$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Great family getaway

Had a great time, lots of activities for the kids, the beach is awesome, too much sales rep trrying to get you to go to their sales presentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kristof
Business
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

sweet deal

nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the club called "mangu" was really cool.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Family Vacation - 2 adults, 4 teenagers

The hotel is definitely not a 4 star. We have travelled extensively. the rooms were v. dirty and even when cleaned never felt clean - beds were very old. Bugs in the beds, not friendly staff, poor food selection, poor drink selection, entertainment staff don't work when there is a little rain - they disappear, just overall really bad experience and we have travelled and accept an awful lot. This hotel I would love to get my full refund and feel that we should. Lots of stories to tell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 11, 2009

Great Time; honest review

Here's the deal -- the food is simply mediocre, but unlimited. We had two dinners (a "pre-dinner" and a late reservation dinner). The restaurants are average at best. It is tough to get a reservation -- make sure you are diligent about booking in advance. Every day, go down as soon as you wake up and book for three days ahead of time. If you don't, you can probably slip the host a few bucks and get a table, but don't count on it -- they were stingy about adding one more person to the reservation.The drinks are a bit watered down, but they are plentiful. The all-inclusive nature of the resort makes it alright.The nightclub, Mangu, is AMAZING. The upstairs is a euro/techno area; downstairs is a mix of local jams and hip hop/reggaeton. Many locals frequent the place, but so do many tourists from the surrounding hotels. Your all-inclusive covers entry ($20), but not the drinks. Stay at the hotel bar until it closes, and then head to the club. Also, at Mangu, be careful of local prostitutes; they line the place.The beach is nice, nothing breathtaking. There is a beach bar and a buffet right off the beach. They have outdoor aerobics and a volley ball court. All were a lot of fun.Last, i got bitten up in the room. I am pretty sure a mosquito got caught in my covers or something. But I wasn't the only one with this issue.Basically, don't expect luxury and you will walk away very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak house is decent; mexican is not worth it; asian is decent; italian - eh. But make your reservations!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MichPete
Business
Wakefield, MA
Mar 6, 2009

You wont get what you pay Orbitz for...

We booked a Royal Club Junior Suite thru Orbitz, we checked in an they brought us to a room. Not the room we paid for. We spent 2 days fighting with the hotel and the Orbitz Representative on site and the issue was not resolved. The hotel itself was dirty, the food bad, and if you want to go off the resort, don't bother.. it's even worse out there. The weather was warm, and the ocean nice, but don't think you will sit on the beach in peace.. there are walking vendors that harass you all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chantilly, Virginia
Mar 4, 2009

Our 2009 Trip

Check in was fast and accurate. Room beautiful and clean. Resort very nice. If you wanted action you could go to the main pool, wanted some peace and quiet there was another pool to go to and the beach the best. The internation buffet was great and every night something different, the crepes were my favorite. Thing we did not like was the concierge service, the first lady the greeted us was new and did not know what she was doing, we had requested a reservation and was never made. Did not like being harassed by the Vacation Club people we kept asking us when we came, if we came with a travel agency etc.. bottom line what they want is to sell you the Vacation Club it's kind of a timeshare it was very annoying. Magu best nightclub to go but it really doesn't get started until around 11:00 p.m. We stayed 5 nights and would return again but for a few more days to do some another tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Parasailing and scuba diving were the best but try to ask them to take down the price and they will.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 27, 2008

Ok for college students to relax

drinks are watered down so stay with tequila. rooms and the beach are decent and probably one of the best parts of the trip. workers of the hotel and locals constantly annoying people by trying to sell them something. when it comes to service forget about it, all of a sudden no one understands English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 27, 2008

Ok for college students to relax

drinks are watered down so stay with tequila. rooms and the beach are decent and probably one of the best parts of the trip. workers of the hotel and locals constantly annoying people by trying to sell them something. when it comes to service forget about it, all of a sudden no one understands English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 19, 2008

Nice Vacation

They kept the place very clean. the ocean was right by our room. Went swiming every day and had a great time. The place was very beatiful, the service was good and so was the food. My wife and I would like to go there again. We took alot of pictures to show ore family. We really have a nice time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens Village, NY
Sep 5, 2008

Very nice location

Overall I had a great time. I was on my honeymoon and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

do not change your money. the dollar is stronger than peso's.

Back to menu Return to top