$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
206 reviews
Awesome trip

The hotel is well located. Bavaro is located in the Atlantic so the water is not the blue Carribean... See full review

  • Giannie B.
  • May 27, 2015
Family Trip, 2 adults, 4 children

This Hotel is fantastic. This is my 3rd visit, and I will come back. The Buffet restaurant is very... See full review

  • Padrote
  • Jan 7, 2015
Celebrate grandeur and ultimate comfort at Occidental Grand Punta Cana – All Inclusive, on the oceanfront at the famed white-sand Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Spanish-style resort surrounds lagoon-style swimming pools dotted with coconut trees and extends to 865 guest rooms, nine restaurants and seven bars. Guests keep busy with a dazzling collection of activities ranging from tennis, archery, windsurfing and aqua aerobics to merengue classes.
Location
Occidental Grand Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Dining
Dine at a different restaurant every evening at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. Eight ethnic-themed restaurants take guests on a global cuisine tour, from Mexican at La Hacienda to Asian at D'Oriental. Or, visit Le Buffet for open-air international buffet dining.
Rooms
With brand new guest room upgrades and renovations, Occidental Grand Punta Cana continues to impress. Choose from nine categories of rooms ranging from deluxe to the royal club master suite with two bedrooms, living room, double shower, hydro-massage tub, private pool and whirlpool, and much more. All rooms include 32-inch flat-screen satellite LCD television, cedar-lined closets, mini refrigerator, terra cotta flooring and private patio or balcony. Royal club room guests enjoy exclusive access to The Royal Club Restaurant.
Highlights
  • Enjoy upgraded/renovated guest rooms with amenities ranging from a double shower to private pool
  • Try something new at the resort, such as Hoobiwave riding or water polo
  • Drop the kids at Occidental Kids Club, an activities club for ages 4 to 12
Nearby attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (27 mi/43.5 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (60.1 mi/96.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (136 mi/218 km)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
Recreation

Most activities at Occidental Grand Punta Cana are on the all-inclusive list, including swimming pools, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, windsurfing, archery, basketball, tennis, water polo, dance classes and fitness center. The resort also offers a casino (fees apply) and full spa (fees apply).

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.
Grand Concierge Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will get concierge service, Internet service caf, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa treatment, bath robe to wear during your stay.
Grand Romance Deluxe
Identical to Deluxe rooms, in addition you will receive a bottle of champagne, strawberries covered with chocolate, couples massage, first morning breakfast in bed, romantic dinner, turn down service and 10% discount spa treatment and a surprise gift and special amenities for romance occasions
The Royal Club Luxury
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Junior Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
The Royal Club Master Suites
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to one additional restaurant and lounge that is exclusive to the Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers VIP room amenities, personal concierge service, stocked mini bar, in-room dining during certain times, private areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet.
Family Deluxe Room (2 adults & 2 children up to 12 years old ONLY)
This room 3rd and 4th person rates apply for children up to 12 years old. ***ONLY accommodates 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years old. Hotel will request age verification for children.*** This guest room features two double beds or one king size bed. Decorated in Mexican Caribbean style, these rooms feature private terrace, air conditioning, mini-bar, complete bathroom, ceiling fan, color TV via satellite, direct telephone and safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center with meeting facilities.

Dining

La Fontana Pizza
Pizzeria. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
La Hacienda
Mexican restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Las Reses
Grill Steakhouse serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Via Veneto
Italian restaurant serving a la carte. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Beach Club
Lunch & Bar
D'Oriental
Pan-Asian a la carte dining. Open from 7:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Several seatings. Reservations required. Casual elegant dress code for specialty restaurants is observed. Men are required to wear long trousers. Shirts with sleeves required in all restaurants.
Le Buffet
International Buffet dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Fontana
Pizzeria
Antojitos
Taqueria & snacks.
Home Run
Snacks and sports bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley H.
Business
Beverly
Jun 9, 2015

Love Punta Cana

This was my 4th time back to Dominican Republic but the first time at the Occidental hotel. I stayed for 4 days with my boyfriend and had a great time. I thought the beach was beautiful, nicer than farther down the hotel strip in Punta Cana. The location of our room was perfect to, a smaller resort so it looks like all the rooms are close to the beach and pool. For me the location was perfect, I like going off the resort and restaurants and tourist bars were within walking distance of the hotel. I thought the rooms were a little dated, especially the bathrooms but it was still very clean and a typical Caribbean style. Fresh fruit in the room in the morning was delicious. I had better buffet food at other resorts but the snacks and lunch were good. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sheila g.
Business
N/A
May 30, 2015

Good family trip

We went to a lot of parties off the resorts.the food was okay it wasn' that I stayed on the toilet the whole time I was there the staff was nice the beach was lovely.the toilet wasn't working all the time they fix the problem right a way I give this resort a three.they didn't have our rooms when we arrive be they wanted us to purchase their wifi when we got upset they got our rooms together .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giannie B.
Business
Miami beach
May 27, 2015

Awesome trip

The hotel is well located. Bavaro is located in the Atlantic so the water is not the blue Carribean as the hotels located un Romana for example. But the beach is beautiful, there are 3 pools that are not crowded. The staff is super kind. There is a night club located few steps from reception so you can have fun without leaving the hotel. Also if you have kids have a kid's club for them. The food is just like the other all inclusive hotels. Also I highlly recommend to book your transportation from airport to hotel. Taxi are not very reliable and the hotel is about 30 min from airport!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
roseydy M.
Business
meriden
May 23, 2015

Nightmare

I had a horrible experience at this hotel. I had booked this hotel 3 months ago. When I arrived, the front desk representative told me if I had made the reservation the date I arrived, really what's wrong with this people. When I enter my room the A/C was linking water to the floor and the drawers were broken. I immediately asked for a room change. The bathroom in the second room needed some help, and I had to keep calling the front desk to bring things such as soup and towels. The waiters were unfriendly, I left no tips, b/c there was no one there taking care of us, they were talking among themselves. This places sucks, DO NOT GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul G
Business
Jackson
May 22, 2015

Awesome vacation

Room - Pool -- Beach --what more do you need....(oh yeah - swim up bar) Good food throughout.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rae999
Business
Mountain View
Apr 19, 2015

Nice Resort... Diving not so hot...

Nice resort with a friendly staff. Buffets were pretty good. The diving was not so hot. Dove 4 days and never got deeper than 45 feet. Reefs were a bit bleak with sparse sea life. This is definitely NOT a dive destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elton M.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Friends trip

We had so much fun at this hotel because I was with my friend. The hotel is nice in general but we had some issues with the ac other then that the food was nice the service was nice and the location is nice. All in all we had fun and enjoyed and willing to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joelyn A.
Business
staten island
Apr 6, 2015

Couples vacation beautiful

Just got back and had an awesome time. I upgraded to the junior suite royal club. Very worth it. The staff is amazing. Only complaint was air conditioner breaking daily. But they fixed fast every time. I'll be back again soon. The royal club office girls are the best. Johanna, Christina, payola, love u guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elewis V.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Is just ok

Water down drinks No internet you have to pay for wifi ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Padrote
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Family Trip, 2 adults, 4 children

This Hotel is fantastic. This is my 3rd visit, and I will come back. The Buffet restaurant is very confortable with air conditioned and confortable chairs, Several Pools and many activities. I will definetely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Oriental A la carte restaurant is a must. Consider staying at the Royal Club Rooms wich has a private restaurant, beach, pool Jacuzzi, among other amenities. For Family traveling with kids, the Kids Club is great.

Back to menu Return to top