$291 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2015 Check-out: Feb 19, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Family Trip, 2 adults, 4 children

This Hotel is fantastic. This is my 3rd visit, and I will come back. The Buffet restaurant is very... See full review

  • Padrote
  • Jan 7, 2015
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ken97
Business
Savannah, GA
May 15, 2012

Accidental Last Resort

Now my mother always told me that if I don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all. So this review will be hard for me. Pros- Beach is Beautiful. Water is Perfect. Pools are clean. Grounds are well kept. Drinks are acceptable. Beer (local) is very good and cold. Bartenders and cleaning staff are pleasant. Cons- Room was dated, unclean, ant infested, and had mold and mildew damage, Bathrooms were flat out-disgusting with the floor flooding every time we took a shower and the drain not working. Towels were not clean, even when just replaced. Staff was rude and innatentive, Many of the ammenities were closed during our stay (including the much talked about all-night brick oven pizza place!) and one of the pools. The buffet got old quickly and honestly was not very good. The Resort is Just Tired. They need an update and a complete revamp of the staff and food. The attitude of the employees is honestly that we are an inconvenience. They only time they would even act courteous is when you had some cash for them. I brought a fair amount of money to tip (a few dollars in the room every night) and for the bartenders. The food is ok, but much of the buffets are recycled to the next meal and it’s pretty obvious. The location is good, and the grounds are beautiful, but just the combination of the horrible room, some funny food issues (some things were unidentifiable, and we would play games guessing what they were by taste and texture) and the rude staff (aside from the bartenders) made it a less than relaxing visit. We actually found back ways around the resort to skip the Relentless Vendors harassing you for nick-knacks and Jewelry. Not to mention the innapropriately dressed ladies trying to snap a picture with you for cash, or the Python handlers trying to put a snake around your neck for pictures as well. The nightly shows were straight from 1991 with a MJ show as well as some attempt at representing the native Taino people. Now we expected some international guests there. What we didn’t expect is that 75-80 percent of the guest there were Russian. Just an FYI. Without a top sunbathing is frequent, so if you’re going with a family, that’s something to consider. The companies in the hotel did a great job setting up our Ziplining in the Jungle and excursions to Santo Domingo. We really were just looking for any excuse to get off the resort, but they did a fantastic job and were professional at all times. I am by no means a snob, but dang, this place was bad. Having stayed at an All-Inclusive in Cancun last year, I felt like I was staying at a 40 year old Truck Stop in comparison for MORE money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

VIP's Ziplining and Santo Domingo Excursions were great. Jerry and Andy were great to deal with and professional, which was rare during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent DR traveler
Business
Dallas, TX
May 10, 2012

Great place if your young and just want to have fun!!!

I have been to the Dominican Republic 19 times and have stayed at several different hotels. I feel that the Occidental Grand gives you exactly what you pay for. The rooms were clean and well stocked. Our air conditioner broke on Day 4 and it was fixed within 2 hrs. All the staff were SUPER friendly and are willing to assist with everything that you might need. The food is great if you like buffet style which offers something for everybody. The beach was always nice and there were plenty of spaces to lay out on the beach as well as the pool. The best part of the hotel is the nightclub Mangu! It is a tourist and local favorite in all of Punta Cana. As someone who can really speak from experience, you really get what you pay for and its a good time. I see other people complaining but hey you are not staying at the Ritz Carlton remember that and you will have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Best nightclub in Punta Cana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Murphyr
Business
Hamilton
Apr 23, 2012

wedding in punta cana

for a wedding it was unorganized. For a vacation it was quite lovely. Staff were amazing. All wanted to go that extra level for you. Wish there was a disco on the resort that was all inclusive drinks. Entertainment at night was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aflip
Business
Erie, PA
Apr 21, 2012

Awful Experience

This resort is horrible from the rooms to the staff. Our room had a leaky shower that went unfixed after 3 complaints to the service, there were bugs in our room, I was bit numerous times. The ceiling had holes in it allowing rain to enter the room. The staff members at the front desk, wait staff & guest service were rude and not willing to work with us to fix the problems we were having. The food was horrible, very hard to get a reservation at one of the restaurants. The resort is run down, the light fixtures were hanging off the walls, there were broken & missing tiles and holes in the walls, door knobs missing, toilets that didn't flush. This was my first trip to Punta Cana and unfortunately the resort spoiled our entire trip. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria1212
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

STAY AT OCCIDENTAL!!

If you are looking for a fun place to stay the Occidental Grand Punta Cana is GREAT!!! I just arrived back from my second stay at this resort and this stay was just as fantastic as the last! The resort is very clean, the rooms are nice, and the staff is beyond amazing! Keep in mind this is not a 5 star so you dont have servers bringing you drinks on the beach but you will not have complaints. The food is decent and you have a pretty good variety. The staff will definately make your stay worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there for the week because the slots fill up pretty quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qtip
Business
Denver, PA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

you get what you pay for

Overall this resort gives fair value for your money. Not much special included. Could have included snorkeling. Food was average although the desserts were very good. None of the meat offerings were impressive, the steakhouse and the oriental were the best for this resort but not top shelf. Most of the service staff spoke little or no English so often had to refer to someone else. The beverage selection was poor unless you wanted to upgrade for $70.00 a day extra. The vacation club reps were a bit pesty but could be rebuked firmly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Never pay much more than half of what is asked. Walking to and from the straw market was safe and prices reasonable after negotiation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EricaAmerica
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Good value for the money

The best thing about the resort is the size and location. It was a perfect size where everything was close by and you didn't have to walk to far to get the pool, beach, or restaurants. The grounds were clean and well kept. The beach was beautiful. Rooms were nice although we had to ask for a few things. The food was just okay, the restaurants were definitely better than the buffet. The nightly shows were fun and it was nice to have something to do in the evening. Not very many staff members spoke English which was very frustrating. For the price is was a good value but I think if I go back to Punta Cana I will try a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shooter tony
Business
ny ny
Feb 23, 2012

hotel rooms suck

the staff was flirtatious and annoying trying to sell you stuff while you were laying at the pool or beach. the jacuzzi costs 10 dollars per person for 20 min....stupid!! they never stocked the bathroom with new shampoo and beach towels. everything else was ok its a vaca in the carribean cant go too wrong but the room was sad and the employees trying to sell you everything and anything at outrageous prices....they try to get you to go to upgrade your room and listen to them for 90 min....so they can take more money from you and make you a "gold" member...gold my @$$ dont fall for it....i still will go to punta cana but next time @ a new hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelras
Business
Westwood, NJ, USA
Feb 18, 2012

occidental hotel

my experience was wonderful. the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay at this hotel a true experience. If I were to give this hotel 5 stars it would be because of the staff. One staff member who stood out the most was Beatriz a member of the house keeping staff. over all we had a great time and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel needs more variety of foods, may be they could include some local dishes tothe menue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sades
Business
Maryland
Feb 17, 2012

Great Beach, but ehhhh

The bathroom tub was peeling and our cleaning lady kept forgetting to give us two of everything. The room looked nice on the surface, but didnt have a safe. We locked up the jewelry in suitcases and carried the passports with us. Buffet food was about 5/10 and the restaurants were 2/10. Ive had better food on cruiseships, but the drinks were spectacular, so that made you forget about the mostly subpar food. SPA and nearby club was nice too. Id give the entire experience a 6, but Ill need to check out other resorts to see how they compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top