$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
519 reviews
Beautiful Getaway

Enjoyed this beautiful place with my daughter. Wait staff and personnel was great. We had fun in... See full review

  • Tiney
  • Oct 4, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon

My parents gave my husband and I a seven day all inclusive stay at the Melia Tropical as our... See full review

  • Liz061886
  • Sep 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (519)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 519
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlanta Milf
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

Fabulous Getaway

From start to finish everything was great. The only thing was that we couldn't get reservation at all the restsurants, but that's because the hotel was booked. Would definitely recommend for families or couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you're trying to save money, shop for trinkets outside the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Huebc
Business
Baltimore
Aug 19, 2014

Couldn't be Better

This is my 2nd time at this resort and the experience was absolutely marvelous. The hotel staff makes you feel at home and the facilities on site will keep you entertained. I can't wait for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Please signup for dinner at their special restaurant in the evening. Food is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDonVacay
Business
Chicago
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value for the Quality

Firstly, I've got to say this resort is just beautiful. I stayed in the Adults Only area, which had the best location on the resort by far, because it is right in front of their really nice private beach, and also because that area is where the pools are located and has the most shading on the resort. That is not to say that the whole resort wasn't splendid either, it's just that if you want the best setup, leave the kids at home :). I got the all inclusive package(...I don't think Punta Cana trips offer it any other way) and they held up to it. When I got to the lobby, they didn't get/ask for my credit card. Just need your passport, really, while they also serve you martinis while you are sitting down. Afterwards, they showed me around and then straight to my room. The room: Nice, clean, and cold, as well as a giant fan that made it even colder. Beware, that fan is no joke, you're gonna freeze. The shower is nice and seems to always have plenty of hot water, towels, and shampoo or hair gel if you need it. The room also has a mini fridge full of water and soda, as well as a safe for your important stuff. I wasn't expecting much, but this place is really all inclusive. Feel free to eat and drink alot. They know how to make drinks here. However, the buffet could be better. It's okay, has good food depending on the day, but I think they make some of the stuff bland on purpose so that you don't get sick. This is strictly speaking about the buffet, otherwise, they have their separate restaurants that are much better. Though, they have even fancier ones that you have to reserve a day in advance and pay a flat fee. Otherwise, I enjoyed the food because I'm not picky. At one point, I had beer, then two cokes, and then a good cup of coffee in one dinner session. The staff here is pretty good. One last thing, the internet here is decent. It was works well in your room and in the lobbies, but not outside. And if you're the bathroom selfie type...the internet doesn't work there at all. For the most part, I was able to upload picture on Facebook just fine. There isn't much else I can say. As long as you're not demanding a 5 star hotel, the Melia actually provides you quality for an inexpensive stay. It's definitely four star though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jewell Bee Mom to Three
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 15, 2014

Melia was Perfect for me

I stayed in the adults only section, it was quiet, not too many people on the beach when I went. Best times were before 11a and after 3p and those times were perfect. I spent most of my time on the beach and relaxing in the room. That's ALL I wanted to do and it was great! The food was really really good and I wanted to taste local foods and many were featured during meal times. Fresh Vegetables were available at every meal with some items that they cook while you are standing there. Sometimes I wanted the beans that they served at breakfast for lunch and I just asked for them and they brought them to me. Meal times were wide enough that I could eat early, go sit on the beach and go back for dessert. I didn't realize until the last night that there were more TV channels so just keep clicking up or asking someone for details at the first desk. I also checked my email once per day in the office, not too many people there on the computers. Room was clean, well maintained. Grounds were manicured. Towels and lounge chairs always available on the beach. No complaints at all. I'm definitely going back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Continental
Business
Louisiana
Mar 30, 2014

Getaway for a few days

Absolute fantastic resort! Beach area is gorgeous with lots of activities on the beach. You can walk forever on the beach passing a nice little shopping market not far from the resort. Also nice large shopping mall right behind resort with walking distance. Golf close by. Not a blade of grass out of place at this resort. Grounds are impeccable. Peacocks and flamingos everywhere. Anything you could imagine to eat. Restaurants are first class. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Most of the staff friendly but you do have a few sour faces here and there. Would highly reccomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drink cups at hotel are rather on the small side (although they wil refill them as much as you want) you spend alot of time walking around for drink refills....so bring your own large insulated mug from home and they will refill those for you! HUGE time saver so that you're not running around for beverages!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anu Solo Traveler
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 1, 2014

Melia Troical and Melia Caribe

The description on the internet is misleading in that the pricing is quoted for all inclusive access to resort amenities for both the Caribe and Trpical resort sections. While checking in I was required to upgrade my reservation at a cost of $200 in order to be able to access the ameneties for the entire resort: bars, swimming pools, restauants, etc. This is a case of deceptive advertising. I would recommend the traveler to confirm what is included and what is not before making the payment via internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations for all your dining choices soon upon arrival in order to be able to go to these restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tlili
Business
Baldwin, New York
Jul 19, 2013

Paradise

The hotel is clean and the food is delicious. The staffs were so courteous and caring. The front desk in the evening is a disaster. No one there to help you after 5pm. All in all my experience was a good one. I enjoy the train rides to and from your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife beds some improvement. Saturday nights are boring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOM TOM 1
Business
PUNTA CANA
Jul 14, 2013

VERY, VERY, NICE....

WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN... VERY GOOD PRICE, RESORT WAS VERY CLEAN, STAFF WAS HELPFULL. LOVED THIS RESORT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

MAKE RESERVATIONS EARLY...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOM TOM 1
Business
PUNTA CANA
Jul 14, 2013

very nice....

it was a great value, loved it. the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chatobarca
Business
san jose, CA
May 13, 2013

great place

the place is beatiful, my room was clean, nice decoration and great view. The only thing i can complain about is that the discotec at the hotel was always empty. also this is not the best place for singles during weekdays.. during the weekend there was a bit more movement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top