$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
525 reviews
I love this hotel!!!

My husband and I had the best time ever. We are definitely going to go back. See full review

  • Des Goul1988
  • Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel with perfect location

I stay here for 8 night and the staff make me feel very special, the animation team is really good,... See full review

  • Nino 1
  • Nov 20, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (525)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Des Goul1988
Business
New Jersey
Nov 24, 2014

I love this hotel!!!

My husband and I had the best time ever. We are definitely going to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nino 1
Business
Sofia
Nov 20, 2014

Nice hotel with perfect location

I stay here for 8 night and the staff make me feel very special, the animation team is really good, the service at the restaurants and the food itself was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fancy Love
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 20, 2014

Melia- The Level

The hotel was very nice. Staff was great. This hotel is for people who want to relax. It is quiet and geared toward a more laid back crowd. Because the property is big, a "train" is available to take you around. If you upgrade to the LEVEL then you are closer to the pools and beach. You have your own pool and beach area. They also provide golf carts that take you around that are not available to the rest. However, the LEVEL's food is not as good as the main area. You can go anywhere you want. But it is a trek. Overall, I have no complaints. Sun, Beach, Sand, all-inclusive. Oh, the rooms are air-conditioned and stocked with drinks and snacks. The room service menu is ok at best. The staff member I would like to mention is Cristian Perez, the pool concierge, he was wonderful. He learned our names. Came and sought us out to ask if we needed anything. He reserved seats for us. Cristian offered any type of help we could ask for and made great conversation. THANK YOU CRISTAIN!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In front of the hotel. There is a direct path. Nice mall and also holds a club called Jewel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy the Beach
Business
North Carolina
Nov 17, 2014

Quick Getaway

We stayed in the adults only Level section and based upon our time there that is the only area to stay. The resort is huge and the level is closest the beach and pools and 3 restaurants. A golf cart will take you anywhere as long as you are a level guest, if not be prepared to wait forever on the tram. The beach and pools are fantastic, the food and drinks not so much.The food was average at best and drinks not great either. We could never get reservations at any of the top places but when we did they only had two other people in the place and food was awful. We walked out of the American Grill halfway through meal. Presidente draft 90% of time. We knew food would not be great as you really cant spice up the food when you are feeding as many as they do, its all about quantity over quality. We went strictly for a relaxing time on the beach and that part was perfect, no problems with beach chairs or waiters.. The beach is perfect, plenty of sun or shade and safe to walk at anytime.. Again only stay at the level,the rest of the resort is too far from the beach and pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tweeter185
Business
Washington
Nov 14, 2014

Rude level staff

Upon arriving we had to move rooms the next day, and trying to get restaurant reservations was unbearable for trying to do the things that the staff said on how to make the reservations and still after 8 nights unable to eat at a restuarant and every time we went to the level office we were treated so rudely, will never stay there again. Big disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard rock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jasr
Business
Stuart florida
Oct 23, 2014

Great for family or just couples

Very friendly staff Food very good Entertainment very fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Flag down any golf cart for a ride to pool, beach, or lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiney
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 4, 2014

Beautiful Getaway

Enjoyed this beautiful place with my daughter. Wait staff and personnel was great. We had fun in the sun , relaxing. Food was excellent. We did the Oceana Spa which excellent. Would recommend this place. We stayed at the Level Adult only. My only suggestion is the hotel should have more activities and the bulletin about activities should be posted not only at the Caribe lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The specialty restaurant are about a 15 min walk or 5 to 10 by the train or golf carts front the Level adult only. The Steak and Lobster restaurant is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liz061886
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 23, 2014

Perfect Honeymoon

My parents gave my husband and I a seven day all inclusive stay at the Melia Tropical as our wedding gift. We stood at The Level- Adults Only part of the resort. It really was an amazing experience. Punta Cana is beautiful, and the people are amazing. Our experience at the hotel was exceptional. The staff would greet us by our names and will go above and beyond to assist us and provide excellent costumer service. The property was huge and conveniently located by the beach. We took advantage of the casino, restaurants/bars, shopping center, big pools and transportation to all the areas in the resort. I will definitely recommend this resort to anyone that wants to experience VIP treatment at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the restaurants is better than the buffets. It is important to make reservations a day in advance to make sure you reserve your time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthdaygirl25
Business
Minnesota
Sep 21, 2014

Birthday weekend getaway

My husband and I went here for my birthday weekend 9-16 through 9-20. This was our first time in the Dominican Republic but not our first time at this chain of resorts. As soon as we arrived to the resort we were welcomed by the friendly staff. Check in was pretty painless. Upon check in the staff member wished me a happy birthday then we were upgraded to "the level". I thought she was being kind since it was my birthday but later found out chatting with others at the resort we weren't that special. The resort was doing construction... The beach was gorgeous minus the awful seaweed!! You couldn't go into the ocean without it touch you. The beach security was amazing, they didn't allow pesky people near you that were trying to sell junk. Biggest complaint was the food. So very hard to get dinner reservations! And I believe since it was the off season they rotated that restaurant were open. Make your dinner reservations the day before! The drinks weren't watered down!! Which was amazing. The resort is HUGE! Pretty sure we didn't see half of the resort. Bring good walking shoes. The Dominican isn't a very clean island and definitely has some cleaning and landscaping to do. That's one thing the Hotel did right. The lawns looked beautiful, and made you feel like we were in a completely different place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel the wifey
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2014

Honeymoon

LOVED Punta Cana! The resort was so big, our room was perfect, so many activities and staff was so friendly! Love it.The beach was a bit dirty so we stayed at the pool. Also wish zthere was more entertainment in the late evenings. Food was good drinks were amazing! Overall we enjoyed stay !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you take your time and review all the activities that are available at the resort otherwise you get carried away and then you realize there are more activities you can do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top