$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Jun 3, 2009

punta cana

I relaxed a lot. Went to the beach and pool. Beach is great. Night life is a lot of fun as well. Not happy with location outside resort though. Seems dangerous. But overall, very great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Died in DR
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 1, 2009

Worst Trip of My Life!!!!

The one thing positive I will say is the place was clean, however NO ONE spoke English even in the resort and the largest pool was empty the first two days I was there. Without the pool there was not much to do, the beach was nice but they gave me towel vouchers but noone knew where to get them. There was a club on site and that was the salvation for everyone, However, I never found out..... I was on my death bed. We also had a blackout in our building with no explanation not to mention they hound you constantly to attend timeshare demonstrations. Oh and the food almost KILLED me. After day two I stayed alive by eatting only pineapples and toast. The climax to the trip.... Wait for it...... I paid for a round trip shuttle to/from the airport and it never showed up and I had to pay additional for a cab in order to not miss by blessed plane ride home. The DR is dead to me ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a tough stomach and speak Spanish.... Try it.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
US Traveler who loves the DR
Business
Georgia
Jun 1, 2009

Thankfully, I roll with the punches....

This is my third trip to Punta Cana and though we really did have a good time because we made our own fun and met fun people...it was a little bit of a disaster. After booking this property primarily because of the swim-up bar in the pool (and the beach, of course), we were disappointed that the pool was closed for maintenance the ENTIRE time we were there. We got a good deal on the package, so I can't complain too much...but this is about my 10th visit to an all-inclusive in the Caribbean and this is the worst food I have ever had. Alot of the staff was great and very helpful...however some of the resort staff tries to make a little money on the side prostituting and my friend and I (who were on a girls' trip) were approached more than once. Uncomfortable. Again, I have been to the island multiple times and have NEVER had this happen. Other positive things include being next to Mangu, the dance club, and our rooms were clean and safe. The bartenders and cocktails were great too. All and all with the deal we got, and the fact that we really tried to be as laid back as we could be about the negative things, the trip was ok. I would not stay here again though. I highly recommend the Melia Caribe (where I have stayed and had a completely different experience) or even the Sunscape is better. Hope this helps!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangu next door is fun if you want to dance. Drinks there are not inclusive...and keep an eye on your purse and your friends/significant others. Prostitutes, both male and female, are everywhere.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WilC
Business
Queens, NY
May 28, 2009

Punta Cana Trip

I rate the hotel a 3 at this point because it rained for 3 days. Although you can't blame the hotel for mother nature, I think the hotel was ill equipped and not prepared for the massive rain that pretty much flooded 3/4's of the hotel. Many people, like myself, looked forward to being in the pool as I do not like being at the beach much. By the time I was leaving, the pool was still not open. Other than that, I would say my stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luis And Tully
Business
Lancaster, Pennsylvannia, USA
May 28, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Good beach, excellent night show, much entertainment on the beach by day and fun means such as boats, diving, sport watter, flight in parachute, and good service gourmet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

When a hikes does not include food give host some provision of food or a card for it acquires in the destination to visit

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WilC
Business
Queens, NY
May 28, 2009

Punta Cana Trip

I rate the hotel a 3 at this point because it rained for 3 days. Although you can't blame the hotel for mother nature, I think the hotel was ill equipped and not prepared for the massive rain that pretty much flooded 3/4's of the hotel. Many people, like myself, looked forward to being in the pool as I do not like being at the beach much. By the time I was leaving, the pool was still not open. Other than that, I would say my stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Gables Fl.
May 25, 2009

Occidental Punta Cana Evaluation

It is an ideal location for rest,yet you have the choice to enjoy day time outdoors activities as well as night entertainment. Their outdoors activities and entertainment staff do a wonderful job. On the food side your best choices are the buffet restaurants(average plus). next to the hotel lobby and at the beach. Ironically the beef,italian,mexican and oriental restaurants for which you must make rasevations in advance are all bellow grade in food quality and average service. If you are going for a good suntan avoid the rainy season which includes May and June. Still a good deal for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MIAMI, FL.
May 9, 2009

WORTHY

OVERALL TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL WAS PLEASANT, THE ONLY "BUT" FOR US WAS THE ENTRETEIMENT,WE GOT THERE ON SUNDAY AND NO SHOWS WERE PERFORMED UNTIL WEDNESDAY (BORED FOR 3 DAYS) . ALSO,THEY SHOULD HAVE A BIGGER ANIMATION TEAM,SO PEOPLE DO NOT NEED TO GO ALL THE WAY TO THE BEACH TO JOING THEM AND HAVE FUN FOR A COUPLE MINUTES. MORE ANIMATION BY THE POOL AREA AND AROUND THE HOTEL WILL DO THE TRICK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel lil-shops are extremelly expensive, so is the bavaro plaza..We kept walking over the same street and after a few minutes we found a regular supermarket with all kind of souvenirs and goods for fraction of the price. So it was worthy the walk.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snookie
Business
New Jersey
May 4, 2009

Great vacation & location

We loved the pool & the clean beach, resturants were good, people were very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waterguru
Business
Amherst, NH
May 4, 2009

Great vacation

This was a great place to stay. Upgrading to the royal club is well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top