$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
182 reviews
Great Time, but not for singles

Everything was great, in terms of amenities, food, cleanliness, the staff, etc.. The one thing I... See full review

  • mfc85
  • Jun 24, 2014
Fantastic customer experience!!

Everything in the hotel was superb..customer service, food quality, night club, the beach, and the... See full review

  • Cristina and Chris
  • Apr 18, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana resort on Playa Bavaro with nine restaurants
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)

Hotel Map

18.6957 -68.4355
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ).
Area description
Area attractions include casinos, golf, and tours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Mar 2, 2008

Ok hotel

The hotel was ok. We did not have hot water for our stay and I did not like the fact that you have to book the restaurants between 8am-noon for dinner. We also had mosquitoes in our room but they gave us bug spray. Overall, the hotel was okay. I would recommend staying at other hotel if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The pizza was pretty decent.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 12, 2007

My review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

The hotel was very clean and the set up was great. However, the food was mediocre. It was really annoying to make reservations for dinner if you wanted to have Italian, Mexican, Chinese etc. If you did not get up by 8:30 to make reservations, you were left with open buffet or pizza place. Open buffet had a huge line. People smoke like crazy. If you a smoker, it a heaven or if you are not then it's hell. Adults and kids alike cut through the lines to get drinks and food. Getting a place at the beach under the umbrellas was a problem. People got up 6:00 am to place their towels on the seats. If you got there by 7:30, you were out of luck and had place under the sun. They did not play any American songs. Every song was in Spanish. If you speak Spanish, it's a great place. Everybody speaks Spanish. A lot of the staff had hard time communicating in English. For that matter any language other than Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 27, 2008

Ok for college students to relax

drinks are watered down so stay with tequila. rooms and the beach are decent and probably one of the best parts of the trip. workers of the hotel and locals constantly annoying people by trying to sell them something. when it comes to service forget about it, all of a sudden no one understands English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 11, 2009

Great Time; honest review

Here's the deal -- the food is simply mediocre, but unlimited. We had two dinners (a "pre-dinner" and a late reservation dinner). The restaurants are average at best. It is tough to get a reservation -- make sure you are diligent about booking in advance. Every day, go down as soon as you wake up and book for three days ahead of time. If you don't, you can probably slip the host a few bucks and get a table, but don't count on it -- they were stingy about adding one more person to the reservation.The drinks are a bit watered down, but they are plentiful. The all-inclusive nature of the resort makes it alright.The nightclub, Mangu, is AMAZING. The upstairs is a euro/techno area; downstairs is a mix of local jams and hip hop/reggaeton. Many locals frequent the place, but so do many tourists from the surrounding hotels. Your all-inclusive covers entry ($20), but not the drinks. Stay at the hotel bar until it closes, and then head to the club. Also, at Mangu, be careful of local prostitutes; they line the place.The beach is nice, nothing breathtaking. There is a beach bar and a buffet right off the beach. They have outdoor aerobics and a volley ball court. All were a lot of fun.Last, i got bitten up in the room. I am pretty sure a mosquito got caught in my covers or something. But I wasn't the only one with this issue.Basically, don't expect luxury and you will walk away very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak house is decent; mexican is not worth it; asian is decent; italian - eh. But make your reservations!

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C "mangbeast" O
Sister Bay, WI
Apr 23, 2009

Good but could have been better

I liked it and I would totally recomend it. I would however recomend upgrading right away. I wanted a king size bed and we got two full size pushed together. Nice people and good food. Get up early if you want a good spot at the beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
cresco,pa
May 2, 2009

good vacation for the price!!!@

The hotel location to beach is not too bad. We thought the reception area and bar were very nice. It would be quite helpful if at least some of the people in customer service and check-in spoke better English...at least to help with problems. We were asked to move to another resort after 3 days....We were accommodated very nicely and given another week of all inclusive for free!! The beach was very well kept...as is the entire resort area extremely clean. Rooms and furniture are a bit outdated...the bathrooms are definately outdated! More important though was that rooms were nice and clean with good room service daily. Food was quite good in buffet. A la carte restaurants were OK. We will visit this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WilC
Queens, NY
May 28, 2009

Punta Cana Trip

I rate the hotel a 3 at this point because it rained for 3 days. Although you can't blame the hotel for mother nature, I think the hotel was ill equipped and not prepared for the massive rain that pretty much flooded 3/4's of the hotel. Many people, like myself, looked forward to being in the pool as I do not like being at the beach much. By the time I was leaving, the pool was still not open. Other than that, I would say my stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2009

