$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
172 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.6957 -68.4355
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ).
Area description
Area attractions include casinos, golf, and tours.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Great relaxing hotel

The Occidental Grand Punta Cana is a sprawling complex that is staffed with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. The facility is well maintained, the beach is clean and beautiful and the food was plentiful, fresh and assorted. The bars offer local drinks as part of the all-inclusive arrangement and they were very good. The entertainment crew really went above and beyond to entertain the guests and one can't help liking the whole bunch. I would definately stay again if I were looking for the relaxing beach getaway vacation. Drawbacks: Hot water issue at peak usage times (5-6 PM) and over zealous merchants try to sell you everything from a time-share to a picture of you with a parrot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
May 27, 2008

Very Friendly staff

It was Memorial Day weekend and my girls and I decided to hit the DR to see what it was about. The Hotel is on the beach in a beautiful secure resort in Punta Cana. This hotel had old and new rooms. Of course we got an old room. Warning, the water is brown when you first turn it on, it scared the heck out of us. But we realized that we were not back in the U.S. anymore. They say don't drink the water and now I see why. The room was a little outdated and we got a view of the back of the resort but otherwise peaceful if u like looking at trees. The beds weren't all that comfortable, but we barely slept anyway. I would suggest you request a newer room near the ocean. They were much better. The food was pretty good especially the Italian restaurant.The Steak tacos were great at 3 in the morning. I can't wait to return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tuscaloosa
May 27, 2008

RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!

I don?t know WHERE to start, this was my FAR the WORST hotel experience EVER! From check-in to check out there was problem after problem after problem!! Check-in It took me 5 hours to check in.. after flying all day this was the LAST thing I expected. I have traveled many a MDW weekend and although fully staffed, the front desk was fully unprepared. Food Awful, from the buffet to the buffet to the sit-down make reservation dinners. The Brazilian ? avoid it if you can.. the Buffets.. were hit and miss.. they had some edible veggies and fruit.. but uhmk goodness we went off site a few times to eat. I would have lost twenty pounds! The Oriental, Home Run (poolside restaurant), and the late night Pizza place was the best thing there.. I will say the Pizza was extremely good and the staff there was excellent, especially considering how busy they were every night! THE BLACKOUT AND LACK OF RUNNING WATER The hotel had TWO blackouts and no running water for HOURS! I was furious because we had just come back from swimming with the sharks and snorkeling anddddddddddddd I needed a shower! Staff I can only name 3 people (plus our maid) that was extremely friendly to me in the hotel.. Just about everyone from the front desk, including management, to the security were so rude it?s sickening. The pool was fair.. they need to redo the lining in the pool, but the grounds were immaculate. BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT my dress and shoes, as well as my girlfriend?s cover-up and shoes were taken from the pool while WE WERE THERE?! I just cannot believe it!! If I can?t say anything else, everything OUTSIDE of the rooms was well-kept - definitely the only selling point of this poorly run establishment! Mangu?s was fun (club connected to the hotel), however, we did not get there until super late.. seeing they are open until 6/7am! The music was great and the set-up was very nice. All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel to my worse enemy! They need a makeover in rooms AND staff AND not to mention the FOOD!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Jellyfish - it is the bestest restaurant ever!! Food, location, and view!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

Nice Hotel, but they need to step it up

Overall, the hotel was nice. What made the experience less desirable was the fact that there was no hot water for showering. Additionally, they have a general concierge, but they were very unhelpful. We were given a bottle of wine, but had no way to open it. We were given a fruit basket which included a full pineapple. However, there were no knives or other utensils to cut open the pineapple. If they pay attention to these details, they would get better reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 7, 2008

I give it a solid B

Just got back from a 6 day/5 night stay at the Occidental. We'll start with the good. The room was very nice. Large, clean, with a really big bathroom. The beach is absolutly beautiful. Couldn't ask for better. Make sure you get down to the beach by 8am with your towel to reserve beach chairs under shade. The multiple pools are nice as well. The pizza restuarant was good. The Oriental was good as well. It's a good idea to make reservations at the restuarants you want for the week on your first day. They fill up fast. The breakfast buffet was really good as well. Omlette station, crepe station and lots of fruit. Now on to the not so good. The staff can speak enough to take your dinner and drink order but not much else. The water pressure in the bathrooms sucked and I think they turn off the hot water for a few hours in the middle of the day. The resturants are not open all the time so get a schedule so you know when they are availible. The hotel has vendors come in for town to sell goods every Friday so there is no reason to leave the Resort. Be aware that they only come once a week so if you are going to buy something, that is the time. They have a shop on the resort grounds that sells the basics like asprin and sun screen and chips but they charge a crazy amount for it. $35 for a tube of sun screen! All in all a nice resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 31, 2008

customer service lacking

rooms were okay. customer service lacking. beach great and food acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Mar 30, 2008

Can't Wait to Go Back!

The Occidental Grande in Punta Cana was a great vacation for us. I was pleased at how well the staff took care of our needs, how clean the beach was, how safe we felt, how relaxing the entire experience was. We can't wait to go back. I loved the Occidental and I feel the staff truly did their best to accomodate our needs. I can't wait for my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a jewelry shop outside the lobby entrance with a few other little shops and prices for jewelry high, I felt they were trying to take advantage of tourists.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2008

Beautiful Beach

The room, beach, pool, and staff were wonderful. The food was mediocre at best. I've had better steak at golden corral. If dining is your thing, I'd go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 11, 2008

Great place for everyone.

The Occidental Grand Punta Cana was the most beautiful place. I had never been to the DR, and the resort definitely met and exceeded all of my expectations. The property is so well-maintained, the room was big and the drinks and food never ended! The staff was also extremely friendly, however if you are lacking in knowledge of the Spanish language, you may feel a little in the dark. I found myself explaining (as well as I could) many things to waiters and hotel staff in Spanish. The only aspect of our trip that could have been better is the check in process took a little while. Also, make sure that you have a shuttle booked back and forth from the hotel. For some reason we forgot to do so, and ended up paying taxis an arm and a leg to bring us to and from the airport. These things though were completely miniscule. I would recommend this place to anyone any age - young families, college students, empty-nesters, whoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangu!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2008

worst food ever

The room they gave us initially had ants all over the bathroom, terrace overlooked the service road, and had a musty smell. Bribery and multiple requests got us a much better room overlooking the pool. was constantly harrassed by hotel timeshare salesmen. Beach pool and weather in general were very good. but the food was inedible. had to go out in a cab multiple times to get decent meals. This was all inclusive so that was a waste. Drinks were local dominican brands only. nothing i had ever heard of before. all in all i would never go back very disappointing. also resort stores charge triple what the local mall does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top