$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
513 reviews
Fantastic getaway

My girlfriend and I just loved the Resort. It was so beautiful and peaceful. The staff was very... See full review

  • Chris Kowal
  • Aug 23, 2014
Fabulous Getaway

From start to finish everything was great. The only thing was that we couldn't get reservation at... See full review

  • Atlanta Milf
  • Aug 20, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (513)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
513 out of 513
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry Family
New York City Area
Apr 8, 2010

what reservations?

I have NEVER witnessed nor experienced this terrible customer service. My family, and at least 20 others arrived at the hotel on Wednesday, March 31st, only to be told, "you'll be staying at the hotel down the street for three days, then you return here on Saturday." Despite paying IN FULL for reservations AT THE MELIA- they intentionally overbooked the Easter holiday... not by one, two reservations, but at least 25, probably more. I talked to 5 other families who experienced this. In spite of calling the hotel two days earlier, and them telling me "yes, we'll see you in two days," they intentionally overbooked, and blatantly lied about it when they knew full well what would happen when you arrived. I booked a 7 day trip for my family. Not a 4 day, 3 day trip. What is a vacation when you spend all the time traveling WITH KIDS, to have to be shuffled to another hotel, and you cannot do anything about it. Shame on Melia. I expect much better from [...] as well. It is clear that the hotel knew that they could make more money overbooking to this extent, knowing that only some parties would take them to task for the maltreatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you do book this hotel, and arrive and they do this to you, tell them you want the "royal service" for your stay there, transportation daily from your hotel not of choice, and a voucher for another stay. If you ask, they will give you this.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westchester Co., New York
Apr 3, 2010

Not Recommended

I will not stay at this resort again. To start off, we arrived to check-in and were told there wasn't a room available and a cab would be picking us up in a few minutes to take us to some other resort I never even heard of. The resort was overbooked for the week, even though I made reservations in November '09 for March '10. After a brief dispute, a room miraculously became available, and the staff wasn't even apologetic in any way. Dinner reservations were nearly impossible to make for a reasonable time, even days ahead of time, unless you don't mind eating at 10:00-11:00PM. Be prepared to pay extra for top shelf liquor and bottled wine. Each restaurant has a pricey wine list for dinner. The resort is too spread out. Plan on 15 minutes for walking to the beach and restaurants or you can wait for the train to pick you up and take you but that also will take 10-15 minutes for it to arrive. Definitely bring tip money. Money talks at this place. The rooms are very small, bathrooms were dirty, the pillows smelled moldy, and the peacocks roaming the grounds are extremely noisy, especially between 12:00AM and 7:00AM. Good luck sleeping. I've been to Punta Cana more than once and it is very beautiful but both resorts I stayed in, especially this one, were poorly managed. Also, the staff were constantly trying to sell timeshares for this resort and be prepared to be approached numerous times on the beach and at the resort pool by persons not affilliated with the resort trying to sell motorized water sports and excursions. Not a very relaxing vacation with everyone trying to sell you something or trying to get a tip from you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You will be told that you have to return to the lobby on your second day to meet with a resort representative. Don't bother. It's a push to get you to buy a time share at the resort. Instead, spend your time at the beach or pool.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waldorf, MD
Jun 21, 2010

Good thing for excursion options @ hotel

We went there for a friends wedding. The wedding was awesome, the cocktail party afterward the food and champange was really good. However, I would not stay at this hotel again nor would I recommend because of the customer service that I received. We were talked into upgrading which was really a disappointment, we were told it was VIP didn't feel that way . The food at the buffets were not really good (the hamburgers were the best thing) and barely lukewarm. We took 2 excursions, the Zip Line and Boogie (dunebuggie sort of) and the people with those companies were awesome. The people there are friendly and the hotel was clean.Everyday we were bothered with them trying to get us to buy a timeshare. We can't really compare it to where we have stayed before because we stayed at Sandals in the Bahamas and there is no comparison. The beach was seaweedy not clear like Nassau. Oh, lastly funny thing is that there really aren't clocks there and you have to get used to Domincan time. 5 minutes equals 15 and 10 min = 30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the zip line takes 50min after they make last pick up but well worth it. [...] and [...] were great tour guides!!!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jul 29, 2010

Royal Service is not so Royal

When we arrived at the hotel, we were offered to upgrade to Royal Service which would give us extra benefits. For one, it would give us premium liquor, but what no one tells you it doesn't include Grey Goose or Belvedere. They have them, but they will sell them to you. It's almost impossible to get reservations in a restaurant. The staff is very unfriendly and if they don't know how to handle a situation they hang up the phone on you. Also, don't request anything, because you'll never get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
WOODBRIDGE NJ
Jul 6, 2011

