$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiny tank 13
Business
Iowa
Mar 13, 2014

our getaway

Way to many kids. Spring break! Alcohol not very good. No domestic brands. Not much adult activities. Very clean resort as a whole. Beaches were some of the best we have been to. Food, dinner buffet was great included Lobster and Shrimp. Lunch buffet was good. Breakfast buffet a lot of the food was cold that should have been warm. The restaurants had to have reservations put in early to get in. Would not let you eat there with out one even though they were half empty with seating. The restaurant food was not very good any ways. Pizzeria was great. Maintenance of the rooms could have been better. Rooms out dated but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Not much adult entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aruba is better
Business
CT
May 4, 2014

Eh

Coming from the US, for some reason I expected at least some English to be spoken... that' would be a nope... location on the beach great, buffet was actually better than the restaurants. There were little bugs crawling in the bathroom and we got a notice that the room was to be fumigated, but wasn't... all in all beach was good, make sure you get to beach early or no way you are going to sit in anything but sand... Hotel should make all towels be returned at end of day... that way the same people can't get same seats on beach EVERY DAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 31, 2008

customer service lacking

rooms were okay. customer service lacking. beach great and food acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 2, 2008

Ok hotel

The hotel was ok. We did not have hot water for our stay and I did not like the fact that you have to book the restaurants between 8am-noon for dinner. We also had mosquitoes in our room but they gave us bug spray. Overall, the hotel was okay. I would recommend staying at other hotel if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The pizza was pretty decent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 12, 2007

My review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

The hotel was very clean and the set up was great. However, the food was mediocre. It was really annoying to make reservations for dinner if you wanted to have Italian, Mexican, Chinese etc. If you did not get up by 8:30 to make reservations, you were left with open buffet or pizza place. Open buffet had a huge line. People smoke like crazy. If you a smoker, it a heaven or if you are not then it's hell. Adults and kids alike cut through the lines to get drinks and food. Getting a place at the beach under the umbrellas was a problem. People got up 6:00 am to place their towels on the seats. If you got there by 7:30, you were out of luck and had place under the sun. They did not play any American songs. Every song was in Spanish. If you speak Spanish, it's a great place. Everybody speaks Spanish. A lot of the staff had hard time communicating in English. For that matter any language other than Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 27, 2008

Ok for college students to relax

drinks are watered down so stay with tequila. rooms and the beach are decent and probably one of the best parts of the trip. workers of the hotel and locals constantly annoying people by trying to sell them something. when it comes to service forget about it, all of a sudden no one understands English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 11, 2009

Great Time; honest review

Here's the deal -- the food is simply mediocre, but unlimited. We had two dinners (a "pre-dinner" and a late reservation dinner). The restaurants are average at best. It is tough to get a reservation -- make sure you are diligent about booking in advance. Every day, go down as soon as you wake up and book for three days ahead of time. If you don't, you can probably slip the host a few bucks and get a table, but don't count on it -- they were stingy about adding one more person to the reservation.The drinks are a bit watered down, but they are plentiful. The all-inclusive nature of the resort makes it alright.The nightclub, Mangu, is AMAZING. The upstairs is a euro/techno area; downstairs is a mix of local jams and hip hop/reggaeton. Many locals frequent the place, but so do many tourists from the surrounding hotels. Your all-inclusive covers entry ($20), but not the drinks. Stay at the hotel bar until it closes, and then head to the club. Also, at Mangu, be careful of local prostitutes; they line the place.The beach is nice, nothing breathtaking. There is a beach bar and a buffet right off the beach. They have outdoor aerobics and a volley ball court. All were a lot of fun.Last, i got bitten up in the room. I am pretty sure a mosquito got caught in my covers or something. But I wasn't the only one with this issue.Basically, don't expect luxury and you will walk away very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak house is decent; mexican is not worth it; asian is decent; italian - eh. But make your reservations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C "mangbeast" O
Business
Sister Bay, WI
Apr 23, 2009

Good but could have been better

I liked it and I would totally recomend it. I would however recomend upgrading right away. I wanted a king size bed and we got two full size pushed together. Nice people and good food. Get up early if you want a good spot at the beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cresco,pa
May 2, 2009

good vacation for the price!!!@

The hotel location to beach is not too bad. We thought the reception area and bar were very nice. It would be quite helpful if at least some of the people in customer service and check-in spoke better English...at least to help with problems. We were asked to move to another resort after 3 days....We were accommodated very nicely and given another week of all inclusive for free!! The beach was very well kept...as is the entire resort area extremely clean. Rooms and furniture are a bit outdated...the bathrooms are definately outdated! More important though was that rooms were nice and clean with good room service daily. Food was quite good in buffet. A la carte restaurants were OK. We will visit this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WilC
Business
Queens, NY
May 28, 2009

Punta Cana Trip

I rate the hotel a 3 at this point because it rained for 3 days. Although you can't blame the hotel for mother nature, I think the hotel was ill equipped and not prepared for the massive rain that pretty much flooded 3/4's of the hotel. Many people, like myself, looked forward to being in the pool as I do not like being at the beach much. By the time I was leaving, the pool was still not open. Other than that, I would say my stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top