a positive note they were always cleaning the grounds. I would not return to this resort. When compared to other all inclusive resorts i have stayed they fell short and did not provide what their website advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top