Your money's worth

It was very humid there so our bed sheets constantly felt damp. The room in general felt like everything was damp. water from the shower would also flood the bathtub rim, therefore flooding our bathroom floor. The beach had too much boat traffic and the water was murky. The beach was not as spacious as I had hoped, it was not serene at all. I say this place is good for families. The restaurants only had so-so food. The only place we enjoyed was the pizza place outside the italian restaurant. There were also many mosquitoes coming out at night. The hotel staff are very friendly though, and service was quick. Compared to all other vacations, DR certainly had the most affordable activities such as: Parasailing, swimming w/Dolphins, Snorkeling, Horse back riding...etc. They offered activities half of what other carribean islands had asked for. I personally will not come back only because I did not experience anything "local/non tourist". Unless you were on an activity, you couldn't wander out of the resort so at times it felt like you were on a cruise and just run into the same people and you can't get out. It wouldn't be safe to wander out of the resort area so I understood that. We knew of another couple who was staying at a different hotel, but resorts there are secluded from one another, so we were not able to meet up. I hope resorts in general there, can create an environment where guests can leave the confines, go shopping, go to casinos..all in walking distance...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bargain, bargain, bargain. Never take the first offer from the people trying to sell you activities on the beach...they WILL lower the cost on an activity and they are very friendly still.

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 25, 2009

June 18

It was great but the food was not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LakersSinceDa80s
Pasadena, Ca
Jun 15, 2009

Brutally Honest review...plz post!

Basically everything was cool until the last night...when i slipped down some stairs do to a bad, or lack of a dry job.(lawsuit any1?)..mix that in with a on-site hospital staff of 1..and you are getting wheel-chaired around the airports(those who have recently traveled might have seen me in either Philly, Vegas, or PC)...all 3 of them due to orbits finding me the cheapest way to my destination(no matter how long it takes)..(that's another story).. Food:...nothing but pizza for me, with the occasional piece of bacon and toast...i was told by some1 with more experience than i to stay away from anything creamy, that includes scrambled eggs....Omelets which are made fresh before u r good to go...never got a chance to eat at a reserved dinner..tho i made plenty of reservations...due to the fact that i was wasted by 5..just being honest..all i can say is drinks like "ready to go" and anything else they light on fire need to their consumption limited. Drinks: guess i just covered that..."Dominican flag"..not a bad option.."ready to go" will have u ready to go somewhere....bed, club, pool...it will also warm u up pretty nice...Be aware! Anything that gets lit up is really that fire! meaning it will do the trick..just give it time Hotel..Grounds/Rooms: Start with the grounds..immaculate, clean pools crystal clear, chlorine content just right, pools cleaned what seemed nightly...beaches had white sands turquoise waters...now every1 complains about the bites they receive and the # of...i will say this, i didn't get bit until i went out on the beach in the early morning like 3-8a.m. before the sun was out to scare the critters away..b4 then i had none, and all of the people i spoke with had none either...so i'm not sure about all the talk...but none the less i did end up bitten so i guess its a tolerance thing..to each their own..Rooms: i was on the first floor of building 25 pool-side view.(darn) but it was cool, (btw they claimed this was an upgrade when i checked in the guy made sure to repeat it several times) even when it did rain i was never flooded, there is a slight musk to the room but i wasn't in it long enough to complain, and the maid started overfilling my fridge with brews so i really couldn't complain...(California Charm, not every1 has it, so don't expect the same treatment if u don't deserve it)j/k maybe she was just being nice, but when i first checked in there were no comp beers. but i digress.... Nightlife: After 1a.m. its Club Mangu, then there's Mangu, and after that more Mangu...other than Mangu, its a wrap, from a single man's perspective...B4 1a.m. feel free to take in the nightly entertainment..i usually didn't wake up until about 1030 - 11...(remember i was normally out by five), but some people seemed to enjoy it. Around 1130 - 1p.m. there is a nice show in the lobby, dancing/mingling, and whatnot..oh yea not to mention the mob at the bar where every1 drinks as much as they can b4 1a.m....after that u r paying for drinks at Mangu.the shocker $5 USD for the same free water they just gave u next door, unless u look at the bartender like he/she is crazy, then u might git a free 1 (i did), if i remember correctly alcoholic beverages were 5 or 7 $USD..did i mention that's the last thing to do after dark...Great thing about the club and why i liked it so much is the fact that it doesnt close until its empty..thats like 6 or 7 on a good night/morning...saturday was by far the most happening night...during the week so-so...two floors 1st is salsa, 2nd hip-hop/techno/anything else...u stay there too long and songs begin to get repeated. Domincan Girls, most if not all in that tourist trap are "tutes" or "stutes" as some of my friends from the Mid-west call em...i stayed away, but the Canadians are "friendly" and i'll leave it at that. Now if ur female and WITHOUT male company be prepared to be HOUNDED!/SWARMED/FOLLOWED/BORDERLINE HARASSED..by Dominican Males...they were my main comp..so fellas step ur GA...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search