$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester Co. N.Y.
May 11, 2010

Hard work that pays off !

I keep my vacations simple, I like to relax on the beach , eat good interesting food and meet nice people. I expect everything to be in working order in my room and assume it will be cleaned daily. I expect that the resort also will make every attempt to maintain it's appearance. This is the second time I have visited Occidental Grand , and hopeful not my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All-Inclusive bargin hunter
Business
New York City, New York
May 9, 2010

"Small Treasure All-Inclusive"

Selected this all inclusive based exclusively on low price. Was prepared to find just OK hotel and was very surprised to find all ammenities superior, with friendly staff. Grounds and beaches are beautifully maintained. (Be prepared to be pressed to join "VIP Club" with special suites, private dining and beach. OK perks if you want to shell out thousands for a lifetime contract!) Was more that happy with my "regular" room and beach. Very convenient to be able to pay in dollars for incidentals and tips. Will definatly return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take to beach the bottles of water provided in your room refrigerator. Saves trips back and forth from beach to nearby buffet restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falmouth MA
Apr 17, 2010

Good Value but needs updating

This is our 3rd time to Punta Cana. Food was very good compared to Natura Park - did not get sick. Hotel is pushing tourist to join their vacation club. They should put more effort in updating their rooms. Very good walking paths to beach. Drinks were plentiful. Speciality restaurants were excellent. The process to make reservations was slow - wait in line beginning at 8:00 am. The hotel was 30 minutes from airport. Taxi rate is fixed at $35. for two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shopping huts along beach - don't bother going into town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Mar 28, 2010

Great time, staff was very good to us

We spent most of the day on the beach. Staff was very good to us. Bar did not offer any top shelf liquor. Wine during diner was not good at all. It was watered down. When we stayed at other resorts at Punta Cana they had more activities for the adults during the course of day - ie: coed contests around the pool to win prizes(bottle of island rum, bottle of wine during dinner) This is a great way to break the ice and meet other people. Coed arm wrestling, water basketball/vollyball, pong, tug of war, boce ball, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh nc
Mar 28, 2010

march trip

beach was nice food in main restaurant was good italian restaurant was not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jukes
Business
Easton ,Pa
Feb 9, 2010

o.k.

The beach and hotel grounds were fantastic! The room was very good,and The staff were friendly, however the food was mediocre. I didn't appreciate the time spent on the sales pitch to join the occidental club.I also had a problem with COCO Tours which was the transportation to and from the airport.The Coco tours representative kept my travel itinerary and also my travel voucher for the "roundtrip" transportation. then claimed I had no such arrangements!! It was eventually straightened out, but again took away from my enjoyment. Snokeling and horseback riding were included in the "all inclusive" plan that I purchased..no information was provided as to how and where to do these activities. A man approached us on the beach in regards to horseback riding and said it would be 30 minutes in a corral! while others that paid 35$ were to ride on the beach,this was discouraging. I am disappointed and doubt that I would book my hotel stay with Occidental resorts again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

barter with vendors, closely examine the merchandise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stunninglife
Business
St. Paul, MN USA
Feb 4, 2010

Quite Good!

I was only there for maybe 10 hours overnight before moving to a different resort where I was to stay for five days. The stay at Occidental was only intended to be very short. It all looked good though! It looked like a "10" for spring break people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
miller0076
Business
Scottsville, KY
Jan 7, 2010

One Word---HORRIBLE

Hotel seemed nice by the look but when we got into our room there were leaky roofs, dirty beds, empty pools (due to a storm and out of their control), and bad customer service. Noone would help us get the issues fixed until I got hateful on the Friday b4 we left which gave us 1 day to enjoy. They did give us a complementary vacation of 7 nites but now that we are planning they will not return calls, emails or allow us to book that free trip. Not that I want to return but was hoping to have a better trip next go around. Every nite there was grit in our bed from the walls and ceilings, water on the bath floor due to a leak, fridge did not work and yet noone wanted to fix these issues that I paid for. You cant walk through the facility w/o being bugged to upgrade to the royal club and when you have a complaint all they can say is "IF you were in royal club you wouldnt have these problems" I should get what i paid for whether I am in the royal club or not. I do NOT recommend this resort at all. Beaches were about the only thing nice about it. Waste of my money for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diving was great. Staff at the diving center within hotel was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolat Chocolat
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 9, 2009

First All-Inclusive

I thought that for my first all-inclusive it was very nice. The beach and pool (main reason for going) was great not one complaint. The food was decent but to make reservations for restaurants was a hassle and there was little room available. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monmouth County NJ
Dec 8, 2009

Misery

Simply put...the worst vacation I've ever been on. The Hotel is a horrible place. Every American staying there felt the same way. Many actually packed up and left. Food and beverage just horrible....and will make you sick. The rooms are really run down and hardly air conditioned. DO NOT go to this hotel if you are used to the American standard of living!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top