$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodida
Business
Puerto Plata
Jan 18, 2013

the best

Everything was perfect hotel,staff,location and activities My experience was fantastic. I will suggest to my family and friends. Also, I planner to come back in my next vacation Thank You to all staff people was so nice Roxana

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowball19
Business
Westchester, ny
Jan 6, 2013

Relaxing family vacation

Just returned from an enjoyable family vacation with my 2 college aged children. We enjoyed the well maintained grounds, pool, and beach and came home thoroughly relaxed. The only negatives were the vendors hawking wares and timeshares and the competition to reserve beach chairs. Other than that it was a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Wake up early and reserve beach chairs by putting towel and personal items on chairs before 7:00 am

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J Talbott
Business
CT
Dec 30, 2012

Good Family Relaxation

The staff were not as attentive as I would have liked, but overall a good resort. Food was good and the grounds were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiffie
Business
New Jersey
Oct 17, 2012

Not so fantastic vacation!

Food was HORRIBLE!! No favor n WAY too much salt...staff was rude n not helpful...had a foul odor throughout the resort...alcohol was weak...No drinking straws....staff was unenthusiastic during their performances...little to no activities for guest...unable to reserve dinner at certain restaurants....over all experience was terrible....we will never stay at this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stain
Business
new jersey
Oct 15, 2012

its what you make of it

this is an average hotel for a very reasonable price. the beach bar and pool bar were very fun. we really liked the bartenders. the beach was beautiful. the room was clean but dated. bathroom wasnt anything great. the buffet was ok. we just decided that we were gonna have a good time while we were there and thats what we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

dont make the waitress upstairs near the pizza joint mad. she wont serve you a calzone.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
brookedeel
Business
Michigan
Sep 12, 2012

Very upsetting

I'll agree that you get what you pay for. The food was relatively bland. My boyfriend who is a game technician and has much experience with electric shocks experienced a jolt at one of the restaurants, he told an employee who blamed it on my boyfriend being wet (he was dry as can be). There are vendors standing at their booths around the resort who were very pestering and rude. The power went out once for about 5 minutes, wasn't a big deal. I will admit that there was an employee named Elvin, who I will not forget because he was wonderful. The biggest deal breaker was that the hotel overbooked and was asking for volunteers to switch hotels in return for a free voucher back. We switched to a different resort which I have not one complaint about, however when the time came to cash in on our voucher we were ignored time and time again. I even managed to ring up an 80$ phone call by calling the number suggested on the voucher. I will avoid this resort and stick to the similarly priced barcelo bavaro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SmallFry824
Business
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Jul 17, 2012

You get what you pay for...

This hotel is not 5 star. But is an awesome experience. You just have to remember to keep things in perspective. You will not get 5 star treatment unless you splurge and do the room upgrade or join the vacation club. Those are worth looking into, and worth the investment. Don't bother going to the the restaurants on the resort. The main cafeteria is going to give you the best selection and the best quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
let'sgetthere
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 17, 2012

Well, could be better

Food service was good, but the check in was slow. Something went wrong with the reservations (they over sales the rooms capacity).but they have so many act. to do. (No include but, you can buy it at the lobby). I don't think I'm going to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Manati Park is really close and other attractions like Cap Cana!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDSS
Business
New Jersey
Jun 11, 2012

Average vacation

Resort is located on a beautiful island, and has a really nice beach. The time we went, June, it was very hot and humid, but if you go in the water now and then to cool off it is fine. This resort certainly did not have everything one could ask for. Staff was not attentive, or very friendly. Resort was older and out dated. Our first room was infested with mosquito and had a broken toilet along with a dripping air conditioner. After asking to be moved we had a better room. However, we called the resort ahead of time to confirm our reservation and ask for joining rooms with a view of the ocean. When we got there we had neither. Once we walked around the resort it seems that there arent even any rooms that have views of the ocean. The pools were very large and kept clean. The grounds around the resort were also kept very nice. The food was lacking a lot. There were four restaurants that were okay. But you are only allowed to go to three during a weeks stay. The buffet for lunch and dinner was not that great. The staff needed to be asked several times in order to get something, like water. Most of the beach chairs were old and broke. The towel hut was located on one end of the beach. There were hardly any organized activities during the day. The resort does not have a purification system therefore the water in the resort can NOT be consumed, as most resorts it can be. This is my third stay in Punta Cana, and I would rate this hotel as the worse of the three. Although it lacked a lot, it was overall a good price. The beach in Punta Cana is amazing though and is what keeps me returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dojaja85
Business
Chicago Il
May 23, 2012

friends trip

the place is great, the staff could be a little nicer but overal i would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top