$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2008

worst food ever

The room they gave us initially had ants all over the bathroom, terrace overlooked the service road, and had a musty smell. Bribery and multiple requests got us a much better room overlooking the pool. was constantly harrassed by hotel timeshare salesmen. Beach pool and weather in general were very good. but the food was inedible. had to go out in a cab multiple times to get decent meals. This was all inclusive so that was a waste. Drinks were local dominican brands only. nothing i had ever heard of before. all in all i would never go back very disappointing. also resort stores charge triple what the local mall does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 2, 2008

Ok hotel

The hotel was ok. We did not have hot water for our stay and I did not like the fact that you have to book the restaurants between 8am-noon for dinner. We also had mosquitoes in our room but they gave us bug spray. Overall, the hotel was okay. I would recommend staying at other hotel if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The pizza was pretty decent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renina
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 23, 2008

Great Place To Relax

Everything at the Occidental was excellent from the service, staff, entertainment, pool, food, and property overall. The only complaint was the shower. We didn't have any warm or hot water after our first day!! We complained at the front desk, and they said it would be fixed, but it wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go right outside the hotel off the property, there is a market you can go to shop at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jan 6, 2008

WORST experience EVER!!!

This was easily the worst travel experience of my life and I travel quite frequently. Everything that could have gone wrong, did. Our toilets were leaking and over-flowing, the ceiling was leaking. We were forced to stay in a room with a few inches of standing water. The hotel did NOTHING to accomodate us!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

tours scheduled through hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 4, 2008

Don't miss

Don't miss out on the pizza on the top floor. We are from NY and were shocked that they had such good pizza!!! Been to other hotels in Carib and these have to be the best beds ever in the carib!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Little shopping village which alot of the hotel people walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2007

Great couple getaway

The Occidental Flamenco was a great place to stay. I thought the staff was great. I would tell anyone looking for a relaxing place to enjoy the sun to stay there. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The mangu club was an experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Sep 12, 2007

family friendly

This hotel was very clean,the staff was very friendly. FOOD WAS GREAT. Entertainment need sosome inprovement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

you can save 50% or more on gifts shops out of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 5, 2007

My review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

The hotel was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 18, 2007

Just okay

The Occidental Punta Cana Grand Resort is average. They do not keep up their maintenance in the rooms. There was rust in the bath tub and on the bedroom walls which made me uncomfortable. I asked for another room and told to wait a few days. After going on a tour of the Royal Club vacation package and viewing the rooms, I decided that I'd better stay in the room I had since they must all look unmaintained. They lacked good communication in regards to the activities. They should come with your check in materials so you can plan you week or days. To my surprise the best food was at the Buffet. You would think the resteraunts would be. After our third day we got diarrhea, don't know why. It continue a week after we got home. No, I didn't drink the water. The waiters, waitresses, and cooks didn't smile unfriendly for the most part. Unless of course you tip them. I thought the tips were included?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 12, 2007

My review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

The hotel was very clean and the set up was great. However, the food was mediocre. It was really annoying to make reservations for dinner if you wanted to have Italian, Mexican, Chinese etc. If you did not get up by 8:30 to make reservations, you were left with open buffet or pizza place. Open buffet had a huge line. People smoke like crazy. If you a smoker, it a heaven or if you are not then it's hell. Adults and kids alike cut through the lines to get drinks and food. Getting a place at the beach under the umbrellas was a problem. People got up 6:00 am to place their towels on the seats. If you got there by 7:30, you were out of luck and had place under the sun. They did not play any American songs. Every song was in Spanish. If you speak Spanish, it's a great place. Everybody speaks Spanish. A lot of the staff had hard time communicating in English. For that matter any language other than Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top