"THE WORST RESORT EVER"

tip, tip, tip, tip and u still dont get treated like you should unless its an employee in a golf cart transporting you. if you dont tip him he will never pick u up again and he will let his other "partners in crime" know. dont upgrade, all rooms are the same. stay away from "ROYAL SERVICE", its a waste of money. dont take the "special breakfast" the following morning, its to sell u timeshare and its more than 3 hours(smallest package is 40K a yr).your transportaion meeting the next day is also to sell you excursions, be prepared to spend at least 2 hours sitting at the lobby listening about how wonderful and cheap they are. service, housekeeping, liquor, CONCIERGE, staff all are horrible, they "yes" you to death and dont care. pool is ok till about 3-4pm, then it starts smelling like urine. bathrooms arent near so guess where all the urine goes. no ativities what so ever unless u want to pay a 3rd party company "scuba" for excursions. they are really rude and a bunch of cons. resort is HUGE so be prepared to walk, they provide a "train" but its always full. rsvp for restaurants have to be made 24 hrs in advance and you have to call between 9-10am otherwise its all booked, you have better chances in winning the lotto before anyone picks up the phone. we were "royal service" and still had to BUY our conceirge just to get dinner reservations. food is ok. NO ACTIVITIES ON PROPERTY. water arobics at 12 pool side and thats it. most of the time there is no music pool side. towel exchange is a scam. if you dont return ur towel cards u will get charged $25 at checkout. room safe is $2 bucs a day. rooms are smelly, slippery, & damp. we had to ask for new sheets and pillows before we even had luggage delivered to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE....

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
montanajack
Kansas MO
Dec 5, 2012

Look elsewhere

I can't believe how many good ratings this place gets either inexperienced travelers or shills for the property. Grounds are nice but muddy in areas a canal/swamp runs through the property, but not noticeable to most rooms, the property itself is showing its age and run down in areas. At times a whiff of raw sewage can permeate the air. Food can be decent to good sometimes, usually though it's poor to downright bad, the restaurants seem clean and some are charming. Ice must be a luxury item because almost all drinks are warm or cool at best and watered down, beer is warm and bad. Staff can be great or very poor, bartenders tend to ignore you unless you tip early and often even then service will be suspect. Hostesses and wait staff usually act as if you are a major inconvenience to them, some are great most aren't. Air conditioners are on motion sensors from 7am until 10pm so you better like getting up early as the a/c will shut off at 7 and the room will begin to heat up unless you are moving around. Check in took 60 min as we had to haggle with upgrades and our check-in person disappeared 1/2 way through and never came back, had to find someone else to check us in. Time share salesmen roam the property constantly hassling you to buy overpriced timeshares, our room was almost a mile from the beach and a block from the pool, and virtually no rooms have a view of the beach or pool. Our front door had a two inch gap under it so geckos could come and go as they pleased. Hotel transportation bus blew a tire (all tires were worn lucky we didn't crash) and we waited for 30 minutes by the side of the road for a replacement in the middle of nowhere (safety issue). I suppose if you drink a ton and eat three big meals a day the prices are reasonable, if not, this isn't a cheap place as they will nickel and dime you, and you will need to upgrade to get room service, better? drinks etc. In general Dominican Republic is a very poor country and if you go, stay at one of the most expensive places you can find. Personally there are better places to go in the Caribbean. Obviously we will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Jul 25, 2010

Horrible Service

Service was HORRIBLE!!!! Hotel itself was very big so to get to places was a little difficult...especially because we were traveling with our 10 month old. Also...it felt like EVERYONE was smoking while we were there...it was HORRIBLE...the only good thing were the beautiful sites...animals...beach..that's it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EL VACAN
MIAMI
Oct 27, 2012

i would never go back there not even for free. Is disgusting the way they manage the resort

disgusted and suprised how they treat you and the amenities are all in bad shape they always trying to sell you the other installationsthat resort is a rat trap......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 10, 2010

This Place Sucks!!!

Avoid this place, staff will make your life miserable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BOSTON 25
BOSTON
Jun 18, 2014

not a fantastic vacation

iT WAS OUR 25TH ANNIVERSARY WENT WITH OUR 2 ADULT CHILDREN, THEY GAVE US THE WRONG ROOMS WE REQUESTED. ME AND MY HUSBAND HAD TWIN BEDS NOT IN THE ADULT SECTION. THE DINNER RESERVATIONS WERE HDDARD TO GET BEFORE 9OCLOCK. WE HAD TO GET OUR OWN TOWELS AND WATER FOR THE ROOM WAS OUR THIRD TIME THERE THIS WAS THE WORST. WE ALSO ARRIVED A DAY LATE OUR FLIGHT WAS CANCELLED. NOT THE SPECIAL VACATION WE WAITED FOR. ONE NIGHT AT DINNER THEY TOOK OUR ORDER AND ONLY BROUGHT APPETIZERS FOR MY DAUGHTER AND HUSBAND THEY FORGOT ABOUT MY SONS AND MINE, AFTER FORTY MINUTES WAITING FOR OUR MEALS WE LEFT. OTHER PEOPLE HAD GOTTEN THEIRS AND THEY WERE THERE BEFORE US. IT WAS BAD FROM THE START MISSING A DAY AND HALF WAS NOT THE WAY TO BEGIN AND IT WENT DOWN HILL FROM THERE. WE PAID A LOT OF MONEY FOR THIS. AND WE WERE LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS SPECIAL RESORT. I KNOW THEY ARE MAKING IT LARGER BUT THEY NEED TO TAKE CARE OF THEIR CUSTOMERS FIRST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

YOU DO NOT NEED TO TAKE A SHUTTLE BUS. THERE ARE TAXIS OUTSIDE WAITING AT AIRPORT A LOT CHEAPER.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search