$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C "mangbeast" O
Business
Sister Bay, WI
Apr 23, 2009

Good but could have been better

I liked it and I would totally recomend it. I would however recomend upgrading right away. I wanted a king size bed and we got two full size pushed together. Nice people and good food. Get up early if you want a good spot at the beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cresco,pa
May 2, 2009

good vacation for the price!!!@

The hotel location to beach is not too bad. We thought the reception area and bar were very nice. It would be quite helpful if at least some of the people in customer service and check-in spoke better English...at least to help with problems. We were asked to move to another resort after 3 days....We were accommodated very nicely and given another week of all inclusive for free!! The beach was very well kept...as is the entire resort area extremely clean. Rooms and furniture are a bit outdated...the bathrooms are definately outdated! More important though was that rooms were nice and clean with good room service daily. Food was quite good in buffet. A la carte restaurants were OK. We will visit this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WilC
Business
Queens, NY
May 28, 2009

Punta Cana Trip

I rate the hotel a 3 at this point because it rained for 3 days. Although you can't blame the hotel for mother nature, I think the hotel was ill equipped and not prepared for the massive rain that pretty much flooded 3/4's of the hotel. Many people, like myself, looked forward to being in the pool as I do not like being at the beach much. By the time I was leaving, the pool was still not open. Other than that, I would say my stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2009

Your money's worth

It was very humid there so our bed sheets constantly felt damp. The room in general felt like everything was damp. water from the shower would also flood the bathtub rim, therefore flooding our bathroom floor. The beach had too much boat traffic and the water was murky. The beach was not as spacious as I had hoped, it was not serene at all. I say this place is good for families. The restaurants only had so-so food. The only place we enjoyed was the pizza place outside the italian restaurant. There were also many mosquitoes coming out at night. The hotel staff are very friendly though, and service was quick. Compared to all other vacations, DR certainly had the most affordable activities such as: Parasailing, swimming w/Dolphins, Snorkeling, Horse back riding...etc. They offered activities half of what other carribean islands had asked for. I personally will not come back only because I did not experience anything "local/non tourist". Unless you were on an activity, you couldn't wander out of the resort so at times it felt like you were on a cruise and just run into the same people and you can't get out. It wouldn't be safe to wander out of the resort area so I understood that. We knew of another couple who was staying at a different hotel, but resorts there are secluded from one another, so we were not able to meet up. I hope resorts in general there, can create an environment where guests can leave the confines, go shopping, go to casinos..all in walking distance...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bargain, bargain, bargain. Never take the first offer from the people trying to sell you activities on the beach...they WILL lower the cost on an activity and they are very friendly still.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 25, 2009

June 18

It was great but the food was not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LakersSinceDa80s
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Jun 15, 2009

Brutally Honest review...plz post!

