$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mfc85
Business
New Jersey
Jun 24, 2014

Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I noticed was it was mostly families/couples, which was contrary to reviews that I read online before going. Maybe it was the time of year that I went (mid-June) ? I would definitely go back, but only with a girlfriend/spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Mostly everything in the gift shop is expensive (sunblock cost me $30, and when you factor in different SPFs for face and body, you will probably need more than one bottle). It might be worth it to bring your own and pay to check a bag on the flight over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Padrote
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Family Trip, 2 adults, 4 children

This Hotel is fantastic. This is my 3rd visit, and I will come back. The Buffet restaurant is very confortable with air conditioned and confortable chairs, Several Pools and many activities. I will definetely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Oriental A la carte restaurant is a must. Consider staying at the Royal Club Rooms wich has a private restaurant, beach, pool Jacuzzi, among other amenities. For Family traveling with kids, the Kids Club is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pagdo
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jan 22, 2014

Better than 3 stars

The place was very good. The best beach in Bavaro. The food wasn't that good and everyday the same. In the fifth day you need to go out and eat something better and new. The town near the hotel is awful, you wont like to go anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindseyLee
Business
Orange County, California
Apr 1, 2014

The Pros and Cons

Pros: -such a friendly staff, they remember your names, and really make you feel welcome and at home. By the end, we would hangout with them at the pool. They even joined us in a couple games of volleyball. -very accomodating hotel -amazing pool that runs through the entire property with an in pool bar -directly on the beach with so many chairs to lay out on and huts to stay in the shade -free things to do both night and day. The staff put on a disco one night, there were a bunch of fun pool activities, nightly shows etc. -Free waterbottles throughout the entire hotel including the refriedgerator in your room -There are also a ton of on site excursions including parasailing, pictures with monkeys, banana boat rides, and snorkleing. Cons: -Food: there are five places included in the all inclusive and an additional three if you make reservations. The food itself isnt very fresh/tastes bland. The pizza place (open til 4 am) and buffet by the beach are good though. -The stores on site are ridiculously expensive so dont plan on buying sunscreen there unless you want to spend $38 for a bottle. -The vendors who come on site are very pushy so learn to say no multiple times. -Our bathroom had a leak in it and wasnt clean when we got there Overall, I would recommend this resort to any of my friends, especially for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 7, 2008

I give it a solid B

Just got back from a 6 day/5 night stay at the Occidental. We'll start with the good. The room was very nice. Large, clean, with a really big bathroom. The beach is absolutly beautiful. Couldn't ask for better. Make sure you get down to the beach by 8am with your towel to reserve beach chairs under shade. The multiple pools are nice as well. The pizza restuarant was good. The Oriental was good as well. It's a good idea to make reservations at the restuarants you want for the week on your first day. They fill up fast. The breakfast buffet was really good as well. Omlette station, crepe station and lots of fruit. Now on to the not so good. The staff can speak enough to take your dinner and drink order but not much else. The water pressure in the bathrooms sucked and I think they turn off the hot water for a few hours in the middle of the day. The resturants are not open all the time so get a schedule so you know when they are availible. The hotel has vendors come in for town to sell goods every Friday so there is no reason to leave the Resort. Be aware that they only come once a week so if you are going to buy something, that is the time. They have a shop on the resort grounds that sells the basics like asprin and sun screen and chips but they charge a crazy amount for it. $35 for a tube of sun screen! All in all a nice resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 27, 2008

Very Friendly staff

It was Memorial Day weekend and my girls and I decided to hit the DR to see what it was about. The Hotel is on the beach in a beautiful secure resort in Punta Cana. This hotel had old and new rooms. Of course we got an old room. Warning, the water is brown when you first turn it on, it scared the heck out of us. But we realized that we were not back in the U.S. anymore. They say don't drink the water and now I see why. The room was a little outdated and we got a view of the back of the resort but otherwise peaceful if u like looking at trees. The beds weren't all that comfortable, but we barely slept anyway. I would suggest you request a newer room near the ocean. They were much better. The food was pretty good especially the Italian restaurant.The Steak tacos were great at 3 in the morning. I can't wait to return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Aug 3, 2007

My review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

The hotel was older so it was 'worn' more than others...but we also paid considerable less. I must add that we saw the staff continuously cleaning up, sweeping walk ways of any sand, picking up glasses/cups left around (vacationers can be messy), and tending to landscaping, pools and furnishings. The resort seemed the most lively with dancing in the lobby, watersports in the pools and sailing/kayaking available at the beach. The resort was located about the middle of all the beach resorts and I thought this happened to be the better part of the beach. We walked to each end just to check out/compare other resorts. One drawback was the lack of wireless internet but maybe this helps promote 'vacation'....if not there are computers to use for a small fee. Food seemed to be representative of the island so we tried new foods. It felt a bit like a cruise ship with buffet or dining choice and entertainment in the outdoor theater each night! Overall, a good experience for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A 'real' casino (with tables) is only a short $5 cab ride away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2008

Beautiful Beach

The room, beach, pool, and staff were wonderful. The food was mediocre at best. I've had better steak at golden corral. If dining is your thing, I'd go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 4, 2008

Don't miss

Don't miss out on the pizza on the top floor. We are from NY and were shocked that they had such good pizza!!! Been to other hotels in Carib and these have to be the best beds ever in the carib!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Little shopping village which alot of the hotel people walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chantilly, Virginia
Mar 4, 2009

Our 2009 Trip

Check in was fast and accurate. Room beautiful and clean. Resort very nice. If you wanted action you could go to the main pool, wanted some peace and quiet there was another pool to go to and the beach the best. The internation buffet was great and every night something different, the crepes were my favorite. Thing we did not like was the concierge service, the first lady the greeted us was new and did not know what she was doing, we had requested a reservation and was never made. Did not like being harassed by the Vacation Club people we kept asking us when we came, if we came with a travel agency etc.. bottom line what they want is to sell you the Vacation Club it's kind of a timeshare it was very annoying. Magu best nightclub to go but it really doesn't get started until around 11:00 p.m. We stayed 5 nights and would return again but for a few more days to do some another tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Parasailing and scuba diving were the best but try to ask them to take down the price and they will.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top