$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
520 reviews
Beautiful Getaway

Enjoyed this beautiful place with my daughter. Wait staff and personnel was great. We had fun in... See full review

  • Tiney
  • Oct 4, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon

My parents gave my husband and I a seven day all inclusive stay at the Melia Tropical as our... See full review

  • Liz061886
  • Sep 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (520)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 520
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jasr
Business
Stuart florida
Oct 23, 2014

Great for family or just couples

Very friendly staff Food very good Entertainment very fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Flag down any golf cart for a ride to pool, beach, or lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiney
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 4, 2014

Beautiful Getaway

Enjoyed this beautiful place with my daughter. Wait staff and personnel was great. We had fun in the sun , relaxing. Food was excellent. We did the Oceana Spa which excellent. Would recommend this place. We stayed at the Level Adult only. My only suggestion is the hotel should have more activities and the bulletin about activities should be posted not only at the Caribe lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The specialty restaurant are about a 15 min walk or 5 to 10 by the train or golf carts front the Level adult only. The Steak and Lobster restaurant is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rendezvous couple
Business
danville, Illinois
Aug 14, 2014

Honeymoon

Great resort, food was excellent, amenities were awesome very glad we upgraded and definitely recommend doing that to anyone who wants to go that doesn't have kids, after talking to others that didn't upgrade, they had completely different experience and wasn't as good. We'll worth the extra money. The only complaint would be the baggage handling, they lost our luggage twice, taking it to our room and then taking it from our room to lobby when we checked out, and they wouldn't even give us an option to handle them ourselves. But all in all a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Velia E
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 10, 2014

A great experience!

This was our second trip to Punta Cana, but our first stay at Melia Tropical and we were very happy. There were a few setbacks, but I did enjoy my stay overall. The GREAT: The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well kept, the staff (everyone from the waitstaff to the maids to the front desk) was extremely kind and attentive, the beach and pool areas were clean and beautiful, the restaurants were excellent, and the entertainment was fantastic! The Not-so-Great: For me, the resort was a little too big and spaced out. I did not enjoy having to wait for a train to take me to the beach or the pool everyday. We traveled in a group of 15 and I didn't like that all of our rooms were scattered all over the resort. That was the one big drawback for me. Other than the overwhelming size of the resort, everything was great. We went for a vow renewal ceremony and the staff could not have done a better job of putting together such a beautiful event. I would definitely recommend this resort and consider going back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the service was excellent for us at the hotel. Our favorite place to eat, however, was at the Market Square for their breakfast buffet. It was always a wonderful spread. We also enjoy La Capri which was Mediterranean. I do recommend that everyone tip their waitstaff, as it really helps them out, and in return, they will do even more to give you a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonio S
Business
Lake Hopatcong NJ
Aug 8, 2014

awesome trip!

everything from the food, room, staff was top notch! they accommodated my family group of 14 with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waln
Business
Miami
Jul 29, 2014

family

The resort is not family friendly the only way to get the four start treatment is if you are not traveling with children and you have a Level room or are a Club member If not there is no room service no access to the private beach or the private pools and some restaurants are off limits to you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renier
Business
Miami Florida
Jul 25, 2014

Great vacation

This vacation exceeded my expectations. The hotel room was amazing, the staff was friendly and the location was excellent. The staff was able to get us a room just across the pool which was fantastic for our kids. The only downsize, I wish I would have stayed for a longer time. We had a fantastic time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WillMiamiFl
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2014

A not so "All Inclusive Resort"

Management problems when it comes to restaurants availability. I was not able to secure reservations to these even when I would call 24 hours in advanced; this meant that the first night you will not be able to attend a restaurant of your choice. Some of these Restaurants are not available 7 days a week even thought you pay for amenities the full week. It wasn’t until I complained to one of the Restaurant’s Manager about the lack of service, lack of restaurant availability, and unbelievable long lines to simply eat at the buffet, that I was able to secure a reservation for one of the restaurants the next evening. Very interesting to see the abundance of empty tables at the supposedly booked restaurants, I wonder if this was plain old mismanaging or a marketing strategy to get you to upgrade to the “Level” In addition, the quality and quantity of food at the buffet was very limited. There were food shortages for the general public like bacon during breakfast time and mint for the Mojitos. There are four excellent Restaurants in this resort that are always available but ironically are not included in the “all-inclusive” price. However, for an additional upgrade fee of $25.00 per person per night is not something you are eager to pay, then these restaurants (might I add had no shortages) among some other amenities like semi-private pools, imported liquors, will not be available to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not buy the upgrade fee to "The Level" status, is not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HOLLAR
Business
COPPELL, TEXAS
Jul 14, 2014

Gary Alexander

MY SHOWER DIDNT WORK SO I WENT TO THE FITNESS CLUB EVRYDAY . IT TOOK A HOUR TO CHECK IN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DONT DO TYHE JAPANESE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweetie14
Business
Ny
Jul 9, 2014

It was nice/okay...

The staff at melia was a hit or miss. Some were very helpful and friendly and others not so much. The food and restaurants were good. Beach and pool was nice and much needed. The pics of the rooms online are much nicer than in person. But it was still nice. I got engaged on this trip during a private dinner in a gazebo off the beach... 4 courses. Very romantic and our private waiter was exceptional. Unforgettable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top