Basically everything was cool until the last night...when i slipped down some stairs do to a bad, or lack of a dry job.(lawsuit any1?)..mix that in with a on-site hospital staff of 1..and you are getting wheel-chaired around the airports(those who have recently traveled might have seen me in either Philly, Vegas, or PC)...all 3 of them due to orbits finding me the cheapest way to my destination(no matter how long it takes)..(that's another story).. Food:...nothing but pizza for me, with the occasional piece of bacon and toast...i was told by some1 with more experience than i to stay away from anything creamy, that includes scrambled eggs....Omelets which are made fresh before u r good to go...never got a chance to eat at a reserved dinner..tho i made plenty of reservations...due to the fact that i was wasted by 5..just being honest..all i can say is drinks like "ready to go" and anything else they light on fire need to their consumption limited. Drinks: guess i just covered that..."Dominican flag"..not a bad option.."ready to go" will have u ready to go somewhere....bed, club, pool...it will also warm u up pretty nice...Be aware! Anything that gets lit up is really that fire! meaning it will do the trick..just give it time Hotel..Grounds/Rooms: Start with the grounds..immaculate, clean pools crystal clear, chlorine content just right, pools cleaned what seemed nightly...beaches had white sands turquoise waters...now every1 complains about the bites they receive and the # of...i will say this, i didn't get bit until i went out on the beach in the early morning like 3-8a.m. before the sun was out to scare the critters away..b4 then i had none, and all of the people i spoke with had none either...so i'm not sure about all the talk...but none the less i did end up bitten so i guess its a tolerance thing..to each their own..Rooms: i was on the first floor of building 25 pool-side view.(darn) but it was cool, (btw they claimed this was an upgrade when i checked in the guy made sure to repeat it several times) even when it did rain i was never flooded, there is a slight musk to the room but i wasn't in it long enough to complain, and the maid started overfilling my fridge with brews so i really couldn't complain...(California Charm, not every1 has it, so don't expect the same treatment if u don't deserve it)j/k maybe she was just being nice, but when i first checked in there were no comp beers. but i digress.... Nightlife: After 1a.m. its Club Mangu, then there's Mangu, and after that more Mangu...other than Mangu, its a wrap, from a single man's perspective...B4 1a.m. feel free to take in the nightly entertainment..i usually didn't wake up until about 1030 - 11...(remember i was normally out by five), but some people seemed to enjoy it. Around 1130 - 1p.m. there is a nice show in the lobby, dancing/mingling, and whatnot..oh yea not to mention the mob at the bar where every1 drinks as much as they can b4 1a.m....after that u r paying for drinks at Mangu.the shocker $5 USD for the same free water they just gave u next door, unless u look at the bartender like he/she is crazy, then u might git a free 1 (i did), if i remember correctly alcoholic beverages were 5 or 7 $USD..did i mention that's the last thing to do after dark...Great thing about the club and why i liked it so much is the fact that it doesnt close until its empty..thats like 6 or 7 on a good night/morning...saturday was by far the most happening night...during the week so-so...two floors 1st is salsa, 2nd hip-hop/techno/anything else...u stay there too long and songs begin to get repeated. Domincan Girls, most if not all in that tourist trap are "tutes" or "stutes" as some of my friends from the Mid-west call em...i stayed away, but the Canadians are "friendly" and i'll leave it at that. Now if ur female and WITHOUT male company be prepared to be HOUNDED!/SWARMED/FOLLOWED/BORDERLINE HARASSED..by Dominican Males...they were my main comp..so fellas step ur GA...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 25, 2009

it was ok

not much to talk about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 31, 2009

the good /the bad

i tried to bring my girlfriend in as a guest for a couple of nights security threw her out like she was a criminal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 9, 2009

kind of good vacation

Everything was good excepting the room,smell like humidity. The next day the shower roof was leaking (like a rain) we were so disgusting to take a shower (we did not know from where the water was it could be toilete's) as natural we complaint about it. We stayed for 7 days and the leak was not complete fix it (still one or two drops fall) so we were taking unconfortable showers (the manager did not have another room to move us.) We will never ever will return to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel's shopping stores are extremely expensive so we walk to the "plaza" its at the right side out of hotel. We walk around and find a supermarket with acceptable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jukes
Business
Easton ,Pa
Feb 9, 2010

o.k.

The beach and hotel grounds were fantastic! The room was very good,and The staff were friendly, however the food was mediocre. I didn't appreciate the time spent on the sales pitch to join the occidental club.I also had a problem with COCO Tours which was the transportation to and from the airport.The Coco tours representative kept my travel itinerary and also my travel voucher for the "roundtrip" transportation. then claimed I had no such arrangements!! It was eventually straightened out, but again took away from my enjoyment. Snokeling and horseback riding were included in the "all inclusive" plan that I purchased..no information was provided as to how and where to do these activities. A man approached us on the beach in regards to horseback riding and said it would be 30 minutes in a corral! while others that paid 35$ were to ride on the beach,this was discouraging. I am disappointed and doubt that I would book my hotel stay with Occidental resorts again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

barter with vendors, closely examine the merchandise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top