$303 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bringle
Business
Atl. GA
Jul 8, 2014

Grand Get away

Staff, all pleasant, and helpful. The up keep of the property, ongoing, and wonderful to see. Clean, comfortable, and spacious rooms. Lots to drink, and eat. from the tasty, and attractive presentations.. Enjoyed the nightly shows: performances, and costumes sensational. Downside: issues with our toilet not flushing, but response to our distress was within reasonable time. I'm disabled, and ramps are needed to enter the Mexican, Asian, and Steakhouse restaurants. Would be a plus if a beach wheelchair was available for rental to get on the beach. Splendid vacation overall. Use of a safe, and free internet should be included. With the improvements in progress, I do hope these mentioned changes will happen......before I return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RTHEislands4U
Business
Englewood florida
Jul 2, 2014

go simple and save

overall good times... but rough start wrong room and no concierge/room services as promised and paid $50.00 extra for..... skip it and save the $$ this is not a fancy resort but if you want the beach and pool as your main stay its money well spent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

snuba snokel and speed boat adventure booked by resort excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Random111111
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Jun 25, 2014

Hotel Stay

Would have preferred more quiet and relaxation with a more comfortable bed. People were great and friendly though and the beaches were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mfc85
Business
New Jersey
Jun 24, 2014

Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I noticed was it was mostly families/couples, which was contrary to reviews that I read online before going. Maybe it was the time of year that I went (mid-June) ? I would definitely go back, but only with a girlfriend/spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Mostly everything in the gift shop is expensive (sunblock cost me $30, and when you factor in different SPFs for face and body, you will probably need more than one bottle). It might be worth it to bring your own and pay to check a bag on the flight over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Travelleer
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Economical Weekend Getaway

Overall and in relation to the price - good value. Italian Restaurant was under renovation. Thus only Steakhouse & Oriental to choose from for a evening Dinner. Overall experience was disappointing in both restaurants - service good but food below average. Hotel is too large though - 860 rooms and from Friday - Sunday, very full, which also impacted the service level, i.e. Room Cleaning, waiting time for Lunch at the Restaurant etc. The evening shows were mediocre. Mangu Disco is quite nice though. Also, a lot of kids. Not the place for an Adult only type getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girlies
Business
Texas
May 16, 2014

Girls Vacation

This was an all girls trip, so safety was key for us. The resort felt very safe and the beach was gorgeous. A negative was that we had to pay for so many extras. Have to pay for wifi, room safe, and any activities you want to do. The buffet was not good. The food overall was not good. We didn't really eat, just beach and pool the whole time. Friendly staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aruba is better
Business
CT
May 4, 2014

Eh

Coming from the US, for some reason I expected at least some English to be spoken... that' would be a nope... location on the beach great, buffet was actually better than the restaurants. There were little bugs crawling in the bathroom and we got a notice that the room was to be fumigated, but wasn't... all in all beach was good, make sure you get to beach early or no way you are going to sit in anything but sand... Hotel should make all towels be returned at end of day... that way the same people can't get same seats on beach EVERY DAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cristina and Chris
Business
NYC
Apr 18, 2014

Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the night shows. I want to recognize and thank Marcelo from the front desk because he was exceptional. He demonstrated a true interest and dedication to ensure that me and my wife had a wonderful time in the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel and their overall service! Cristina and Chris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindseyLee
Business
Orange County, California
Apr 1, 2014

The Pros and Cons

Pros: -such a friendly staff, they remember your names, and really make you feel welcome and at home. By the end, we would hangout with them at the pool. They even joined us in a couple games of volleyball. -very accomodating hotel -amazing pool that runs through the entire property with an in pool bar -directly on the beach with so many chairs to lay out on and huts to stay in the shade -free things to do both night and day. The staff put on a disco one night, there were a bunch of fun pool activities, nightly shows etc. -Free waterbottles throughout the entire hotel including the refriedgerator in your room -There are also a ton of on site excursions including parasailing, pictures with monkeys, banana boat rides, and snorkleing. Cons: -Food: there are five places included in the all inclusive and an additional three if you make reservations. The food itself isnt very fresh/tastes bland. The pizza place (open til 4 am) and buffet by the beach are good though. -The stores on site are ridiculously expensive so dont plan on buying sunscreen there unless you want to spend $38 for a bottle. -The vendors who come on site are very pushy so learn to say no multiple times. -Our bathroom had a leak in it and wasnt clean when we got there Overall, I would recommend this resort to any of my friends, especially for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiny tank 13
Business
Iowa
Mar 13, 2014

our getaway

Way to many kids. Spring break! Alcohol not very good. No domestic brands. Not much adult activities. Very clean resort as a whole. Beaches were some of the best we have been to. Food, dinner buffet was great included Lobster and Shrimp. Lunch buffet was good. Breakfast buffet a lot of the food was cold that should have been warm. The restaurants had to have reservations put in early to get in. Would not let you eat there with out one even though they were half empty with seating. The restaurant food was not very good any ways. Pizzeria was great. Maintenance of the rooms could have been better. Rooms out dated but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Not much adult entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top