$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Great relaxing hotel

The Occidental Grand Punta Cana is a sprawling complex that is staffed with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. The facility is well maintained, the beach is clean and beautiful and the food was plentiful, fresh and assorted. The bars offer local drinks as part of the all-inclusive arrangement and they were very good. The entertainment crew really went above and beyond to entertain the guests and one can't help liking the whole bunch. I would definately stay again if I were looking for the relaxing beach getaway vacation. Drawbacks: Hot water issue at peak usage times (5-6 PM) and over zealous merchants try to sell you everything from a time-share to a picture of you with a parrot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago
May 27, 2008

Very Friendly staff

It was Memorial Day weekend and my girls and I decided to hit the DR to see what it was about. The Hotel is on the beach in a beautiful secure resort in Punta Cana. This hotel had old and new rooms. Of course we got an old room. Warning, the water is brown when you first turn it on, it scared the heck out of us. But we realized that we were not back in the U.S. anymore. They say don't drink the water and now I see why. The room was a little outdated and we got a view of the back of the resort but otherwise peaceful if u like looking at trees. The beds weren't all that comfortable, but we barely slept anyway. I would suggest you request a newer room near the ocean. They were much better. The food was pretty good especially the Italian restaurant.The Steak tacos were great at 3 in the morning. I can't wait to return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Tuscaloosa
May 27, 2008

RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!

I don?t know WHERE to start, this was my FAR the WORST hotel experience EVER! From check-in to check out there was problem after problem after problem!! Check-in It took me 5 hours to check in.. after flying all day this was the LAST thing I expected. I have traveled many a MDW weekend and although fully staffed, the front desk was fully unprepared. Food Awful, from the buffet to the buffet to the sit-down make reservation dinners. The Brazilian ? avoid it if you can.. the Buffets.. were hit and miss.. they had some edible veggies and fruit.. but uhmk goodness we went off site a few times to eat. I would have lost twenty pounds! The Oriental, Home Run (poolside restaurant), and the late night Pizza place was the best thing there.. I will say the Pizza was extremely good and the staff there was excellent, especially considering how busy they were every night! THE BLACKOUT AND LACK OF RUNNING WATER The hotel had TWO blackouts and no running water for HOURS! I was furious because we had just come back from swimming with the sharks and snorkeling anddddddddddddd I needed a shower! Staff I can only name 3 people (plus our maid) that was extremely friendly to me in the hotel.. Just about everyone from the front desk, including management, to the security were so rude it?s sickening. The pool was fair.. they need to redo the lining in the pool, but the grounds were immaculate. BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT my dress and shoes, as well as my girlfriend?s cover-up and shoes were taken from the pool while WE WERE THERE?! I just cannot believe it!! If I can?t say anything else, everything OUTSIDE of the rooms was well-kept - definitely the only selling point of this poorly run establishment! Mangu?s was fun (club connected to the hotel), however, we did not get there until super late.. seeing they are open until 6/7am! The music was great and the set-up was very nice. All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel to my worse enemy! They need a makeover in rooms AND staff AND not to mention the FOOD!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Jellyfish - it is the bestest restaurant ever!! Food, location, and view!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

Nice Hotel, but they need to step it up

Overall, the hotel was nice. What made the experience less desirable was the fact that there was no hot water for showering. Additionally, they have a general concierge, but they were very unhelpful. We were given a bottle of wine, but had no way to open it. We were given a fruit basket which included a full pineapple. However, there were no knives or other utensils to cut open the pineapple. If they pay attention to these details, they would get better reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 7, 2008

I give it a solid B

Just got back from a 6 day/5 night stay at the Occidental. We'll start with the good. The room was very nice. Large, clean, with a really big bathroom. The beach is absolutly beautiful. Couldn't ask for better. Make sure you get down to the beach by 8am with your towel to reserve beach chairs under shade. The multiple pools are nice as well. The pizza restuarant was good. The Oriental was good as well. It's a good idea to make reservations at the restuarants you want for the week on your first day. They fill up fast. The breakfast buffet was really good as well. Omlette station, crepe station and lots of fruit. Now on to the not so good. The staff can speak enough to take your dinner and drink order but not much else. The water pressure in the bathrooms sucked and I think they turn off the hot water for a few hours in the middle of the day. The resturants are not open all the time so get a schedule so you know when they are availible. The hotel has vendors come in for town to sell goods every Friday so there is no reason to leave the Resort. Be aware that they only come once a week so if you are going to buy something, that is the time. They have a shop on the resort grounds that sells the basics like asprin and sun screen and chips but they charge a crazy amount for it. $35 for a tube of sun screen! All in all a nice resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Mar 31, 2008

customer service lacking

rooms were okay. customer service lacking. beach great and food acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Baltimore, MD
Mar 30, 2008

Can't Wait to Go Back!

The Occidental Grande in Punta Cana was a great vacation for us. I was pleased at how well the staff took care of our needs, how clean the beach was, how safe we felt, how relaxing the entire experience was. We can't wait to go back. I loved the Occidental and I feel the staff truly did their best to accomodate our needs. I can't wait for my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a jewelry shop outside the lobby entrance with a few other little shops and prices for jewelry high, I felt they were trying to take advantage of tourists.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2008

Beautiful Beach

The room, beach, pool, and staff were wonderful. The food was mediocre at best. I've had better steak at golden corral. If dining is your thing, I'd go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Mar 11, 2008

Great place for everyone.

The Occidental Grand Punta Cana was the most beautiful place. I had never been to the DR, and the resort definitely met and exceeded all of my expectations. The property is so well-maintained, the room was big and the drinks and food never ended! The staff was also extremely friendly, however if you are lacking in knowledge of the Spanish language, you may feel a little in the dark. I found myself explaining (as well as I could) many things to waiters and hotel staff in Spanish. The only aspect of our trip that could have been better is the check in process took a little while. Also, make sure that you have a shuttle booked back and forth from the hotel. For some reason we forgot to do so, and ended up paying taxis an arm and a leg to bring us to and from the airport. These things though were completely miniscule. I would recommend this place to anyone any age - young families, college students, empty-nesters, whoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangu!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2008

worst food ever

The room they gave us initially had ants all over the bathroom, terrace overlooked the service road, and had a musty smell. Bribery and multiple requests got us a much better room overlooking the pool. was constantly harrassed by hotel timeshare salesmen. Beach pool and weather in general were very good. but the food was inedible. had to go out in a cab multiple times to get decent meals. This was all inclusive so that was a waste. Drinks were local dominican brands only. nothing i had ever heard of before. all in all i would never go back very disappointing. also resort stores charge triple what the local mall does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top