$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Jun 3, 2009

punta cana

I relaxed a lot. Went to the beach and pool. Beach is great. Night life is a lot of fun as well. Not happy with location outside resort though. Seems dangerous. But overall, very great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Jersey
Jun 5, 2009

Gorgeous!!!

The resort itself is beatiful and the service was really good. Better than i expected. The staff was very helpful and they helped you have a good time. The ground was very big and you can easily get lost getting back to your room. The pool was really nice and the beach was beautiful. I booked the romance package and i definitely got my money's worth. The couples massage was like nothing i experiences before. The food was the only negative of the trip. Check in was fast and they drove you to your room after telling you about local excursions which i recommment if you go here. The Saona Island was by far the best. We took an hour bus ride to a boat that sailed for an hour to the island. The boat was equipped with lively music and drinks which was a really good time. Upon arriving there was good, drinks, massages and the beach of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Lobster House is a must. The food there was absolutely delicious and the view of the beach was fantastic. I had the grilled mini lobsters with the lobster cream for appetizer and it was really good. Best food i had on the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 14, 2009

Sweeeeet Trip!!!!!!

We were at the Occidental from June 3 - 9 and were a little nervous about some of the reviews we had read about this hotel. We stayed in the Royal Club section of the hotel and it was the best vacation ever... I would recomend going on the Fun Buggy tours, we did on our first day and it set the tone for the entire trip(awsome time). I would not recomend going to the Italian or Mexican restaurants, but all the others were good. Also if you are in the Royal Club section, you have your own area on the beach with a bar and the locals trying to get you to take boat tours and parasailing, etc. cannot come into your area and bother you and the Royal Club restaurant is the best restaurant on the resort, also they have a beach party on Monday nights for the Royal Club guests. We just got back and are trying to see when we can go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 17, 2009

Great Bargain and Value!

This was my third time staying at the Occidental in Punta Cana. I love Punta Cana and have traveled there a total of 6 times. I tend to go back to the Occidental because I know what to expect, the beach seems to be nicer than other sections of Bavaro, its only about 25 minutes to the airport, the grounds are beautiful and the Mangu Discoteca is directly outside of the front doors. It seems to be great for all types: honeymooners, friends, families, etc. I liked the disco option because there is very little to do at night other than watch a show or go to the lobby bar. If you want to access Mangu from other resorts it involves a taxi ride and seems like too much of a hassle that its not worth going. Be prepared for all walks of life at Mangu, a crazy techno room upstairs and expensive drink prices. Keep and eye on your purse and camera and have fun! Other than that I loved the Occidental and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Please keep in mind that you are in the Dominican Republic and they will speak Spanish. The only thing that annoyed me was when I would see my fellow American tourists complaining that the "workers didn't understand!" Keep in mind that you are in a different country with a lot of foreign tourists. The staff members speak a variety of languages and will generally be able to help you with your needs. Learn a few Spanish phrases, act out the ones you don't know and enjoy the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get up early enough to make reservations for the dinner restaurants. Although the buffets are well stocked and diverse in their selections it can get old after a week. Be sure to bring your reservation receipt to the restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henrico, VA
Jun 19, 2009

Occidental Grand Punta Cana

It was a very nice resort, clean, friendle people, awesome location, lots activities, easy access to food, would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check out all the food and bar options to familiarize yourslef w/ cuisines, and availability...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 10, 2009

Destination Wedding

My wife and I got married there. It was beautiful. The Wedding Planner ([...]) and Staff were very helpful It surpassed our expectation. All of our family and friends who attended loved the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Will find all that you need in or near the Grand Occidental!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2009

Great place at a great price

We enjoyed the variety of activities like dance lessons and archery class, in addition to the nightly shows and entertainment. And we also enjoyed the relaxing areas to just enjoy the beauty of the island. We were on our honeymoon so the combination of quiet, beautiful escapes and activities were just what we wanted. The bar tending staff was also excellent! The only bad experiences we had were that it was sometimes hard to get reservations to the different restaurants on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be familiar with the conversion rates if you are using American money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Couples
Business
Flint, MI
Jul 14, 2009

Excellent Package Deal

My husband sister and brother in law visited this location and had a wonderful time. We were treated first class. The food was excellent and the service first class. This was a good price for an all inclusive. I would recommend upgrading for exclusive service and access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana "buckaroo"
Business
Miami. Florida
Jul 19, 2009

"Great Get away"

Our first experience was getting there, when our plane couldn't land in Punta Cana airport, the landing lights was not working, we were re-routed to Santo Domingo's airport instead, a three hour in half trip back to Punta Cana it took four buses to take us back and then we were hustling to get a taxi to the hotel,we finally arrived at 3:30 am, to the HOTEL, which we lost a day. The Staff was very friendly and nice , the food was great especially the buffet it had different virilities everyday ,overall the food was always fresh. In my opinion that's the way to go, if you want to eat in the other restaurants you had to make reservation early and if in case you're half an hour late they will politely tell you its closed. Try to not take so much cloths, coming back if your bags that weights more than 50 pounds they will charge you a dollar per pound in the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Now, bring lots of mosquito repellent put it on before you leave your room.If you happen to go to the small stores in the hotel "VERY EXPENSIVE", try going outside the Hotel flea market, you can hustle the price down and they will give it to you. If in case your are bringing a bottle of Mamajuana make sure to fill it up with a cheap rum, otherwise it will be taken away from customs in Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess and Dan
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 22, 2009

Overall good time!

Just got back stayed July 11 -21 2009. HOT HOT HOT and SUPER HUMID! Overall we had a great time in Punta Cana!!! We had great weather!! The beaches are BEAUTIFUL!! We stayed for 10 days but probably would not go back a 2nd time. The resort is huge and well maintained but we are more of the go out and do things kind of couple so unless you got money to spare you will probably get bored. Don't get me wrong if you enjoy lounging at the beach or pool all day long then this is for you. We did 3 excursions while we there and got a GREAT Coco tours rep who helped us very much!! The 3 trips we took were by far the highlights of our trip and I would recommend them to everyone!! We did the ATV and horseback riding excursion which was a lot of fun the horseback riding (we rode for maybe 7 mins and it was complete chaos but I never quit laughing) was a joke but the ATV ride was long and wonderful. We also did Sanona Island which was a great excursion as well it is so beautiful. We saw dolphins that swam with our boat, the water was gorgeous and warm, and the island itself was amazing!!!! Our last excursion was Stingray Bay where we got to interact with the stingrays and swim with the sharks. It was a pretty cool experience! Plus they stop at a coral reef on the way back and you get to hop in an snorkel which was fun!! ........ The food is ok I am a very picky eater so I wasn't that satisfied (I don't eat seafood or duck or pork) The Italian restaurant made my stomach sick but other than that it was ok. We enjoyed the Mexican, steak house and the oriental! I hope this helped anyone interested I have nothing bad to say about this resort the staff is great and the atmosphere is as well!!! If you get bored easy this may not be for you or take lots of money for excursions, we were ready to leave by day 6, we felt trapped. LEARN SPANISH EVERYONE SPEAKS IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top